71 Comments

TEKO 2017: Group 6 Results!


 TEKO 2017 – Voting in group 6 is closed! See the results of the group with Belgium, France, and the United Kingdom!

After three days, people cast 163 votes in our poll! Remind yourself of the entries:

 BELGIUM Blanche – City Lights

FRANCE Alma – Requiem

UNITED KINGDOM Lucie Jones – Never Give Up on You

Without further ado, the winner is:


BELGIUM!!!

image credit: eurovision.tv

“City Lights” was written by Emmanuel Delcourt and Pierre Dumoulin, with lyrics by Ellie Delvaux, also known as Blanche! The song was internally chosen by RTBF and it will be performed by Blanche in Kyiv! The percentages of the results are listed below.

1st place: Belgium – 77 votes (47%)

2nd place: France – 53 votes (33%)

3rd place: United Kingdom – 33 votes (20%)


This means that Belgium has moved onto the duel stages and that France is eligible for the second chance group. Come back tomorrow for the results of group 7!

71 comments on “TEKO 2017: Group 6 Results!

  1. Congratulations, Blanche!

    I still believe France is slightly overrated.

  2. Blanche was missing last night…I hope she is OK
    Congrats Belgium

  3. I voted France. A nice upbeat song where Belgium and the UK do not help with my depression. Very boring for me to listen to personally.
    I really do think this is the worst song the UK have ever sent.

    • So sorry that you’re suffering with depression, but good stuff feeling comfortable to speak about it. I totally get how something like that can influence your perception of music. The UK’s continuing insistence to send rubbish songs can’t help much! Worst ever song though? That’s a bold claim! There’s stiff competition for that dubious accolade. You’ve heard Black Lace and Daz Sampson, yes?!

      • Don’t forget Jade’s taste in music! (No-one mention Scooch!). I actually love the fact Jade always likes the stranger entries. It scary how this year we agree on things, we normally never do. I don’t think it’s a good thing, it maybe shows how generic the contest is becoming?

        UK has grown on me a bit. I HATED it the first time I heard it despite liking Lucy as a person. But now I can appreciate it and sing along. It’s no real flag waver though.

        There’s no way it’s worse than Scooch and Electro Velvet for me.

      • My taste is what others call horrid. I love Black Lace. Scooch are my favourite UK entry of all time lol.
        Bizzare I know

        • Yeah, I see what you mean! I think Scooch were quite fun and unfairly maligned, but ‘favourite’ is too much of a stretch!

          My favourite UK entries are Bardo and Lynsey & Mike. My guilty pleasure is Bryan Johnson.

  4. So, France will miss the SC. It is BLR, GRE and DEN atm.

  5. Hm well I voted for the UK, cause I knew she needed some points, congratz Belgium doh! :D

    Off topic: 23 of you guys have voted in the ET Premath of 2017 so far and the result rn is very interesting. Its also very tight in top and im not kidding you guys when I write that a single voter can change who the winner will be in the end. 7 countries have yet to score, so cmon guys keep on voting! :D

  6. Belgium is a deserving winner.

    P.S. – I hope that Blanche’s missing last evening’s event was not due to health problems.
    Persoanlly, I think it was a wise move to stay at home; Blanche needs to work on her performance; she is still very young and unexperienced and she has a very good song that is very difficult sell on stage. I am confident that she can improve on what we already know. Bonne chance, Blanche! :)

  7. Off-topic: ‘Amar pelos dois’ did very well on the 1st semi preview shows in Iceland and Finland. :)

    • Finland will love it. It will get high marks from Helsinki.

      • I hope so. Personally, I will be voting for Finland, but I do not know if the Finnish entry will fare well here. The hardcore fans will dominate the televote in the semis and that does not bode well for both Portugal and Finland.

      • Rybak loves ‘Amar pelos dois’ as well. Several other musicians and singers have expressed their support for the Portuguese entry this year, but I am still not convinced it will reach the final.

        • You are in denial. Portugal will score top 5 in semi :)

        • I am glad you keep low expectations even if it is out of the usual pessimism.
          I highly doubt Portugal will escape the bottom 5 of the semi.

          I just hope there will be more of an effort next year.

        • I usually am on the half-empty glass side but you have to be realistic at some point.Salvador will qualify and be top-7 in the final,imo.

          • I know his chances are not bad, when it comes to reaching the final. If that happens, he will end up around 20th place, imo. Portugal does not have a traditional voting bloc that votes for flags no matter what. Even the guy whose review I posted yesterday said so. I am being realistic.

  8. Congrats Blanche and I hope she gets better soon, all the travelling and weather changes probably took a toll om her :-)
    Her performances in London and Tel Aviv were already very promising and close to what they needed to be and she is still imo the frontrunner along with Bulgaria and Azerbaijan to win this :-)

    Odds are odds…They had Jamala in free fall last year after the semi and went crazy every time Bojana performed in 2015. They matter little to not at all at this point :-)

    Go Blanche :-) !

  9. 6 out of 6!
    However, I would have voted for France if they kept the original version cause at this moment Alma is better on stage as days go by :)

  10. No surprises here. I voted for Belgium myself as I recognize it as the best song among those three. However, on a solely personal, subjective level I prefer France.

    • I admire your ability to separate the two, your objective musical analysis from your subjective personal taste, your head from your heart. Sometimes a good pop song will just tap into a visceral level without being technically clever.

  11. On this occasion I am aligned with the consensus! Belgium was an early standout favourite, France was an OK that has grown on me a lot on repeated listens, and the UK currently resides in a swamp, in more ways than one.

  12. I detested this heat, I HATED this heat, why would you put three of my top 10 in the same heat?

    I preferred Belgium, but I voted for France to have her at least have a high chance to appear on the TEKO Andra Chansen

  13. Speaking of, is that second chance round calculated by total number of votes or %s?

  14. Finally,a live performance from the Greek rehearsals:

  15. Can I please remind people that personal attacks on here will not be tolerated and they break the forum’s rules. I have deleted several posts from this thread. Please can we keep it civilised.

  16. What have I missed? 😬

  17. Still a perfect score for me!

    Sad for Alma, but what killed her isnt Belgium who didnt do that strong, but Uk doing probably the best of any 3rd so far!

Leave a Reply

