57 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Kristian Kostov (Bulgaria)


Bulgaria – After a two year absence Bulgaria returned last year with Poli Genova who made it into the Top Five of the Grand Final. In 2017 it looks like Bulgaria may do even better with Kristian Kostov who is 2nd favourite to win the contest this May with his song “Beautiful Mess”

Song: “Beautiful Mess”
Music By: Borislav Milanov, Sebastian Arman, Joacim Persson, Alexander V. Blay & Alex Omar
Lyrics By: Borislav Milanov, Sebastian Arman, Joacim Persson, Alexander V. Blay & Alex Omar

About Kristian Kostov
The baby of the class of 2017, Kristian was born in the year 2000 in Moscow, Russia. His father is Bulgarian and his mother is from Kazakhstan meaning Kristian is fluent in both Russian and Bulgarian but also in English too.
In 2014 Kristian was mentored by Eurovision 2008 winner Dima Bilan on the Russian version of The Voice Kids making it to the finals of that show.
Kristian also has ties to the X Factor taking part in the Bulgarian version of the show where he finished 2nd place to Christiana Louizu.
Fun Fact: Kristian is the first Eurovision Contestant to have been born in the 21st Century… How old are we?

Kristian was selected internally by BNT after a beating off five others from a shortlist of potential candidates and his song was internally picked also. The songs writers have also written “Dance Alone” the song representing FYR Macedonia. FIGHT!

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

When the world shakes us
trying to take us out of line
Fear of tomorrow
feelings we borrow for a time

Water so deep
how do we breathe
how do we climb?

So we stay in this mess
this beautiful mess tonight

And we don’t have a thing to lose
no matter what they say or do
I don’t want nothing more
our love is untouchable

Even in the line of fire
when everything is on the wire
Even up against the wall
our love is untouchable

Our love is untouchable!

When the colours turn grey
and the lights all fade to black again
Water so deep
how do we breathe
how do we climb?
So we stay in this mess
this beautiful mess tonight

‘Cause we don’t have a thing to lose
no matter what they say or do
I don’t want nothing more
our love is untouchable

Even in the line of fire
when everything is on the wire
Even up against the wall
our love is untouchable

Oooo Ooooo Oooo No!

Even in the line of fire
when everything is on the wire
Even up against the wall
our love is untouchable

Our love is untouchable!

Kristian Kostov on Social Media:
Facebook: Kristian.Kostov.OfficialFanPage
Twitter: @KristianKostov_
Instagram: @kristian_kostov_official

57 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Kristian Kostov (Bulgaria)

  1. I think at this point Kristian is my favorite to win. No, Bulgaria doesn’t have my favorite song this year, but at this point I think Belgium and Azerbaijan will both do well, but neither will win. Bulgaria has an actual chance at winning, and I think he’s Italy’s biggest competitor. So, hands down I prefer this to Italy, it’s really such a gorgeous song and I can’t wait for the live performance, also I’d love to see someone my age winning for the first time, as since I’m pretty young I never really get to see people my age in the public eye except if it’s for some children’s TV show lol.

  2. Child sings a lovely ballad with nice ethnic touches that is far too heavy for him. I don’t buy it but objectively speaking it is a fine entry.

  3. #20 on my list but losing ground constantly, cause i find it undeservingly overhyped.
    Good luck, Kiristian, good luck, neighbours!… and I wouldn’t actually mind a victory for Bulgaria!

  4. “Fun Fact: Kristian is the first Eurovision Contestant to have been born in the 21st Century… How old are we?”

    LOL :D

    • mare méu!!! :-( I remember cheering for Co-Co in 1978!! As for Bulgaria, well I’d like to see Bulgaria win some day too but not with this syrupy concoction of sweet boy and calculated song

      • Yep! exactly my thoughts on Bulgaria :)

        • am not sure there are so many millenials into ESC, well am using my nephews and neices as a yardstick here who don’t understand Uncle Paul’s interest at all!! :-(

          • Oh those youngsters! :P lol

          • My niece just bought a book in which she dedicates a page with name, title, photo etc. to every ESC winner. I think that it’s a genetic thing in my family. Already my grandparents were sort of fans. :)

            • LOL, you should do that DNA test like I did, it’s fascinating to find out things about your origins, maybe one day they’ll isolate a speficic gene for “fans of Eurovision”! in the meantime, my neice told me in a social studies class they had learned about the “Rosa de España” phenomenon cerca 2001,(Rosa Spain 2002 to you and me) and its impact on Spanish media etc, I showed her the necessary videos :-) and my insight as a journalist..

      • Hi paul, I have been to Madrid, it’s my fave city now!! <3 :)

        • good for you! Madrid is a great city in my opinion, I often have to go there for work and I always have a great time especially the night life, but obviously my heart is with Barcelona :-)

  5. Sorry if anyone else has already posted this:

    • jeje! Some of the alternative styles sound like they could probably improve on the original songs! Nathan Trent sounds all american boy…in fact everyone sounds American these days! where do they learn their English?!!

