284 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Svala (Iceland)


Iceland – After a shock result last year that saw Greta Salome fail to make the grand final, Iceland return with one of their most popular artists… Pop Star Svala. Svala will be performing in the first semi final on May 9th with her song “Paper” and here we will tell you some more about her

Song: “Paper”
Music By: Svala Björgvinsdóttir, Einar Egilsson, Lester Mendez and Lily Elise
Lyrics By: Svala Björgvinsdóttir, Einar Egilsson, Lester Mendez and Lily Elise

About Svala
40 year old Svala Björgvinsdóttir was born in Reykjavík and is the daughter of Björgvin Halldórsson who represented Iceland in the contest back in 1995 with ” Núna” which came 15th. Svala started her career performing back up vocals for her fathers album at just age 7 and at aged 9 got a #1 single when performing a duet with her father on the song “Fyrir Jól” which was a Christmas Single.
In 1999, Svala signed a record deal with EMI and their Priority Records label which was eventually bought out by Capitol Records. In 2001 her debut solo album “The Real Me” was released and enjoyed national success as well as success in Germany, Spain and Japan.
As well as a solo career Svala has been a member of several groups throughout her work life. At 16 she formed Scope before leaving to joining the group the Bubbleflies.
Her most successful group however is Steed Lord who she formed with her (then boyfriend, now husband) Einar Egilsson and his brother Edvard Egilsson. Steed Lord have found success not only in Iceland but also America.
In 2015 Svala was hired as one of the Mentors on the Icelandic version of The Voice and she also has her own fashion line “Kali” (the name she goes by when performing in Steed Lord).
Svala is also a trained ballet dancer and studied at the Icelandic National Theatre Ballet.

Svala was selected to represent Iceland by beating off 6 other acts in the National Final Söngvakeppnin. With the backing of the public (they gave her double the points) she was able to beat runner up Daði Freyr Pétursson.
Lester Mendez, one of the songs composers is an American Songwriter and producer and has written songs for Santana, Anastacia and most successfully, Shakira writing hits such as “Underneath Your Clothes”, “Objection (Tango)” and “La Tortura”.

Lyrics:
(Taken from 4Lyrics)

You’re under the water
Trying to pull me under
I reach for you
I reach for you

You can throw it all at me, I won’t give you up
I can handle all your pain, take it as it comes
I love you right, but you make me feel like

Paper, you cut right through
I’m stuck like glue to you
Paper, your darkness pulls
I lose control again

Drawing every bit of my truth
Colour me in with your blue
Paper, you cut right through
A thousand words for you

I know I wasn’t a part of you plan
I know you think that you’re being a man
Tell me to leave you alone
Tell me I would be so better off
But you don’t understand

I canʼt leave you, baby
I can’t leave you
But you make me feel like

Paper, you cut right through
I’m stuck like glue to you
Paper, your darkness pulls
I lose control again

Drawing every bit of my truth
Colour me in with your blue
Paper, you cut right through
A thousand words for you

Paper, you cut right through
I’m stuck like glue to you
Paper, your darkness pulls
I lose control again

Drawing every bit of my truth
Colour me in with your blue
Paper, you cut right through
A thousand words for you

Svala on Social Media:
Facebook: svalakali
Twitter: @svalakali
Instagram: @svalakali

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

284 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Svala (Iceland)

  1. I hope Dihaj didn’t not go to Crimea to give a concert LOL

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

