UK: ‘Eurovision: You Decide’ Dumped

UK – The BBC has confirmed that its national selection programme, Eurovision: You Decide, has been dumped for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest and an exciting new partnership with the record company BMG will help select the UK’s representative instead.

Australia: ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ is back for 2020

Australia – Our Antipodean friends have decided to use the national section programme Eurovision – Australia Decides again after last year’s success of Kate Miller-Heidke.

Eurovision 2020: Official Site Shows Rotterdam will Host

Eurovision 2020 – An eagle-eyed Eurovision fan has spotted an update on the official Eurovision website that suggests that Rotterdam has been chosen to host the 2020 contest in The Netherlands.

Sweden: Enter Melodifestivalen Now!

Sweden – Swedish broadcaster, SVT, has opened up its submission period today for anyone wanting to take part in Melodifestivalen 2020. You have until 11.59pm on 15th September to enter.

Sweden: Powermetal Heavyweights Sabaton Rule Out Eurovision

Sweden – Speaking to Metalblast magazine, Sabaton’s bassist, Pär Sundström, has ruled out doing Eurovision despite being asked several times.

Sweden: Amanda Aasa Selected as First Melfest Entrant

Sweden – Each year Sweden holds a competition for new artists via the P4 Nästa competition on the radio. One lucky entrant, chosen from the finalists, is then invited to take part in the Swedish national selection, Melodifestivalen. 

Eurovision 2020: 29 Countries Confirmed to Date

Eurovision 2020 – As excitement builds about next year’s Eurovision Song Contest and the host city announcement less than a week away, yesterday saw another country confirm its participation. Ireland will be in The Netherlands in 2010, bringing the number of officially confirmed participants to 29 so far.