57 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Sandhja (Finland)


SandjhaFinland – Today we visit Finland and meet their 2016 representative Sandhja who will be representing with her song “Sing it Away” which won the Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu National Final in February. She will be performing in the first semi final on May 10th 

Song: “Sing it Away”
Music By: Heikki Korhonen, Markus Savijoki, Milos Rosas, Petri Matara, Sandhja Kuivalainen
Lyrics By: Sandhja Kuivalainen, Petri Matara, Milos Rosas, Markus Savijoki

About Sandhja:
Sandhja Kuivalainen was born in Helsinki in 1991 to a Finnish Father and Indo-Guyanese Mother. She has been singing professionally since 2013 when she released her first album “Gold” on the Sony Label.
She has released a total of 4 singles within that time including her Eurovision Song. Her first two singles “Hold Me” and “Gold” made the Top 20 in Finland.
Her new album will be coming out in the summer and Sandhja has traveled to the likes of Jamaica and Guyana to gain inspiration for this. “Sing it Away” will be on this album as well as her 3rd Single “My Bass”

Sandjha

Sandhja beat off eight other acts in the UMK (Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu) National Final including fan favourite Mikael Saari (3rd) and Saara Aalto (2nd). Finland is currently only 34th favourite to win the contest in May.

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Please believe me when I say
There’s nothing harder than the strife
When heavy waters try to break you
you will be singing for life

When you feel like your world is falling down
And darkness has taken your sight
There’s no need to be carrying a frown
I’ll help you sing it out tonight

Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away
Never make me fade away
Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
Yeeaah
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it away

So if you’re focused, you can make it
You’ll feel like nothing can steer you of your course
When fear will try to make you cave in
Remember that love is the source

When you feel like your dreams are beaten down
and your fire is loosing its light
There’s no need to be carrying a frown
I’ll help you sing it out tonight

Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away
Never make me fade away
Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
Yeeaah
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it away

When all of the walls come crashing down
When you try to scream but can’t make a sound
Don’t’ you worry about it, don’t you worry about it
You just gotta sing it away

Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away
Never make me fade away
Sing it away
All my troubles away
Sing it away

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
Yeeaah
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, oh
I’m gonna sing it away

Sandhja on Social Media:
Facebook: Sandhja Kuivalainen
Twitter: @Sandhjaofficial

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

57 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Sandhja (Finland)

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

