10 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Robin Bengtsson (Sweden)


Sweden Melodifestivalen sure has picked Sweden some successful songs with six wins now under their belt. One more victory and Sweden will match the success of Ireland but will 2017 be the year they are going to do it? Sweden will be opening the song contest this year performing 1st in the 1st SF.

Song: “I Can’t Go On”
Music By: David Kreuger, Hamed “K-One” Pirouzpanah & Robin Stjernberg
Lyrics By: David Kreuger, Hamed “K-One” Pirouzpanah & Robin Stjernberg

About Robin Bengtsson
Born on 27th April 1990 in Svenljunga, Sweden Robin started music at a young age learning the Trumpet and Guitar. In 2008 Robin started his career in singing after taking part in the Swedish Version of Pop Idol where he finished 3rd losing out to runner up Alice Svensson and winner Kevin Borg who you will know from numerous Maltese National Selections. In 2016 Robin took part in Melodifestivalen with his song “Constellation Prize” which came 5th.
Robin is also a keen Motorcross Rider.

Robin was chosen to represent Sweden after winning Melodifestivalen beating early favourites Ace Wilder and Wiktoria. The song has three song writers behind it. David Kreuger has written songs for several artists such as Backstreet Boys, Britney Spears, Westlife, Il Divo and Boyzone. He was also behind “Undo” by Sanna Nielsen.
Hamed K-One Pirouzpanah is also a Swedish Songwriter who also co-wrote “Undo” with David as well as writing other Swedish Mellyfest hits such as “Yes We Can” by Oscar Zia and “Blame it on the Disco” by Alcazar.
Robin Stjernberg who represented Sweden in 2013 with “You” has also helped with this years Eurovision entry

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

I can’t go on
I can’t go on
Gotta keep it together
Don’t get me wrong
Don’t get me wrong
Cause baby you make me better
Hey
With just one look you make me shiver
I just wanna take you home
Wanna go OH
Yeah I wanna go OOH
Now girl you make me a believer
I wanna take off all my clothes
wanna go OH
You make me wanna go OH

I just can’t go on no more
When you look this freakin´ beautiful
ooh
Hands down to the floor my love
And I’m doing
Whatever you want

I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this freakin´ beautiful
I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this f freakin´ beautiful

You’ve got me good
You’ve got me good
And I’m not going nowhere
Right in your hook
That’s understood
But Im take you to somewhere

I just can’t go on no more
When you look this freakin´ beautiful
Hands down to the floor my love
And I’m doing
Whatever you want

I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this f freakin´ beautiful

I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this freakin´ beautiful

So freakin´ beautiful
Baby I just can´t go on

I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this freakin´ beautiful

I can’t go on I can’t go on
When you look this freakin´ beautiful

So f freakin´ beautiful
Baby I just can´t go on

strong>Robin Bengtsson on Social Media:
Twitter: @robinbengtssons
Facebook: robinbengtssonmusic
Instagram: @robinbengtssons

10 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Robin Bengtsson (Sweden)

  1. Another one I enjoy despite it not being of a musical genre i usually listen to.
    Good luck!

    Btw, in case Sweden wins in Kiev, it will be the first time since the introduction of the semis that the song appearing first in the running order wins the trophy, right?

  2. I don’t think it will win. It’s their weakest song since 2009. The Swedish entries are usually very melodic and well produced, but this one disappoints in that respect. Though I can’t put anything on its structure.

    Their weakest entry in recent years is still “La voix” which was a really bad composition, mixing pieces that didn’t fit each other. The verse and chorus sounded like two different songs, plus the chorus sounded more like a middle eight or bridge (contrast piece, usually coming after the 2nd chorus). The chorus is clumsy in itself because it ends with the same melody line as the one it began with – one that is clearly meant as the beginning of a piece, starting with the main chord and ending with the subdominant (IV-step).

    Plus of course the sudden shift in vocal technique from pop to classical didn’t make it more homogeneous either. It also showed that Malena Ernmann can’t really sing pop. She is flawless in the classical parts, but she can’t quite control her voice when producing a pop sound (it was also very deep for her voice). This is where the Croatian chap this year is actually better: Whatever one may think of the song, he can actually handle both singing techniques.

  3. I like how this isnt even a “spotlight on” just “robin” lol

    it’s in my top 10, so slick, and ive been pretty confident throughout the season this will be 5th (Italy/Bulgaria/Azerbaijan in the top 3, with Portugal 4th and Sweden 5th: a lot like 2011)

  4. I don’t mind the song when I am listening to it without paying attention. Alas, the minute I pay attention, I am totally put off by those cheap and sexually predatory lyrics. My other issue is the performance which makes me feel sick. I don’t like vain people in general.

  5. What can one say? Robin deserved a better song; this is cheap, crass and obvious stuff painted in shiny and glossy hues; this is what I would describe as refined obviousness. It will win ESC 17, imo.

  6. Sweden has a knack for producing earworms and I Can’t Go On is no different. With that being said I find the lyrics to be incredibly offputting and Robin to be very unlikeable.

    However, I’m sure that with their sleek performance, good vocals, and Sweden’s usual jury support this will be in the Top 5. They may even fight for the win if the top points are fractured.

  7. I don’t believe this will win. It is not winning its semi to begin with. However, I’m pretty much confident that if Sweden picks second half in the Grand Final, they will be placed in a very favourable spot in order to boost their chances and counter-balance the semi opening.
    Televoting-wise, this has the appeal for a top 5 and I can totally understand this. However, I don’t believe juries should/will have it in their top 5 when there are better songs like FIN, AZE, PRT, ITA, etc…
    An overall top 5 is quite plausible and that’s where this package belongs imo. Cause if we judge songs and rankings in esc we do have to respect people’s opinions and songs’ appeal despite our personal predilections.

  8. SVT can smoke and mirror this to top 10, maybe fifth, but even they know that they miss the key element – likeable and charismatic singer. Robin is ok, but Måns he isn’t or Eric.
    It feels very forced very mechanic overall.

Leave a Reply

