76 Comments

Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Anja (Denmark)


Denmark – It’s no more boy bands for Denmark in 2017 who hope that Anja will be able to get them back into the Grand Final of the contest with her song “Where I Am”.
She will be performing the song which she co-wrote in the second semi final on May 11th. 

Song: “Where I Am”
Music By: Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai and Michael D’Arcy
Lyrics By: Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai and Michael D’Arcy

About Anja
21 year old Anja Nissen is actually Australian of Danish descent. Her parents both migrated to Australia at a young age and Anja was born and raised in New South Wales.
At 12 years of age she competed in Australia’s Got Talent in 2008 where she made it to the semi finals. In 2014 she made it onto team Will.I.Am on The Voice of Australia which she went onto win.
Her self titled debut album was released after her win and made #11 on the Australian Charts and in 2016, Anja competed in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix coming second with “Never Alone” behind Lighthouse X.

Anja was selected by the public and a jury in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix beating off 9 other artists. Her song “Where I Am” was composed by an entirely Australian Song writing team. Angel Tupai was a contestant of The Voice of Australia herself although it was a different season to Anja’s win.

Lyrics:
(Taken from 4Lyrics)

(Laying down my armour, laying down my guard)

You’re lost in my game, your love is repeating
Always around, you’re never holding me down
I know who you are, true colours are showing
Though my heart’s bare I’ll show you care

Putting up my walls so I’ll last better
Dunno why I do it because we’re together
Always holding back from you
It’s hard my mind

Tonight I’m gonna try for you real hard
To show you all the love I’ve held inside
Show you all the love I’ve held inside
Let’s do it right

Tonight I’m gonna show you, show you what you’ve done
I’m laying down my armour, laying down my guard
Tonight I’m gonna hold you closer than before
So you know where I am, so you know where I am

I’ve known it’s not right, just couldn’t reveal it
Always closing up tight and never releasing
I’ve prayed and I’ve feared to love, but you never let me go
I’ve held it in my heart and now I’m letting you go

Tonight I’m gonna show you, show you what you’ve done
I’m laying down my armour, laying down my guard
Tonight I’m gonna hold you closer than before
So you know where I am, so you know where I am

Putting up my walls so I’ll last better
Dunno why I do it because we’re together

Tonight I’m gonna try for you real hard
To show you all the love I’ve held inside
Show you all the love I’ve held inside
Let’s do it right

Tonight I’m gonna show you, show you what you’ve done
I’m laying down my armour, laying down my guard
Tonight I’m gonna hold you closer than before
So you know where I am, so you know where I am

So you know where I am
(So you know where I am, so you know where I am)
So you know where I am (So you know where I am)
Oh, so you know where I am

Anja on Social Media:
Website: http://www.anjanissenofficial.com.au
Facebook: anjanissenmusic
Twitter: @anja_nissen

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

76 comments on “Eurovision 2017: Spotlight on Anja (Denmark)

  1. In semi 1 Armenia needed a strong entry to be a certain Q and while the snippet was going to that direction the full song failed to deliver. Quite uninspired stuff and the ethno mix is “esc ethno flavoured song” done by the numbers. Very tough to pin down result wise but definately not in the safe Q zone. Semi 1 will be tricky to predict since both Armenia and Georgia are borderline imo.

  2. Ugh I really don’t like Denmark 2017…its almost at the bottom for me, it’s my number 38.. I don’t like singer and her singing technique, I don’t like lyrics and song..
    It will be my number 17 in the second semi, thus i don;t want it in the final..
    I still can’t believe Sada Vidoo – “Northern light” didn’t win Dansk MGP 2017! :(

  3. I hate this. It’s not awful in itself, but there’s nothing for me there. Bombastic and shouty. Can’t remember its tune.

  4. Denmark has a very boring song this year

  5. This is so mainstream I wanna lay down my armour and say: “pierce me another hole in my mainstream heart” Idk
    She obviously kills it live with her to die for vocals, but nobody can safe this song from pure averageness. 25 place on my pre esc list!

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

