51 Comments

ETSC 7: We’ll Start Soon!


ETSC – Every year, the summer is the calm after the storm so it’s the perfect time to resume the highly anticipated the Eurovision Times Song Contest! Each one of you can represent an European country and get to send a song and then vote in a fake Eurovision! Signing up opens soon!

Each summer, a good number of regular readers stay around for different reasons (they don’t get breaks from work or don’t go on holidays…) but there aren’t much news to keep us going. So the last few years we introduced all sort of games. The Eurovision Times Awards (Fridas) and the Douze Points Trivia Quiz kept us going in 2013 and Fridas have made come-backs the past four years. Three years ago, a lot of you asked for a fake Eurovision where each one of us would send songs and get to vote. And that was it: the Eurovision Times Song Contest, from then on known as ETSC.

We’ve therefore had 6 editions of ETSC. In August 2016 however, for the first time the contest was won by a small margin: only 1pt (it was the first time there was less than 12pts difference between the winner and the runner-up). That opened up discussions and a lot was said between members, a lot left to be discusses. Some members do better than others, on a regular basis. Some countries tend to do better and people find unfair the system of first-arrived gets to pick his/her country first. Some people accused others to not play fair. Considering the amount of time I spend on the contest all by myself, it all left a bittersweet taste in my mouth and I wasn’t sure I wanted to keep it up. Also, this year took me to a new place in my life. S I wasn’t sure I would have the time for it. But… I’m pretty sure ET regular readers want to play still and I feel this anchored itself as a summer classic.

I’m sorry it feels like we’re wasting time. But if we push this further/later, it could feel like we’re running away from the issues, and we genuinely don’t have the time during esc season for these. It’s better to have just a few more polls to see what the majority really wants.

First of all, even if we’re late, we usually end up “early” in August, and it’s ok to last in early September, considering there are no esc news then. It’ll just have to be ok with my schedule. But I promise to make it happen.

First poll results are… interesting, though as usual with numbers: you can twist them in every way you want considering what you want to prove. Anyway, here at ET we defend a total transparency policy. So the figures: ETSC 7? YES 49 / NO 0 / NA 3. So yes, ETSC will happen and go on, regardless on how and with whom.

Second: Blind edition 12 / New voting system 6 / New picking country system 16 / Limit number of participants 7 / Theme edition 2 / Allow older songs 7 / Forbid older songs 10 / No changes 17

So “no changes” won, but only 1 vote above “new picking country system”. Blind edition came third. Everything else doesn’t seem to be a big issue and will probably stay the same (songs have to have a huge link to the country, and songs shouldn’t be older than 5 years so 2012 for this year: I’ll be open minded on small countries).

The next article will be the “signing up” article with the rules for the 7th edition (either new or not).

51 comments on “ETSC 7: We’ll Start Soon!

  1. I hope we can start the signing up this weekend or monday :)

  2. Giving the option to get used to and apply all in the 8th edition seems the most prudent thing.

    I’m voting no on the blind edition. Knowing me, and many, we would talk about our song and explain and go on and on. Making it blind seems somewhat moot. You can try to curb it by not dropping the names as often, or delete all names once the country call is done. Overall is not about making it blind, but more… “out of focus”

    Country picking is the biggest deal, I feel. I know one can get curbstomped and people gettign their #1 pick would kinda seem a hard deal. May be prudent to swap it around.

    But overall, I am always excited to share music :) I’m just hoping I can earn my Plan A or B XD

  3. I will be perfectly fine with whatever the majority goes. In addition HoDs will not have to worry about ETSC 7 running late anymore!
    Thank you Morgan for taking into consideration our concerns throughout those years. Sometimes it can be hard to bear with so many different opinions on the matter but I’m pretty sure we can all collaborate to bring out the best of it.
    May the most popular choice(s) win!

  4. 1. NA
    2. NO
    3. 8

  5. I think that for the sake of peace (some people seem to be very impatiant …) we should just keep things as they have always been for this year. Morgan knows what people think now and has a year to consider what to to next year.

    Enjoy ETSC everyone!

  6. NO
    NO
    Right now

  7. I don’t mind whatever the result is, I’m just buzzing to get this started

  8. Faster HoDs (based on averages of claiming spped)

    1. Hjiallis
    2. Gregor
    3. Stommie
    4. Matt
    5. Razvan
    6. Dimitris
    7. Dino
    8. Nick P
    9. Anders
    10. Cathal

  9. Yes – it woud be fun to go for a blind edition, now or next next year.
    Yes – I think that each contestant should be encouraged not to represent the same country twice in a row as a general rule, but I can live with the system in place.
    If there are changes, they should be implemented in the ETSC 8 or next year. Again, I can live with the current rules.

    Thanks for all your work, Morgan.

  10. I am ready with songs form Sweden and from a country much further to the South. Let the contest begin when everything is decided. It’s too hot to be in a hurry.

  11. I am voting NO on both options as I dont see a point anymore, it is more the attitude towards eachother that is the problem, not the system. I dont have a problem if a blind edition is implemented, but I will strongly dislike it as it is not needed. The country selection process works and usually most people get their 1st and 2nd pick anyways. Any other system there will still be unfair in another way and may hurt the quality of the contest.
    However I can fully agree on Choosing a different country each edition. Morgan is then the only one who should be allowed to still have France in every edition if he pleases as he now is the creator of ETSC.

  12. Blind edtition: No. It only makes sense if we believe HoD’s to vote for persons rather than songs, and I never believed this to be the case. I don’t do so f.e., I promise you. Also I think sharing info about the artists and translating lyrics etc. is a crucial part of the show.

    New voting system: Voted no too. I would be OK with not being able to pick the same country after in 2 or 3 editions, but other than that, no. I’m not in it to play countries, but to share music that I love. And if there are two or more songs from one country that I feel I must share, then so be it.

    And the last one: If we decide to change the system, better keep it to ETSC 8.

  13. Repost:
    I have now my list ready:
    Six countries, four (geographical) regions :)

  14. I think that in the last poll there should have been No new rules need, so I could have has triple No.

  15. We’ll see how the results go, but regardless, I want you guys to know that, whatever happens for now doesn’t mean it’s “over” and won’t change either: it could always lead (and to more discussion later, especially depending on how we feel after etsc 7 (and 8) results

  16. How do people feel about sunday midnight CET for signing up?

  17. I voted no on both polls.

    I’ve also found the perfect song for a country that I’ve never represented before. It may not storm the scoreboard but I think it’s gorgeous. And, I’d rather send a song I love than send a song to score points.

Leave a Reply

