Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Lucie Jones (United Kingdom)


United Kingdom – In our third Spotlight on the The Big Five we will learn about Lucie Jones who will be representing the UK in with “Never Give Up on You”. The last time the UK finished in the Top 10 was back in 2009 with Jade Ewen. Will Lucie make it there this year?

Song: “Never Give Up on You”
Music By: Emmelie de Forest, Daniel Salcedo & Lawrie Martin
Lyrics By: Emmelie de Forest, Daniel Salcedo & Lawrie Martin

About Lucie
Lucie Jones hails from Cardiff in Wales and was born in 1991. Her career began in 2009 when she auditioned for the X Factor where she made it into the final twelve. She was a favourite to win the show before her shock elimination in week five when she lost out to Jedward after receiving the lowest amount of votes from the British Public.
After the show she went into modelling and was signed to Select Model Management working ads for labels such as Wonderbra.
She has also performed on stage in musicals such as Les Miserables, Legally Blonde, Ghost the Musical and Rent.

Lucie Jones was selected to represent the UK after beating off five other former X Factor contestants in Eurovision: You Decide including Danyl Johnson who also competed in the 2009 series of the X Factor. Her song was written by a team of songwriters including Eurovision 2013 winner Emmelie de Forest. Daniel Salcedo also comes from Copenhagen but there is some British input into the song in the form of Lawrie Martin from Scotland.

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Tell me your secrets
I’ll keep ‘em safe
No sign of weakness, it’s a sign of a faith

We’ll stand tall
So you don’t fall

You’re not defeated
You’re in repair
Don’t have to call me I’ll always be there

We’ll stand tall
So you don’t fall

If you could see how far you’ve walked
You would see that all’s not lost

I will never give up on you
I don’t care what I’ve got to lose
Just give me your hand and hold on
Together we’ll dance through this storm

I will never give up on you
You’re the one that I’m running to
Just give me your hand and hold on
Together we’ll dance through this storm

Under the surface
I see you glow
I’m right beside you
You’re never alone

Don’t let go
When you’re so close

If you could see how far you’ve walked
You would see that all’s not lost

I will never give up on you
I don’t care what I’ve got to lose
Just give me your hand and hold on
Together we’ll dance through this storm

I will never give up on you
You’re the one that I’m running to
Just give me your hand and hold on
Together we’re dancing through

This madness
We’re running through
There’s magic
It’s inside of you
It’s madness
It’s madness

Now you can see how far you’ve walked
The mountains climbed, the oceans crossed

I don’t care what I’ve got to lose
Just give me your hand and hold on
Together we’ll dance through this storm

I will never give up on you
You’re the one that I’m running to
So give me your hand and hold on
Together we’ll dance through this storm

Lucie Jones on Social Media:
Facebook: luciejonesfans
Twitter: @luciejones1
Instagram: @luciejones1

32 thoughts on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Lucie Jones (United Kingdom)

  1. I know I am at odds with the majority regarding the UK entry this year.
    Good luck!

    PS: *sounding like a broken record*: Hurts to ESC please! :P

  2. I love the UK entry this year and find it much more memorable than say that from Poland. Lucie has a good vocal and should be able to deliver in Kiev, here’s hoping they can stage it well.

  3. Poor singer with zero charisma, in a dated but acceptable song that has no memorability (the first time I put all songs in my mp3 player and played them as I walked to work, when it got to the UK it took me ages to figure out which one it was)… it reminds me a LOT of France 2006 and should end the same way (saved from last thanks to friendly votes, in this case say Ireland and Malta).

  4. I like it, but it isn’t anything special really. I prefer last year’s entry, but this one isn’t bad by any means and will probably place ~20th. One of the best revamps of the season imo though.

  5. As they say in British English, it’s a “Marmite” song, and as much as I love Marmite, I don’t really love UK entry, more for the fact that it sounds like a potentially decent singer singing a whiny plea for her life in 3 minutes, like UK selection in last few years got yourelf decent singers just get yourself a decent and potentially winning song i.e make an effort

  6. It sounds a tad desperate, doesn’t it? Don’t like it, don’t hate it, don’t care … at least Lucie seems to be a lovely lady.

      • I perfectly know what marmite means. LOL Did you forget that I’ve been teaching English Literature at university for 15 years …?

        • Indeed I knew you would know that! UK entry would be such a good example of a “Marmite” song, in the UK they use Marmite idea for plenty of stuff it seems, as a child with British parents in Catalonia I grew up with “the growing up spread you never grow out of” (Marmite) don’t know if here there are similar experiences!!

          • I have to admit that it took me some time to understand the precise meaning of “marmite” depending on context …

            • jeje! don’t worry about that, it’s a very British thing I think, am sure Hulluna and Jade have used it as a reference before, “Marmite” is a famous British spread of many years and latest marketing suggests you either love it or hate it on toast etc, so in the UK the term “Marmite” is used to describe anything that you either love or hate, eg UK 2017 is a “Marmite” song as in you either love or hate it, other uses would be in UK via football maybe? I’m here in Spain so Hulluna and Jade could explain more!!

            • If you ask a British person if they like Marmite you will never find someone who would answer with “it’s okay. I kinda like it”

              You either love the taste of it or hate it. I hate it. Nasty. There is a crispy snack called “Twiglets” here as well which is the same. People either like them or don’t.

            • thanks Jade for explaining the idea of “Marmite” stuff, in English, and I love Marmite btw :-)

  7. Not my cup of tea. A lil’ bit whiny for my taste I’m afraid but still a top 15 jury material in the Final.
    Televoting-wise, I believe it’s going to be another disaster for UK!

  8. Not my cup of tea, of anything, actually, either. It plods along even after its very glossy revamp. Lucie has what it seems to be a good singing voice, but, to me, she comes across as being oversinging it. Everything is heavy and obvious, which may indicate that there is not much of song, melody, lyrics to work with in the first place.

    • typical UK stuff, throw a girly song there and hope for the best, with a good performance singing wise she may do better than expected, but no winner 2017

  9. It’s my favorite UK entry in years but that doesn’t say much really.lol I quite like the ballad.Lucie has a nice voice but not a real stage charisma.She’s a bit beige.

  10. Boring ballad sung by nice girl who was 7th or something in X-Factor years ago with no career what so ever after that. There is a reason for that. Obviously the team behind the song aren’t something we call a hit machine.

  11. Cosy and harmless little song. I might even prefer it a bit to “Only teardrops”…

    It doesn’t do anything specifically wrong or right; just going through these three minutes, delivering a song that I don’t really remember when it’s over but sorta enjoyed while it was playing. Dead meat in Kiev of course, but I’m fine with it. Good luck!

  12. This is a good ballad! She has a beautiful voice and the revamp of the song made wonder and created dynamics that wasn’t there before. 7/10 Good luck United Kingdom!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.