  6. Such a great effort from Bulgaria…
    One of my few contenders to win ❤

  7. A great entry, an adorable singer.

  8. I find the song a well-made pop ballad that fails to stir any emotions in me.It’s a calculated effort aimed to do well in esc.

  9. A contemporary ballad with ethnic touches and good “chart potential” which should please esc juries. Not a song I would listen to at home and it still leaves me rather cold tbh but I can see the appeal and I wouldn’t be surprised at all if it won in May!!!

    • Speaking of winning in May, Estonia was the song I was refering to the other day ;)
      Btw, top5 of entries by chances to win ESC 2017:
      01. Sweden
      02. Italy
      03. Azerbaijan
      04. Belgium/Estonia!!! :P :D

      • I believe Verona will do an AUT 16 this year :P
        You underrate Bulgaria.
        Sweden winning it again could possibly open a Pandora’s box when it comes to esc’s credibility imo

        • I’m afraid ESC’s credibility has already been damaged long ago now (and in various aspects) :(

          • It has been improving immensly the last 5 years or so from what I see and heR around me.
            It is the first year it is seriously jeopardized since 2008 imo…

            • Well, it seems we disagree :)

            • We do I am just speaking from Belgium’s perspective. If someone told me in 2009 when we had “Copycat” that nowadays we would have artists like Noic and Blanche, 2 consecutive top 10 placings and viewing rates of 70 % I would call them crazy probably.

        • I fear Estonia has an awkward stage performance unlike ZOE’S innocence that won peoples hearts last year.I believe “Verona” could qualify based on televoting support and then struggle in the final.Romania on the other hand could do a Poland 2016.

      • Estonia will struggle to creep out of the semi-final imo because I expect the juries to kill it.

        My list goes like this:

        Italy
        Portugal
        Bulgaria
        Belgium

        I can’t see anyone else winning at this point.

      • Sweden, Italy and Bulgaria, this will most probably be the final tp 3. Sweden being the big favourite, imo.

  10. Bulgaria 17 is a well made song sung by someone who does not feel and know what he is singing about. The whole thing comes across as hollow and emotionless and thus a tad pretentious. Bulgaria 17 must have some big record company behind it and the artificiality of the ensemble is obvious, imo. It caters to the demands of the bubble and has that radio friendliness feel that tranlates as being current to many listeners.

  11. Remind me once again: did we have any artist born in the 2000’s last year or was this year the start with no less than three singers who missed the 20th century?

    I like Kristian as an artist. He comes off as very mature for his age and I like his singing. The problem is that the song moves me next to nothing. I feel not a single thing; neither positive, nor negative. But many people seem to love it so it could very well even win, even if I don’t personally get it. Good luck!

    • Who are the other 2?

      • Sorry, I was thinking the wrong way. I was thinking about the artists who are 17 years old – Blanche and Mr. Firebrace – and hence supposed that they were born in 2000. So it’s right, Kristian is the only 2000 kid out there.

    • It’s the same story for me. I almost feel nothing too and I think it’s because he dont fully understand what he sings about. I mean anyone can sing about love, but transferring those feelings into a song is an artform in itself, which young Kristian havn’t yet mastered/experienced.

  12. I love Bulgaria 17. It’s a big ballad without being pompous, very contemporary very unESC. I’m glad to see how serious they are. A potential new superpower is always welcomed to stir the pot.

  13. I dont like the official video at all, it’s just like Loreens ”Statements”, where they had a lot of artsy ideas and just mashed them into an artsy mess. EDIT! However the song is a different story, which I like very much. I feel that the song is a little bit too polished and that it’s a bit mature for his age. Nevertheless one of the best songs this year. 8/10 Good luck Bulgaria!

  14. I really don’t like this song. The music is very uninteresting, and leaves me totally indifferent; plus the emotions aren’t real, neither in the music nor in the singing. Some clichéd Eurovision lyrics too (f.e. “our love is untouchable” – the word ‘untouchable’ even occurred in the previous Bulgarian entry if I remember correctly), but well, at least he doesn’t sing “we will shine”.

    The entry as a whole is way too slick. There is no edge, no personality, and no signs of imperfection that could have made it more trustworthy and human. It’s empty calories.

    But it will undoubtedly do well. They are obviously using the “Justin Bieber package” which has been popular for quite a lot of years. If I had been a teenage girl, I clearly wouldn’t have fallen for it though.

  15. I just listened for the first time to this song. And to be honest I don’t understand what the fuss is all about. Sure, a nice ballad and a cute singer. But to be honest, I hope this year’s winner will be a bit more memorable.

Leave a Reply

