42 Comments

ET Awards 2017: Best National Final!


Eurovision 2017 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we resume the polls with the two categories focused on broadcasters’ choices!

2017 will be the fifth year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here, the 2014’s ones here, the 2015’s ones here and the 2016’s ones here). As with the past few years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The thirteenth award is in the “Delegation” category and it’s “Best National Final”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 8 Italy
  • 8 Portugal
  • 6 Latvia
  • 6 Sweden
  • 5 Hungary
  • 3 Iceland
  • 3 Slovenia
  • 2 Estonia
  • 1 Denmark
  • 1 Poland
  • 1 Ukraine

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which entry had the best national final this year! The nominees in alphabetical order are:iceland logo

  • Hungary‘s A Dal
  • Iceland‘s Songvakeppnin
  • Italy‘s San Remo
  • Latvia‘s Supernova
  • Portugal‘s Festival da Cação

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration if you really watched seriously national finals and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

42 comments on “ET Awards 2017: Best National Final!

  1. I won’t be voting in this since I only followed a couple of them.

  2. Btw when was the last time either Sweden or Estonia haven’t been recommended for best NF? :)

  3. More polemics, as neither MF (the app!) nor last year’s winner Estonia (which both Lynn and I loved, but we’re not as fascists as some people said and so we excluded it), are nominated this year!

  4. I really liked A Dal too but my vote will has to go to San Remo.It was a great selection of songs.Many thanks to RAI and participating artists.

  5. I voted for San Remo for music, orchestra, flowers, designer suits, stylings, Ariston, audience and general italiness (slow, chaotic, but in most enchanting way.) Never ever change. Have been listening to San Remo songs much more than ESC songs this season.
    Songvakeppnin I loved too and very close number too.

  6. Awful day today.
    I realized that I actually dislike what I do for a living.
    The worst part is that I have no other option and have to go on with sth I can’t cope with.

    Good night, everyone :)

  7. My posts just disappear.lol

  8. Supernova was horrible TV and it had some worst stylings, hairs and teeth of the season. Even though it had quite a few NF season favorites of mine it was really painful to watch.

    • I agree some of the production value was lower than, say, Norway (one of the top ones EVERY YEAR production wise), but we do nominate for SOME songs, and Supernova keeps having fresher and more interesting sounds than most, and this year more than Estonia’s

      • That’s true. I actually liked four songs in Latvia a lot. For my comment I would also like to add that I happened to be very high on San Remo when Supernova started. I hate bad TV, that’s why I haven’t really followed UMK. This year I made an exception. Show was great, everything else wasn’t. Except Blackbird 😃

  9. A Dal. Overall, I really wasn’t too big of a fan of any of the other four nominees this year.

  10. Trying again. I really liked A Dal too but my votes has to go to San Remo.A great selection of songs.Many thanks to RAI and the participating artists.

  11. My nominees were Italy, Sweden and Portugal, so I voted for Italy.

    As for the worst ones, I had Lithuania, Germany and Spain…

  12. We had really wonderful Mello this year too 😃

    • the app and the “results” threw us off, but it was a rather nice NF to follow and it gave a few goodies of the year too!

      • You were thrown off for very plausible reasons to put it mildly. I loved the heated Loreen drama and debate here and in fandom. That kind of moments really electrifies the whole season.

        • I thought Sweden had a good level this year (much better than last year) which is why I nominated them. Estonia and Iceland also had good line-ups. I can’t say I enjoyed very much the line-up in Hungary or Latvia though.

          • Sweden got good and solid line up, but I missed couple of knock outs. They did extremely well with 8’s and 7’s. My MF playlist was quite popular too.

            • You are right on point. Good, entertaining line-up overall but no real knock-outs for ESC.

            • After two #5’s I really hope they turn every stone to find some knock outs for the next edition.

            • I think ESC has proven time and again it is a tough nut to crack. Just when you think you have managed it, it starts eluding you. It is significant that the chief aim of Sweden’s system to deliver what the “market” wants and yet they have come to depend more and more to the juries rather than the televote.

            • So very true. I think their formula is loosing a bit of it’s mojo as there are too many wannabe Swedens around. Lots of middle of the road ESC pop to choose from for televoters. Nothing will change as long as Björkman is there. Still he just might get extremely lucky again next autumn when he is meeting record company people. Also they are very persistent. In 80’s they stuck with their bra vibrationer, in 2000 they couldn’t get rid of their bland abbaesque. Their chart imitations mode will disappear with Björkman and with a couple of more winners like Jamala and Salvador. Still a new “Euphoria” could appear. Bulgaria actually was the proper Sweden this year. Maybe we could gave another Frida for best larping of Sweden?

            • It’s worse than being wannabe Swedens, a lot of of them are simply buying swedish songs ready for consumption. The fact that those exports have not been doing all that well is also significant.

            • Exactly, the worst wannabe Swedes are the ones who keep shopping from them. They didn’t do too well last year either. Broadcasters should take notes.

            • And yes, ESC is a very tough nut to crack and that’s the allure of it all. We really didn’t guess Salvador coming.

  13. I voted for A Dal 17. Sanremo 17 had great songs, but the show is not exactly a NF. The Hungarian NF had a good level in general and it offered 2 of the highlights of the season imo:

    and this version of ‘Fall like rain’:

  14. Based on songs’ averages, here’s my ranking of the 2017 esc season :

    San Remo : 6.36
    Festival da Cançao : 6.18
    Super Nova : 6.09
    Євробачення : 6.00
    Melodifestivalen : 5.92
    Krajowe Eliminacje : 5.90
    Söngvakeppnin : 5.83
    Dansk Melodi Grand Prix : 5.80
    A Dal : 5.80
    Eesti Laul : 5.60
    EMA : 5.56
    Belarus : 5.54
    O Melodie Pentru Europa : 5.50
    Georgia : 5.32
    FiK : 5.26
    MESC : 5.13
    UMK : 5.10
    You Decide Song (UK) : 4.83
    Selecția Națională : 4.80
    Eurovizija : 4.71
    MGP : 4.70
    Die Entscheidungsshow : 4.66
    Objectivo Eurovision! : 4.33

    My top 3 made it! :)
    My vote went to San Remo, and believe me it was a very easy decision ;)

    PS : Melodifestivalen out is bold again! Another fans’ backlash to follow ? :P

    • Lately, MF has been a very well produced show with a very shallow and barren take on music; the songs shine for bout 30 seconds and then become nothing; it’s all about production values and good looks. The app has made it even worse.

  15. Tough one between A Dal, Festival di Sanremo and Festival da Canção, but I finally went for A Dal which had the broadest spectrum of good songs.

  16. I won’t be voting here.

    Of these five I only followed the Portuguese and Latvian preselections. The Portuguese one was mixed in terms of song quality (with one particular outstanding song of course), but pleasantly down-to-earth as a TV production.

    Whereas Supernova had some really great songs, but a rather weak winner, and a show format leaning too much towards talent shows (the judges) – sadly like many other NF’s these days…

  17. I loved no NF this year and thus my vote went to FdC because they tried a different approach this year.

  18. A Dal all the way…though in my head it’s always Melfest (I attended the final in Stockholm and it was incredible, which just increased my bias). I really enjoyed watching DMGP this year, too. Sucker for the Scandis over here, obviously.

  19. Honestly, because I only heard the full lineups in a handful of NFs, I think I’ll abstain. Glad to see every nomination I made, save Poland, make it to the final vote, though. I only nominated based on the songs I did end up hearing, as well as production values.

  20. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 44 recommendations for 11 countries in the first round and 82 votes were cast in an […]

Leave a Reply

