The Host City and Venue

eurovision 2020


Rotterdam  is a city and municipality in the Netherlands. It is the second-largest Dutch city after the capital Amsterdam, and is located in the province of South Holland, at the mouth of the Nieuwe Maas channel leading into the Rhine–Meuse–Scheldt delta at the North Sea. Its history goes back to 1270, when a dam was constructed in the Rotte, after which people settled around it for safety. In 1340, Rotterdam was granted city rights by the Count of Holland. The Rotterdam–The Hague metropolitan area, with a population of approximately 2.7 million, is the 13th-largest in the European Union and the most populous in the country.

There are several motorways to/from Rotterdam. The following four are part of its ‘Ring’ (ring road):

  • A20 (Ring North): Hoek van Holland – Rotterdam – Gouda
  • A16 (Ring East): Rotterdam – Breda (- Antwerp – Paris)
  • A15 (Ring South): Europoort – Rotterdam – Nijmegen
  • A4 (Ring West). Rotterdam – The Hague (- Amsterdam)

The following two other motorways also serve Rotterdam:

  • A13, (Amsterdam -) The Hague – Delft – Rotterdam
  • A29, (Antwerp -) Bergen op Zoom – Rotterdam

Much smaller than the international hub Schiphol Airport, Rotterdam The Hague Airport (formerly known as Zestienhoven) is the third largest airport in the country, behind Schiphol Airport and Eindhoven Airport.


Rotterdam’s new Central Station reopened in March 2014, designed to handle up to 320,000 passengers daily. Rotterdam is well connected to the Dutch railway network, and has several international connections:
  • Southern direction Dordrecht, Breda, Eindhoven, Flushing (Vlissingen) (also international trains to Belgium/France)
  • Western direction Hoek van Holland (reopened as a metro line in 2019)
  • North-Western direction The Hague, Leiden, Amsterdam
  • Northern direction (high-speed rail) Schiphol, Amsterdam
  • North-Eastern direction Utrecht and further
  • A fifth alternative train system to the Hague, the Hofplein Line was converted to the light rail system Randstadrail in 2006.
  • The city is often mentioned as the terminus of the Eurasian Land Bridge.


In 1968, Rotterdam was the first Dutch city to open a metro system. Currently the metro system consists of three main lines, each of which has its own variants. The metro network has 78.3 km (48.7 mi) of railtracks and there are 70 stations, which makes it the biggest of the Benelux. The system is operated by 5 lines; 3 lines (A, B and C) on the east–west line, and two (D and E) on the north–south line. Line E (Randstadrail) connects Rotterdam with The Hague as of December 2011.


The Rotterdam tramway network offers 9 regular tram lines and 4 special tram lines with a total length of 93.4 km (58.0 mi).

Rotterdam AHOY

The venue for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 will be Rotterdam Ahoy (also known as Ahoy Rotterdam or simply as Ahoy) is a convention centre and multi-purpose arena located in Rotterdam, Netherlands. Opened in 1950, the complex consists of three main venues: a fairs and event hall, a congress and conference centre, and the Ahoy Arena. The Ahoy Arena (known as the “Sportpaleis” from 1971 to 2016), was opened on 15 January 1971 and since April 2019 has an increased seating capacity of 16,426.

The official website is here.


Tickets can be bought from the official Eurovision ticketing partner HERE. The third wave of tickets go on sale on March 26th 2020.