David Lindgren Confirmed as Melodifestivalen Host

Sweden – National broadcaster, SVT, has confirmed that previous entrant, David Lindgren, will again host Melodifestivalen, but this time as a solo host.  SVT received 2771 entries for this year’s contest and must now pick the contestants for the live shows. 

Melodifestivalen starts on 3rd February 2018 and runs until the final on 10th March 2018. You can buy tickets HERE.

03/02/2018: Semi-final 1 – Karlstad, Löfbergs Arena
10/02/2018: Semi-final 2 – Gothenburg, Scandinavium
17/02/2018: Semi-final 3 – Malmö, Malmö Arena
24/02/2018: Semi-final 4 – Örnsköldsvik, Fjällräven Center
03/03/2018: Andra chansen (Second chance) – Kristianstad, Kristianstad Arena
10/03/2018: Final – Stockholm, Friends Arena

Local newspaper, Aftonbladet, has announced that Samir & Viktor have entered again and been chosen as one of the 28 acts for the finals. The only other act known to date is Stiko Per Larsson who was chosen from P4 radio’s annual ‘Svensktoppen nästa’ radio competition.

53 comments on “David Lindgren Confirmed as Melodifestivalen Host

  1. I miss Måns, who is a fantastic host imo.

  2. One of the usual suspects will host. Nothing new under the sun when it comes to MF, if those reports about who will be singing are true. Good luck!

  3. Don’t forget The Sun/Mην Ξεχνάς τον Ήλιο is the title of Areti Ketime’s entry fior the Greek NF:

  4. Tania Breazou and Decho,a group from Thessaloniki have completed the line-up of artists who have submitted a song to the ERT committee.

  5. Cezar(Romania 2013) as Salvador Sobral:

  6. Surpise? Of all the songs to be updated with an American star

  7. Paradise Bono? :(

  8. According to Aftonbladet Benjamin Ingrosso,Dj Mendez,Sigrid Bernson and Felix Sandman(from FO&O) are all tiped to be in the 2018 MF line-up.

  9. Eurovision.tv says exciting news are coming tomorrow.

  10. Not a fan of David Lindgren as a host. He is just too energic (övertaggad, as we say). But maybe he’ll do better solo, because last year’s line-up was a complete failure, especially with Hasse Andersson contributing nothing. If we’re talking about former MF artists now as hosts, Måns Zelmerlöw is the clear diamond in the rough.

  11. Saara Aalto for Finland! Song will be selected via new UMK 😄

  12. Well Saara seems to be really sought after. BBC was rumoured to want her but YLE grabbed her. I think given what I feared we would see at UMK going for an internal selection of the artist and focusing on a song selection is good. Saara is a great singer.

    Good luck !

  13. Btw, does anyone know when we can expect the definite list of participants for 2018?

    • There wil be 42 countries taking part in 2018 according to the RTP press conference today. Apparently the FYRoM will not take part. This is the full list:

      Albania (RTSH)
      Armenia (AMPTV)
      Australia (SBS)
      Austria (ORF)
      Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)
      Belarus (BTRC)
      Belgium (VRT)
      Bulgaria (BNT)
      Croatia (HRT)
      Cyprus (CYBC)
      Czech Republic (CT)
      Denmark (DR)
      Estonia (ERR)
      Finland (YLE)
      France (FT)
      Germany (ARD/NDR)
      Georgia (GPB)
      Greece (ERT)
      Hungary (MTVA)
      Iceland (RÚV)
      Ireland (RTE)
      Israel (IPBC/KAN)
      Italy (RAI)
      Latvia (LTV)
      Lithuania (LRT)
      Malta (PBS)
      Moldova (TRM)
      Montenegro (RTCG)
      The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
      Norway (NRK)
      Poland (TVP)
      Portugal (RTP)
      Romania (TVR)
      Russia (C1R)
      San Marino (RTV)
      Serbia (RTS)
      Slovenia (RTVSLO)
      Spain (TVE)
      Sweden (SVT)
      Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
      Ukraine (UA:PBC)
      United Kingdom (BBC)

  14. Saara is one of the 1000s people who did X-Factor, tried to take part in ESC and can sing. Let’s see what she sings in ESC. Tbh she failed to impress me with her last attempt to represent Finland and for me she was quite ordinary (not wow) in X-Factor!
    Goodluck Finland!

  15. “All Aboard !” the slogan for the 2018 contest – the theme is the sea of course.

    42 participants – FYR Macedonia not in the list.

  16. According to the INFEGreece site, the 8-member ERT committee has finished evaluating the 20 songs submitted by record companies and decided that only five of them will compete against each other to come up with the song that will represent Greece in Lisbon. Details of the national final are still pending.

  17. I like the 2018 logo a lot. After all, blue and yellow is my favourite colour combination. I also like that it’s tiny. :)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: