47 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Minus One (Cyprus)


Minus OneCyprus – Early on in the Selection Season Cyprus were one of the first to announce their reps for Eurovision 2016. That act was Minus One who will be singing their song “Alter Ego” in the first semi final on May 10th. The group were internally selected by CyBC

Song: “Alter Ego”
Music By: Thomas G:son, Minus One
Lyrics By: Thomas G:son, Minus One

About Minus One:
Minus One consist of members Francois Micheletto (Vocals), Constantinos Amerikanos (Guitars), Harrys Pari (Guitars), Antonis Loizides (Bassist) and Chris J (Drums) and they have been together since 2009. The group started off as a covers band before starting to work on their own material.
Not a stranger to the Eurovision Process, the group tried to represent Cyprus in 2015 with their song “Shine” but came third to Panagiotis Koufogiannis and winner Giannis Karagiannis.
In 2016 singer Micheletto took part in the French version of The Voice where he joined the team of singer Florent Pagny but lost in the Battle stage of the show.

Minus One

Minus One were internally selected by CyBC and their song “Alter Ego” was written by the band and Eurovision Regular Thomas G:Son. They are currently sitting pretty at 14th favourite to win the contest in May.

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Waking up alone, like a man that failed
Trapped into the mist of our fairytale
And you know, you know, you know, I’m still inside

I knew it all along, but I couldn’t tell
This kind of love, would lock my heart in jail
You know, you know, you know, it’s doing time

Caught in the middle of, the dawn and the sunrise
Life is a miracle, I saw it in your eyes
Under the spotlight, I howl in the moonlight … Howling for you

Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Take it on … take it on … until the morning light
Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Takeiton…takeiton…takeiton

I’ve heard it all before, people always say
Time can take the sorrow and the pain away
You know, you know, this love will never die

Caught in the middle of, the dawn and the sunrise
Life is a miracle, I saw it in your eyes
Under the spotlight, I howl in the moonlight … Howling for you

Caught in the middle of, the dawn and the sunrise
Life is a miracle, I saw it in your eyes
Under the spotlight, I howl in the moonlight … Howling for you

Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Take it on … take it on … until the morning light
Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Takeiton…takeiton…takeiton

I cross the oceans, I fly on the skyline
Drive any road that, will bring me by your side

Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Take it on … take it on … until the morning light
Take it on … take it on … and get me through the night
Takeiton…takeiton…takeiton

Caught in the middle of, the dawn and the sunrise Life is a miracle
I saw it in your eyes

Minus One on Social Media:
Facebook: Minus One
Twitter: @MinusCy
Website: http://www.minusoneband.com

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

Leave a Reply

