17 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Hovi Star (Israel)


Hovi Star smIsrael – After the success of Nudav Guedj in 2015, the Israeli Broadcaster IBA again used the Next Star format to pick their Eurovision representative. This year it was Hovi Star who won Next Star with the song “Made of Stars” winning the right to represent Israel in Stockholm

Song: “Made of Stars”
Music By: Doron Medalie
Lyrics By: Doron Medalie

About Hovi Star:
Hovi, real name Hovav Sekulets was born in Kiryat Ata, Israel in 1986 and he has been singing since he was fourteen year old. When he was 18 he spent two years in the Israeli Military which is mandatory for Jewish, Druze or Circassian Citizens.
In 2009 Hovi took part in the Israeli version of Pop Idol making it to the seventh week. Hovi has also taken part in voice acting doing the Hebrew dubbing for movies such as Frozen, Cinderella and Inside Out.
Hovi is also a trained hair stylist and make up artist.

Hovi Star

Hovi Star won the right to represent Israel following his win on the very popular show Next Star. He beat off competition in the final from Ella Daniel, Gil Hadash and Nofar Salman who also tried to represent Israel with a different composition of the song “Made of Stars”

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Hey it’s me.
A language I don’t understand.
You speak, I listen, I’m your friend,
You hypnotize me…

Take my hand,
A million faces tied in chains,
You ride a black horse in the rain,
You hypnotize me…

Don’t escape no more, no more,
no more, no more,
‘cause we are all…

Made of stars
Silver fragments fallin’
We are… made of stars.
We are made of stars,
Searching for that secret promise,
Made of stars.

You heal me, you fill me
Ignite a flame within me
Hypnotize me

mmmm… I’m begging you
Don’t escape no more, no more,
no more, no more,
‘cause we are all…

Made of stars
Silver fragments fallin’.
We are… made of stars.
We are made of stars,
Searching for that secret promise,
Made of stars.

Tell me that you understand,
Come in close and take my hand,
Let’s float across the sky line,
There’s no floor and there’s no ceiling –
Dance with me like we are made of stars.

‘Cause we are, ’cause we are,
‘Cause we are, ’cause we are,
We are, we are, we are…

We are made of stars,
Silver fragments fallin’.
We are… made of stars.
We are made of stars,
Searching for that secret promise,
Made of stars.

Dance with me like we are made of stars…
Dance with me like we are made of stars.

Hovi on Social Media:
Facebook: Hovi Star
Twitter: @MrHoviStar
Instagram: @hovistar
Website: http://hovistar.com/

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

17 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Hovi Star (Israel)

  1. Meh for Israel this year…
    This one is defintely NOT a contender for victory as betting odds suggest…

  2. One emoji tells it all : 🐍

  3. Another singer who makes his average at best song soar live.

  4. Israel this year went from zero to hero for me.I strongly disliked the first version of Made of stars but fell in love with the revamped one.Hovi star is who he is.Either you like him or not,he can’t go unnoticed.I expect them to qualify.Good luck!

  5. I really like the song, even more since they revamped it. I dont really like him, nor hiw way of performing it, all “look at me”!

Leave a Reply

