36 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Joe & Jake (United Kingdom)


joe & jakeUnited Kingdom – This year the BBC put the UK Song Selection into the hands of the public. Joe & Jake were the ones selected and they will be headed straight into the Grand Final with their song “You’re Not Alone”. Will the UK make the Top 10 with the public choice?

Song: “You’re Not Alone”
Music By: Matt Schwartz, Justin J Benson, S. Kanes
Lyrics By: Matt Schwartz, Justin J Benson, S. Kanes

About Joe & Jake:
Joe & Jake are Joe Woolford and Jake Shakeshaft. They both met on The Voice UK in 2015 after competing solo on the show. They became friends during and decided to join forces soon after and they are now signed to the Sony label.
Joe is a singer, song writer and rapper who made it to the live shows on the Voice as part of Team Rita Ora. Jake is a singer and also plays guitar. He joined Team Will.I.Am but only made it to the Knockout Rounds making him the least successful of the two on the show.

joe & jake

Joe & Jake beat five other acts in the UK Selection show Eurovision: You Decide including fan favourite Darline. They intend on using Selfies in the back ground for their performances and already have one with Hugh Grant, Graham Norton and Meryl Streep in it. The UK are not a favourite to win in May and the bookies have them 28th Favourite to win (even though they have gone up slightly)

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Verse 1

(Joe): Heartbeat, when you’re not around its beating slow, and it’s something that I’ve never known..oh oh oh
(Jake): I’ll be, I’ll be the answer you’ve been waiting for,
(J&J): I’ll be the truth that you’ve been looking for..oh oh oh

Chorus

(Joe): You’re not alone, we’re in this together, all that you want is right here forever, and they dont need to know – they don’t need to know
(Jake): You’re not alone, we’re in this together, all that you want I’m right here forever, and they don’t need to
(J&J) know – and they don’t need to know

Verse2

(Joe): You’re free, free to let go cause I’ll be here for you, and when you fall I’ll be your parachute –
(J&J) oh oh oh

Pre / Chorus b

(J&J) I-i-i feel like I’m dancing in the sky, I come alive when I’m with you, I come alive when I’m with you

Chorus

(J&J) You’re not alone we’re in this together, all that you want, is right here forever and they don’t need to know – they don’t need to know.

Pre / Chorus b

(J&J) I-i-i feel like I’m dancing in the sky, I come alive when I’m with you, I come alive when I’m with you

Verse 3

(Jake) Don’t speak, your smile tells me all I need to know, your eyes show me where I want to go – oh

Chorus

(J&J) You’re not alone we’re in this together, all that you want, is right here forever and they don’t need to know – they don’t need to know.

Pre/ chorus b
(J&J) I-i-i feel like I’m dancing in the sky, I come alive when I’m with you, I come alive when I’m with you

Joe & Jake on Social Media:
Twitter: @joeandjakemusic
Instagram: @joeandjakemusic

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

36 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Joe & Jake (United Kingdom)

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

