34 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Dihaj (Azerbaijan)


Azerbaijan – A nation with a 100% Qualification Success Rate Azerbaijan are unlikely to disappoint in 2017 with Dihaj and her song “Skeletons”. Currently 8th favourite to win the Contest, Azerbaijan will be performing in the 1st Semi Final and will be rehearsing today.

Song: “Skeletons”
Music By: Isa Melikov
Lyrics By: Sandra Bjurman

About Dihaj
Dihaj is the stage name of singer Diana Hajiyeva who is from Baku. She is the lead singer of the band named after the singer herself with other members Anar and Ali.
Diana attended the Baku Music Academy and graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Choral Conducting. She has also studied in London at the Institute of Contemporary Music Performance and it was whilst in London that she started performing in the British underground Music Scene. After her UK studies she formed the band Dihaj who she has been performing with since.

Dihaj was internally selected by İctimai Televiziya. The songs composer Isa Melikov is from Azerbaijan and was also the composer behind the winning song “Running Scared” by Ell and Nikki. He has also written songs for Russian winner Dima Bilan.
Lyricist Sandra Bjurman hails from Sweden and has been the writer for a lot of Azerbaijan’s entries such as “Drip Drop” (2010), “Running Scared” (2011), “When the Music Dies” (2012) and “The Hour of the Wolf” (2015).

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Standing in a mirror lane wondering what, to do
Another day and gravity’s got, got another hold of me
I never dreamed that this could be happening, not to me
But if he came falling down falling so hard, I started believing

Now I’m into daydreams
Amazed by thorn jeans
Deep into high extremes
When I’m with him it’s fantasy
We’re just like alchemy
Oh I feel ready

Have my skeletons
[I can only trick you once, bad boy]
Have my lungs, my millions
[Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy]
Drum drum drum, bring out the guns
[Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy]
I’m so so cursed
[Fuss and fight won’t get you tons]
Bad boy

The world is spinning faster by the minute and I’m longing to be saved
This bitter sweet sensation got a, got another hold of me

Now I’m stuck in daydreams
Surrounded by thorn jeans
Deep into high extremes
When we hook up it’s fantasy
We’re just like alchemy
I’ve never been so ready

Have my skeletons
[I can only trick you once, bad boy]
Have my lungs, my millions
[Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy]
Drum drum drum, bring out the guns
[Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy]
I’m so so cursed
[Fuss and fight won’t get you tons]
Bad boy

[I can only trick you once, bad boy]
I can only trick you once
[Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy]
[Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy]
Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues

Drum drum drum, bring out the guns
[Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy]
Bad boy
Fuss and fight won’t get you tons, bad boy
[Fuss and fight won’t get you tons]

Have my skeletons
[I can only trick you once, bad boy]
Have my lungs, my millions
[Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy]
Have my skeletons
[Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy]
I’m so so cursed
[Fuss and fight won’t get you tons]
Have my skeletons

Dihaj on Social Media:
Website: http://www.dihaj.com
Twitter: @DianaHaciyeva
Facebook: dihajmusic

34 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Dihaj (Azerbaijan)

  1. I’ve always been a fan of her…Very glad for the song that was given to her
    Good luck Dihaj ❤

  2. #10 on my list and a possible winner, with their chances slightly reduced though, in Kiev in two weeks. Along with 2012 and 2014 my most fav Azerbaijani entries. 2009 was nice as well.
    But, please, just for once, try sth with more “local flavour” in the future and get rid of the so called “recipe” for eurovision ;)
    Good luck!

  3. Aleksander Walmann’s pic sneaked into the AZE 17 spotlight article :P

  4. ESC calibirated festival tune is a big letdown in chorus for me, but I love the verses. This will fare very well and looking forward getting to know Dihaj who has so many fans round here 😃

  5. I simply love this song and Diana looks very cool as a person and singer.

  6. Azerbaijan has to trust local talent more. Their songs always come across as very desinfected and aseptic. That hasn’t prevented them from offering the best Swedish songs on offer in recent years though (15 was mediocre and 16 was simply bad though). This year they went for a talented singer who did her best to combine her own style with what is perceived to do well in ESC. They’ve come up with an interesting song that I like very much. The known info on their stage presentation is very disappointing, but let’s wait and see.

  7. Not for me. I think it has a weak melody, and the sound is too sterile. Harmony going nowhere (follow the overused harmonic trend of using the Aeolic mode rather than being based on functional harmony – way too many songs do that in the last few years).

    I think here entry in ETSC 5 was much more interesting (not my genre, but I had to praise it for the interesting aspects of the music).

  8. Best electropop of the year imo. I prefer it to both its “rivals” (BEL and FYR).
    Hopefully they will bring some taste and good vocals on stage.
    Good luck!!!

  9. Love it, and my current #3 behind Portugal and Belgium

  10. Edgy, dark, contemporary electro tune and Dihaj adds even more edge to it although her known live performances thus far are a tad stiff.
    As we wait for her first rehearsal I am hoping for a cold but charisma infused performance.

  11. My #1, hope she has a good stage performance and I’d love to see her win this. It’s exactly the type of music I listen to outside of Eurovision, but is just mainstream enough where it won’t seem too off-putting for some of the audience. I don’t know if I’d be too excited going back to Baku so soon, but I think if she does win she’d 100% deserve it.

Leave a Reply

