Eurovision 2023: Voting Changes Announced


Eurovision 2023 – The European Brodacast Union (EBU)’s reference group finalized a new voting format for the upcoming editions. The general idea is that televote will be given more power.

Every ten years or so, the voting format has changed the contest enough that it feels like we’re in a loop, with similar songs, similar results (it’s telling that both Netherlands 2019 and France 2021 got the almost same result – 2nd and 3rd in the two set of votes, 498pts and 499pts respectively) and delegations “playing the game”, having discovered a very specific way to get the very specific results they want. We’ve seen more national final with juries chosing results (in 2022 in Romania, Spain…) or in general more internal choice (COVID made it so, but it was already on the rise through the 2010’s).

In order to shake things up, just like the contest was in a dead-end in the 2000’s with full televote (same countries qualifying, same joke entries – not doing particularly well either -, same type of winners every year), the reference group had to find something. Their reasoning is good, their solution is questionable.

So we can recap what’s said on the EBU’s poster, but it’s pretty self explanatory. Here’s some random thoughts on all three:

  • Viewer votes will decide countries qualifying from Semi-Finals: this is probably an answer to some of the recent polemics (Croatia 2021 was a very sad moment, but it was always a mathematical possibility and was bound to happen sooner or later): like having very similar male-vocal show-off ballads in the final. While all of them had competent elements and it therefore would make sense that juries would support them, the final ended up feeling less exciting by the lack of variety, which is at the core of good entertainment TV (which is what the contest is first of all). We know juries and televote have different bias, and we therefore can all agree that 50%-50% remains the better system. Hence…
  • Jury votes will be combined with votes from the global audience to decide final result: there’s no better way for now; we know that each bias needs to be limited with the other set of votes; however, the current mood in Europe (rise of populist movements) is against “people we dont know who decide for us” and some jury results are extremely questionable, whether it’s corruption, same bias than televote in friendly or neighborly votes, or simple mystery on what a jury finds in a song or ignores in another. But then you also think, if it’s the fairer system (not the best, but a better than the other ones), why not apply it in semi-finals? Well there are a few reasons: not enough countries vote in a semi-final (less than 20 nowadays) so the bias are less likely to show up in televote (especially with the pot system), the songs that qualify in both lists are often the same anyway (usually 9 out of 10 are in common) and more importantly, on a mathematical level, the juries tend to spread their points differently than televote: take France 2022, it was 25th with juries and got 9pts there but got all the way up to 19th in televote which gave it… 8pts! Less points for 6 places higher! In other words, for doing better in televote than Czech Republic, Belgium, Switzerland, Azerbaijan or Australia, it only got 2 or 3 more points from them, when they all did better in juries and got 70pts for it, pushing France all the way down (not to mention the very unfair 0pt to Germany). So that on a pure mathematical level, the juries end up deciding on the full results way more than televote, which only gets to save one or two songs per year and who can’t downvote whichever entry juries had pushed in the Top anyway. In the end, having televote choses the 10 qualifying entries ensure more songs televote can support in the final to spread the love more and prevent juries to spread their love as well, rounding up both lists to really be different.
  • Viewers in non-participating countries will be able to vote online: now that’s probably the trickiest one. The EBU probably asked the reference group to “expand”. The first two solutions were enough to stop the juries bias, so having something ELSE than 50%-50% has got to come from a different reason. Going global, which Eurovision fans have hated since the beginning in 2015, is something the EBU has pushed for every single year since: they hinted at including more countries, they created local versions (failures?) in other continents and keep looking ways to include them that wont out right kill the contest. Having a one set of vote for the full rest of the world is not going to change much (but there is a mathematical chance, even though very thin, that the winner can be decided by that vote alone) but it’s a first step towards going global. Not sure Eurovision fans can really rejoice with the idea, as the contest is already having a hard time with its recent rapid growth: one day, like the World Cup or the Olympics, it will be more or less down to politics and money. Sports? Not so much. With this analogy, you can only imagine what will be left of the music in the contest!

