44 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Donny Montell (Lithuania)


Donny MontellLithuania – Another veteran to the Contest is returning to Eurovision on behalf of Lithuania and this is Donny Montell who also represented the country in 2012. He will be performing in the second semi final with his song “I’ve Been Waiting for this Night”. Will he beat his 2012 placing?

Song: “I’ve Been Waiting for this Night”
Music By: Jonas Thander, Beatrice Robertsson
Lyrics By: Jonas Thander, Beatrice Robertsson

About Donny Montell:
Born in Vilnius Donny, real name Donatas Montvydas studied at the Balys Dvarionas music school. At aged six he competed at the Dainų Dainelė Contest (“The song of the Songs”) which he won. He has won several contests in Lithuania as well as the Slavianskij Bazar Contest in Belarus.
He has appeared in several TV shows in Lithuania as well including The Top-Ten Songs of Lithuania and The Challenge for the Stars, Duets of the Stars and Dance with me.
He had tried several times (in 2009 and 2010) to represent Lithuania in Eurovision before finally winning the ticket in 2012 when the show was hosted by Azerbaijan. He represented with the song “Love is Blind” which finished at #14 in the Grand Final.

Donny Montell

Donny Montell was chosen to represent Lithuania by the public and two juries consisting of National and International Music Experts. Eurovizijos lasted a whole ten weeks but he managed to beat 5 other acts in the series Final including runner up Erica Jennings and 3rd place Rūta Ščiogolevaitė. Lithuania are currently 25th favourite to win in the betting odds

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Here we are together you and I (I)
Watching lights around us fill the night (night)

I was living in the dark
Tried to heal my broken heart
Until now
Cause here we are together you and I (I)

For a thousand years through a million tears
With a hungry heart, every day apart
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

When I see your smile and your beautiful eyes
I get lost in time, now I know that I’ve
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

If only I could stay here by your side (side)
To promise you forever here tonight (night)

There is nothing I can do
That can take my heart from you
Always yours
If only I could stay here by your side (side)

For a thousand years through a million tears
With a hungry heart, every day apart
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

When I see your smile and your beautiful eyes
I get lost in time, now I know that I’ve
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

Aaaaaaaa aaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaa

For a thousand years and a million tears
With a hungry heart, every day apart
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

When I see your smile and your beautiful eyes
I get lost in time, now I know that I’ve
I’ve been waiting for this night, I’ve been waiting for this night

Here we are together you and I

Donny Montell on Social Media:
Facebook: Donny Montell
Twitter: @DonnyMontell
Instagram: @DonnyMontell
Website: http://www.donatasmontvydas.lt/

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

44 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Donny Montell (Lithuania)

  1. Slutty boy warbling a lame and irrelevant tune. Next one please!
    Good luck!

  2. Slutty boy warbling a great tribute to early 80’s American adult contemporary pop. More please.
    And take that shirt off!

  3. I dont care much about Donny or the song. Both are bland and forgettable in every way. Lithuania has plenty of friends in the semi but I still doubt their chances of reaching the final personally. Good luck !

  4. Donny is great. I’ve liked him ever since 2009 when he first took part in the Lithuanian NF, still under the name of Donatas Montvydas. He as AMAZING charisma and is a GREAT vocalist. Proof? He got 3rd in esc 2012 semi and 14th in the final all on his own on stage, with a great camera-loving performance (even though the gimmick was ugh). Problem? His two esc songs are hands down the two weakest songs i’ve ever heard from him. So, not a top 10er for me, but still deserves to qualify easily to the final again!

    • The rest of his discography is in Lithuanian, and they’re still stronger than his ESC entries, I agree. I guess they would never dare take a chance with the language now :(

  5. I don’t really care about the song or him.It’s just there.However,i found this bit of information hilarious: Donny Montell is allowed to do flip through smoke using own trampoline at ESC stage.lol

  6. He is talented and is above average on stage. If only he wasn’t a fan of shiny plastic stuff…

  7. GUYS! Here it is! BoNF 2016 official page, with the official 30 semifinalists revealed: https://eurovisiontimes.wordpress.com/about-5/morgans-stuff/bonf/bonf-2016/

  8. I love this boy , better than the plastic rusian boy from this year, he is much more sweet , i dont care about the song , really still somebody believe this contest is about the music , hahahahahhaha

  9. off topic: Things are getting weird…

  10. I don’t mind this song. It’s not great but decent and catchy enough and somewhere in my mid-table. Plus that Donny is very good too. Good luck!

    While going on, our host Måns Zelmerlöw also judged Donny Montell back in 2012 as a part of the Swedish preview show, and had to defend him from both Lena Philipsson and Christer Björkman, who thought he was a bad singer (Måns thought he sounded like George Michael).

    You can watch it with English subtitles here:

  11. Not impressed. I definitely preferred him back in 2012.
    A definite qualifier nevertheless !

Leave a Reply

