Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Greta Salóme (Iceland)


Greta SalomeIceland – This year is seeing a lot of Eurovision comebacks and Iceland are one of these countries sending a veteran to represent them in Stockholm. Greta Salóme, who represented them in 2012 will be singing her song “Hear Them Calling” in the first semi final

Song: “Hear Them Calling”
Music By: Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir
Lyrics By: Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir

About Greta:
Greta Salóme is a 29 year old singer and song writer from Reykjavík, Iceland. As well as singing and song writing, Greta has been playing the Violin since she was 4 years old. She has a Bachelor Degree in Violin Performance and a Masters Degree in Music and found a name for herself after representing Iceland in 2012.
She represented Iceland with fellow Icelandic singer Jonsi in Baku when they sang their song “Never Forget”. The pair succeeded in qualifying for the final and finished 20th place.
Greta released her first album “In The Silence” that year and “Hear Them Calling” has been #1 in the Icelandic charts since it’s selection in February.

Greta Salome

Greta won her ticket to Stockholm by beating five other acts in the Final of the Icelandic Selection Söngvakeppnin. Overall in the final she came 2nd place to Alda Dís but was able to defeat her competition on the shows Super Final at the end of the show. She won with 14,696 more votes than the runner up. In the betting, Iceland are currently 21st favourite to win

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Can you hear them calling?
Oh, they’re calling out tonight
Now the skies are burning
Oh, they burn so bright
We shiver as we step into the cold, cold night
Then we’re running, we are running now

I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering
They’re singing: “Now we are coming home”
I hear them calling me, I hear them howling
Singing: “Now we are coming home”
Oh… oh…

See the shadows dancing
Oh, they dance for us tonight
And as I’m tossing and I’m turning
Oh, they come alive
We shiver as we step into the cold, cold night
Then we’re running, we are running now

I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering
They’re singing: “Now we are coming home”
I hear them calling me, I hear them howling
Singing: “Now we are coming home”
Oh… oh…

Can you hear them? I hear them calling me, oh…
Can you hear them? I hear them calling me, oh…

I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering
I hear them calling me, we’re coming home
I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering
I hear them calling me, now we’re coming home
I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering
I hear them calling me, I hear them whispering

They’re singing: “Now we are coming home”
(I hear them calling me, I hear them howling)
Singing: “Now we are coming home”

Greta on Social Media:
Facebook: Greta Salóme
Instagram: @gretasalome

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

19 thoughts on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Greta Salóme (Iceland)

  1. I don’t like it as much as “Never Forget” (minus the live performance) but it is a decent entry that is somewhat damaged by the hectic over the top performance. Alas, I don’t think that the way this one was staged in the NF matches the song. Still, Iceland deserves to make it to the final and achieve a decent result there but I fear that Greta might be in for a dissapointment once again. Good luck!

  2. Decent song, very wrong stage presentation; after the annoying princess approach, they went for the visual effect approach, putting the song in a distant secondary place.

  3. i like the brass but that’s it, the chorus is rather weak… and greta is an awful performer, she totally ruined jonsi in 2012 and to avoid looking awful she brought mans’ gimmick… and STILL manages to look like a fool (dress, movement etc). I’m not a fan of it, and each time people say it’s the best nordic of the season I cringe. I genuinelly prefer Norway over it I reckon (not to mention I’m a fervent pro-Sweden 2016)

  4. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Donny Montell (Lithuania) | The Eurovision Times

  5. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Joe & Jake (United Kingdom) | The Eurovision Times

  6. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Lighthouse X (Denmark) | The Eurovision Times

  7. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Rykka (Switzerland) | The Eurovision Times

  8. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Samra (Azerbaijan) | The Eurovision Times

  9. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Highway (Montenegro) | The Eurovision Times

  10. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Lidia Isac (Moldova) | The Eurovision Times

  11. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Francesca Michielin (Italy) | The Eurovision Times

  12. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on ManuElla (Slovenia) | The Eurovision Times

  13. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Poli Genova (Bulgaria) | The Eurovision Times

  14. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Agnete (Norway) | The Eurovision Times

  15. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Iveta Mukuchyan (Armenia) | The Eurovision Times

  16. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Hovi Star (Israel) | The Eurovision Times

  17. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Sergey Lazarev (Russia) | The Eurovision Times

  18. Pingback: Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Ivan (Belarus) | The Eurovision Times

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.