20 Comments

Best Props & Gimmicks 2017: and the Frida goes to…


FridaEurovision Times Awards 2017 – Every year, the summer is the calm after the storm so it’s the perfect time to resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes to the best in every category! After a week in this category, it’s time to announce the winner and hand out the Frida. So who will win? 

~

Artistic Awards

Best Props & Gimmicks

TheET Awards five entries nominated were:

 

Former winners are: glass box (Azerbaijan, 2013), hamster wheel (Ukraine, 2014), stick figure (Sweden, 2015) and screen (Russia, 2016). And the Frida goes to…

AZERBAIJAN

Skeletons” was performed by DiHaj. Representing Azerbaijan in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, it was written by Sandra Bjurman and composed by Isa Melikov. It finished 14th with 120 points. Nominated nine times overall in ET Awards 2017, “Best Props & Gimmicks” is its first so far! Congratulations!

You can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 62 recommendations for 18 countries in the first round and 130 votes were cast in an open poll, in exactly one week, among the 5 nominees. The complete detailed results will be announced once all polls are closed so in another week!

Now let’s watch the winning entry once more, for the good use of props:

20 comments on “Best Props & Gimmicks 2017: and the Frida goes to…

  1. It does surprise me a bit that a more gloomy approach (AZE) won over Sweden this year!

  2. I love the concept behind AZE17 but as I have said several times before. Those wide camera shots ruined the angsty and claustrophobic atmosphere they tried to create. I think that as a package Italy worked better.

    • I think in terms of perceptions, the scribbles inside the box and the horse head also confused people. If she was inside a simple all-black box and a guy with a human head was hovering over her looking smug, the meaning of being stuck in a bad relationship would have been much clearer to the viewer, but it wouldn’t have been so “artsy”. Concept is all well and good but simplicity is usually much more effective to pass a message (think Conchita’s wings or Jamala’s tree). When people start wondering aloud “what is this?” as they did in my house, you lose your chance to win them over.

      Also the poses she was striking inside that box were a little too magazine-fashion-shoot to convey angst.

      • I sort of agree but for a culture guy like me, the horse symbolism worked perfectly. :)
        G’night, dear Michos.

  3. Not really liking this.I don’t think the props helped the song.In fact,i think they did more harm than good.

  4. Good result. ;)

  5. Azerbaijan’s strongest entry and staging to date. This was a joy to see unfold (literally!)

  6. Meh idk, not many got why the horse was there to begin with before Dihaj eventually explained it. Imo a good gimmick/prop should enhance the performance rather then make the veiwers confused :P

    • Tbh Sweden or Romania should have won this, the treadmills boosted the Swedish performance a lot and the yodel had a lot of charm to it even if it might have sounded a bit uderwhelming at times.

  7. Same as Gregor, I voted for Sweden because the treadmills are the reason why it won Melodifestivalen and why they got the 5th place in the Grand Final. Having said that, I appreciate the fact Azerbaijan tried something different and professionaly done. Looking to the previous winners, all of them brought something unexpected :) but this is the first time it doesn’t help the entry to reach the top of the scoreboard.

  8. I don’t remember what I voted for here! LOL :D
    Congrats to Azerbaijan.

  9. This was one of my top 5 songs before the semis, but I found the staging, props & gimmicks distracted more than enhanced the song to the extent that I found my enjoyment of the song diminished. In that regard it reminded me of Estonia 2016.

  10. You know, on principle I feel uneasy about over-staging of the entries because I think the main focus should be one the song.

    On the other hand I think the visual staging worked very well here. The blackboard and the horse man on the ladder spoke to my curiosity, and it looked good aesthetically. A beautiful visual composition :-)

    But I can still abstract from the fact that it wasn’t one of the best songs in the contest. At least not for me.

  11. I’m surprised a bit that AZE won. Tbh I didn’t like their presentation too much and I don’t think it helped them either results wise. I would’ve been pleased with either Italy, Norway or Sweden winning here.

Leave a Reply

