Hungary: Freddie Wins A Dal


FreddieHungaryA Dal has finished and Hungary have decided that Freddie will be representing with this song “Pioneer”. Freddie beat seven other acts after a six show long National Selection which he reigned supreme all the way through scoring more points than anyone throughout

The eight finalists were as follows and the performances can be watched by clicking the song links

Mushu “Uncle Tom”
Parno Graszt “Már nem szédülök”
Olivér Berkes & Andi Tóth “Seven Seas”
Petruska “Trouble in My Mind”
Gergő Oláh “Győz a jó”
Freddie “Pioneer”
Kállay Saunders Band “Who We Are”
André Vásáry “Why”

The first round of voting saw the Jury give their points to the eight finalists. The top four from that went on to the next round which was the public vote.

The jury awarded points to their top 4 where they gave points of 4, 6,8, and 10. These votes were as follows (The Qualifiers are in italic and points given in order of Pierrot – Zséda – Freinreisz – Both)

Mushu (0-0-0-0)
Parno Graszt (0-0-0-4)
Olivér Berkes & Andi Tóth (0-4-0-0)
Petruska (0-0-4-10)
Gergő Oláh (6-8-6-8)
Freddie (8-10-10-6)
Kállay Saunders Band (4-6-8-0) 
André Vásáry (10-0-0-0)

The public vote then came in and decided the top for finishing order…

Winner Freddie
Runner Up Gergő Oláh
Third Kállay Saunders Band
Fourth Petruska

So it is back to the Top 10 for Hungary?

34 thoughts on “Hungary: Freddie Wins A Dal

  1. They need to rethink the who jury system. Mushu did NOT have the worst song of the night and the fact that one juror gave 10 to André Vásáry when the others gave them nothing. Its all just personal taste in the end

  2. Well Mushu last is definitely uncalled for! They certainly had the best song, kss… Freddie had the second best song to be fair, and he’s indeed hot (even if not my type, but my bf adores him lol); I think he’s around my new 5th…

    I guess I have to come out and finally say this, which I didnt really express on ET before, but I HATED Gergő’s song and live! Everything about it was fake and making me quite uncomfortable!

  3. It is a good song and the best one chosen tonight but alas, Freddie is so full of himself. He probably fantasizes about himself when nights are lonely.
    Still in use … and I refer to the song here. Freddie is not my type of guy …

  4. It’s a good and very mainstream pop song and i think Hungary will have another good result in Stockholm but they had the chance to stand out and choose something different by sending Gergo.Oh well,i was so prepared about this anyway and it is the best song chosen tonight.Good luck!

  5. A very competent winner (although I preferred Oláh Gergő for diversity reasons) and a top 10 contender in May. However I can only see Ukraine in top 5.
    A Dal 2016 was a good edition with an average of 5.87 in my books.
    As for their winning entry : 8/10 and straight up at #2 on my list.
    1.Ukraine
    2.Hungary
    3.Iceland
    4.Italy
    5.Germany
    Good luck !

  6. This is the 2nd entry this year after Ukraine that I can see claiming the trophy to be honest. The song has an impact, its strong and the live performance capitalizes on the strenghts of the song without going over the top (ok I could do without the glowsticks admittedly but still). Freddie delivers vocally with his deep, distinctive masculine voice and that’s a plus. And lets be honest : the fact that he is an insanely handsome man will help him as well.

    Good luck !

  7. 2nd listening : Standing by everything I said yesterday on my comment above. I haven’t listened to Moldova yet but I can safely say I think that this is the best song chosen last night imo.

    8.4/10 and 3rd (!) place on my list (wow I did not see Hungary so high on my list lol)

    Good luck Freddie !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.