10 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Ivan (Belarus)


IvanBelarus – It was another National Selection for BTRC this year and the winner was Ivan who was chosen with his song “Learn to Fly”. Ivan is due to perform in the second semi final tomorrow and hopes to take the country back to the Grand Final on Saturday

Song: “Learn to Fly”
Music By: Victor Drobysh
Lyrics By: Alexander Ivanov, Timofei Leontiev, Mary Susane Applegate

About Ivan:
Alexander Ivanov was born in the Belorussian city of Gomel in 1994. He started his career in 2009 when he performed with his band Ivanov moving to St Petersburg, Russia to try and make it big there.
In 2014 he took part in 5Stars, a music contest for young artists which he won and in 2015 he won the Producers Choice Award on Main Stage, a TV Music contest.
An interesting fact, In 2014 Ivan had been picked by Russia to represent them in the Intervision Song Contest before it was cancelled.
Ivan is currently working on his debut album.

Ivan

Ivan beat of competition from nine other finalists in the National Selection including regulars NAVIAlexey Gross and NAPOLI. His song was composed by Victor Drobysh who also composed the music for Russia’s 2012 entry “Party for Everybody”. Ivan is credited as one of lyricists of the song along with Timofei Leontiev and Mary Susane Applegate

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

I will help you learn how to fly, how to fly
Do you remember when you were younger
You didn’t worry for a day
Now all the questions and no direction
They make your reasons insane
It’s time you released yourself
Before you can let go

I will help you learn how to fly, how to fly
Free, leave all the madness behind, far behind

You feel like you ate the poison
It’s time to heal you from the pain
I know that you’ve been the hunted
I want to free you again

It’s time you released yourself
Before you can let go

I will help you learn how to fly, how to fly
Free, leave all the madness behind, far behind

If I can fly then you can
If I can fly then you can fly
If I can fly then you can fly
If I can fly (If I can fly)
If I can fly

I will help you learn how to fly, how to fly
Free, leave all the madness behind, far behind
All behind

Ivan on Social Media:
Facebook: IVAN
Twitter: @ivan_eurovision
Instagram: @ivan_eurovision
Website: http://www.ivanmusic.ru

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

10 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Ivan (Belarus)

  1. I LOVE his performance. One of the best this year for sure. I hope he qualifies

  2. Good song and I expect a great performance, I think he will make it to the final :D

  3. Ivan worked hard and managed to improve this forgettable song and its stage presentation.

  4. The song is not actually bad. He is still a weak singer although he has improved his stage performance.
    On a side note, his looks are a huge turn off, for my taste at least.

  5. I like the staging a lot, song is ok. I hope this qualifies.

  6. I want him in as well

  7. No please.The good staging can’t change the fact the song drags on for a minute.

  8. Meh!
    Still within a (minor) chance!

  9. I do think the song is quite weak, and is very repetitious. He is hilarious though.

  10. I laughed hard during tonight’s performance. I like him a lot, he’s having great fun and I hope he qualifies, his wolves are great, as is his drumming hologram.

Leave a Reply

