18 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Imri (Israel)


Israel – Thanks to the hit show “Rising Star”, Israel have found themselves qualifying to the final for the final these past two years. Will it be a third year running with “I Feel Alive” by “Rising Star” winner Imri Ziv? He will be closing the second semi final on May 11th.

Song: “I Feel Alive”
Music By: Dolev Ram & Penn Hazut
Lyrics By: Dolev Ram & Penn Hazut

About Imri
Imri Ziv was born in 1992 in Hod HaSharon, Israel. He has been singing since high school when he was a member of a boyband. He also gained musical experience during his mandatory service within the Israeli Military where he performed with the band in the Education and Youth Corps Unit.
In 2012 Imri applied for The Voice Israel where he made it to the battle round before losing to his battle partner on Team Rami Kleinstein.
Imri is also a Voice Actor and supplied the voice of in he Hebrew version of the movie “Trolls”.
Imri is not new to the Eurovision Experience as he supplied backing vocals for both Nadav Guedj (2015) and Hovi Star (2016).

Imri was selected to represent Israel after winning the hit show “Rising Star”. The song “I Feel Alive” was written especially for Imri and selected by the Israeli Broadcaster IBA. The song has proven popular with the Israeli public making it to #6 in their charts.

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

The secret of my life
Is never givin’ up
Now I’m close to you
Walking through the stars
Brings me to the start
When I won with you

I was waiting way too much
For something good to come
And I’m a bit fragile
Was waiting way too much
It’s like an hourglass
And you like trouble

Breaking me to pieces
I wanted you to know that
Every piece broke from you
Breaking me to pieces
‘Coz every time
You come around
I feel alive
Now I’m trying
I’m trying
I feel alive!
I feel alive!

The years I’ve been alone
Far away from home
Reminded me of you
My job is almost done
Baby I can now
Escape away with you

I was waiting way too much
For something good to come
And I’m a bit fragile
Was waiting way too much
It’s like an hourglass
And you like trouble

Breaking me to pieces
I wanted you to know that
Every piece broke from you
Breaking me to pieces
‘Coz every time
You come around
I feel alive
Now I’m trying
I’m trying
I feel alive!

So alive

Alive, alive, alive

Breaking me to pieces
I wanted you to know that
Every piece broke from you
Breaking me to pieces
‘Coz every time
You come around
I feel alive

Imri on Social Media:
Facebook: imrizivofficial
Twitter: @ImriZiv
Instagram: @imriziv

18 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Imri (Israel)

  1. The song is quite dull and generic. His vocals are far from being consistent. He is attractive and that is his trump card, which will be played effectively.

  2. It’s harmless and a bit silly which automatically gets it into the top third on my list.

  3. Annoying and void.
    Sorry not a fan this year

  4. Extremely generic and uninspiring. One of my least favorites this year.

  5. He’s not ugly for sure, but Tomer Tenenboym is dancing for Israel again (after 2014, where he stole the show) and he’s stealing the spotlight as hottest shake-shake boy!

  6. Oh wait, there’s a song there too?! :p :o

  7. Nadav took me to great party in Tel Aviv and happy to continue partying there with IMRI and his posse. Feel good dance pop has always place in my ESC. It’s not perfect, but it still beats easily 2/3 of songs round here.
    Still waiting for remixes. And more pics of IMRI and his boys.
    It’s in my top 10 and it will end up in top 10.

  8. It’s a grower.

  9. realy don’t like it myself :-(

  10. It’s up-tempo and sort of fun.It’s not a great ethno-pop song but if they manage to stage it effectively it will qualify.

  11. As a song I dig it, its cathcy and I like the kinda ethnic touch in the beat, however as an eurovision act I feel it will struggle. I hope their staging and live performance proves me wrong. 6/10 for me. Good luck Israel!

  12. Well obviously this is not something that appeals to me. I don’t hear any soul and depth in the song. Moreover I am tired of that style.

Leave a Reply