You can read more about the changes here (it includes comments by Martin Österdahl). What do you think of the changes?

261 thoughts on “Eurovision 2023: Voting Changes Announced

    • With a few exceptions (which come down to personal taste, SRB/EST 2011, MDA 2013) all I hear is bland syrupy ballads and poor rock efforts, even though well performed

    • Belgium 2021 not making it to the final would have been unforgivable indeed and it looks like televoting’s biggest crime. I also think Serbia 2011, Switzerland 2011, Estonia 2011, Moldova 2013, Estonia 2013 and Denmark 2019 shouldn’t have missed the final, the rest I don’t care about.

  1. I bought air ticket to Manchester. Belgrade – Dusseldorf, Dusseldorf – Manchester for 08.05.2023. From there I will go by train to Liverpool, then I plan London to visit my cousin and from London to fly to Belgrade (still didn’t buy a ticket back) .. Just wait for me to be denied for the UK visa LMAO, not to mention if I mannage to buy ticket for ESC and not receive visa… :/. Ooops..

    • HEAT 3 Lidköping, Saturday 18 February :
      Marcus & Martinus – Air
      Melanie Wehbe – For The Show
      Ida-Lova – Låt Hela Stan Se På
      Paul Rey – Royals
      Nordman – Släpp Alla Sorger
      Laurell – Sober
      Casanovas – Så Kommer Känslorna Tillbaka

      HEAT 4 Malmö, Saturday 25 February:
      Signe & Hjördis – Edelweiss
      Axel Schylström – Gorgeous
      Emil Henrohn – Mera Mera Mera
      Mariette – One Day
      Smash Into Pieces – Six Feet Under
      Loreen – Tattoo
      Kiana – Where Did You Go

      • I keep being amazed how popular Hold me closer is on ET. It’s not horrible like most recent Swedish entries but to me nothing special, radio stuff. If Germany had sent it, it would have been 23rd.

        • Cornelia gave a great live performance imo, which Malik f. e. did not. I also find the both the melody and the instrumentation intriguing. So no, imo Germany would have got a top result with that act too.

          • It just didn’t stick with me at all, I forgot it while listening to it (like with, alas a majority of songs each year). I agree her sitting was less annoying than Malik’s (another song I don’t remember) bizarre running around the stage which I guess was supposed to be his parents’ basement where he rehearsed with his band?

          • Thanks for the tips! Shameless promos are best. Here’s one from my endless repeats.
            This was my planned ETSC entry for Finland that oozes Helsinki cool. Unfortunately I fucked up both registrations. Got silver from VFOS as consolation prize, so tell me how many points from you? Could it have been 12?

            • Oh damn it definitely would have challenged for my 12. I’d have to hear it in competition with the others to see where exactly it would have fallen in my point total, but it definitely would have made its way to my ETSC playlist.

            • Ty!

              Ethel Cain was also my top artist of the year, highly recommend her debut album although the style changes from what American Teenager is like, it’s a concept album with the plot of a very twisted horror movie and she has this whole Southern Gothic aesthetic.

            • I’ll check it out! These kind of heat seekers are always difficult to find. It’s a matter of luck as there is so much new stuff going on. Great style she has, and remarkably good reviews. I’ll report!
              If Malla makes you dance, check out her eponymous first album. Very 90’s deep house through and through!

            • And I will check Malla out!

              That’s actually one of the things I love about the modern music era – we’re not just forced to listen to only the industry pets. I remember when I was a kid in the early 2000s, I listened to the music that I heard on the radio, the music promoted on TV, the music that won awards, etc., etc., and yeah there were cool indie artists out there but it was so much harder to find them and a 10 year old like me sure wasn’t finding them. Someone like Ethel Cain – in her early 20s, who writes and produces all her songs on her own and is not signed to her label – probably would not have been able to find as large of an audience as she has if she was around in the 90s, so I really love that. Yeah it does mean that there is SO MUCH to go through before you find the real golden ones, but I’d rather there be too many than not enough lol.

