Former participants

Former Eurovision Stars Enter UK XFactor

Former Participants – It’s the 1st of September which means Eurovision season truly starts to get underway again with any song being released from now onwards being eligible for entry. It’s also the start of this Year’s UK XFactor contest with several former Eurovision stars auditioning…

Former Macedonian Eurovision Singer Vlatko Iljevski Passes Away

Former Participants – Vlatko Iljevski (FYR Macedonia, 2011) has sadly died aged only 33 years old. He was found dead in his car in Skopje and an autopsy is underway to determine the cause of death. Eurovision Times sends condolences to his friends, family and fans.

ABBA Announce Comeback!

Former Participants – Winners of the 1974 Eurovision Song Contest, and arguably one of the contest’s biggest success stories, ABBA, have announced that they will release new music this year. The band have not worked together since 1982. 

Shocking News as Eurovision Composer Avicii Dies Aged Only 28

Former Participants – Avicii, the co-composer of the 2013 Eurovision anthem ‘We write the story‘ has sadly died at the age of 28. He wrote the theme alongside ABBA’s Benny Andersson (music) and Björn Ulvaeus (lyrics). The Swedish DJ, producer and musician became a global superstar with hits like ‘Hey brother‘, ‘Le7els‘ and ‘Wake me up!’ 

Conchita Wurst Reveals HIV Positive Status

Former participant – Conchita Wurst (Austria 2014) has chosen to reveal that she is HIV positive after an ex-boyfriend threatened to make the news public. Taking control of the situation, Conchita revealed the news yesterday and has since been inundated with well wishes. 

First Ever Winner of Eurovision, Lys Assia, Passes Away

Former Participants – Very sad news this evening as it was announced that the winner of the very first Eurovision Song Contest, Lys Assia, has died aged 94. Lys represented Switzerland in Lugano in 1956 with the song ‘Refrain‘. Lys returned the next year and finished in 8th place with ‘L’enfant que j’étais‘. She returned […]

Former Eurovision Winner, France Gall, Sadly Passes Away

Former Participants – The winner of the 1965 Eurovision Song Contest, France Gall, has sadly died at the age of 70. She sang  ‘Poupée de cire, poupée de son‘ at the contest for Luxembourg. Condolences to her family and friends. RIP.