              The album has a very Americana type of theme/sound (like 2013 era Lana Del Rey), but besides American Teenager, Gibson Girl (modern, sexy, dark pop) and Ptolemaea (weird industrial pop metal lol) are the two songs that also really stick out stylistically. My favorites are American Teenager and Strangers, but you have to listen in order to try to get a feel for the story! It’s definitely not a predictable story though so I encourage looking it up afterwards to get an idea of what just happened haha.

            • This really is golden era for both music lovers and musicians, especially outside and around mainstream. So easy to produce and distribute music now and so many ways to find your audiences. I have a huge vinyl collection and unfortunately CD collection too. Music has always been my Ian hobby and never it has been as satisfying as it is now. Especially I’m happy of all these young female artists in control of their music, so embarrassingly overdue.
              Preacher’s Daughter is huge! It’s a double vinyl. What a trip. I love this kind of cinematic approach to music. Wide soundscapes and lots of spacve to breath. And hey, who wouldn’t love album that has genres Americana, dream pop, pop rock, folk, ethereal, alt-pop, goth-pop and dark ambient according to wiki. One of the upsides producing yourself!
              She’s now on my radar. So big thank you. And hey, once you get into radar I can get into digging deeper!

            • It sure is! I remember I really first became a music lover once I got my own computer around age 11 because I could finally find artists/songs/etc. on the Internet, and then I was eventually led to Eurovision. So I really am grateful for this new era, it’s easier now to find new things than ever before.

              I think I’ve mentioned this before, but my grandpa is also a giant music lover and had a collection of 1,000+ vinyl records and singles in his basement. During covid he started going through everything and started giving me some, and I ended up starting my own collection of his old records and my own new ones. One of my prized possessions – an original copy of The Kick Inside by Kate Bush from 1978 that my grandpa didn’t even know he had. CDs remind me of my childhood and the 2000s (a horror decade for pop culture imo) so I veer away from them haha.

              But yes I’m so glad too that young female artists can be in control of their music and still be successful, I can’t help but thank my girl Kate Bush for setting that development into motion back when she debuted.

              But agreed! I love the cinematic approach to music, which was first unlocked in me when I discovered Lana Del Rey as an 11/12 year old. She will forever be an all-time love for me because of that, regardless of how I feel about some of her more recent releases lol. The genres credited to Preacher’s Daughter were also was drew me into first listening because I could not imagine what this project would end up sounding like, and I’m glad I did. She wants to do two follow-ups: Preacher’s Wife and Preacher’s Mother focusing on three generations of women in the same family, and I really need to see this turned into a stage musical one day lol.

              I look forward to hearing what you think! Sharing music you love with others is really one of the greatest joys.

      • my number 1 has 85 listens though, so it’s not like I reached 100 listens on a single one of them: but since I dont relisten a lot, then the ones I do listen to the most are esc/NF songs during the NF season, so they’d obviously be bumped up!

        also my ETSC winner :p

    • Not really the level I typically expect from Ukraine. KRUTЬ was my favorite but I don’t know if I see it in my Top 10 or not in May. OY Sound System was cool but I wouldn’t send it to Eurovision.

      There were some nice but forgettable songs too (Tvorchi, 2Tone, Angelina, etc.), which also shouldn’t be sent to Eurovision but are fine filler in a NF. Fiinka is definitely not for me but I see the appeal, and Jerry Heil would have been fine if it wasn’t sung in English imo, nothing I can’t stand more in a Eurovision song than when the singer doesn’t include the definite article in the lyrics they’re singing.

  2. So, after Italy in 2014, a second powerhouse fails back-to-back in a WC.

    Spain’s defeat also means they avoid Brazil in quarterfinals should they prevail against Morocco.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.