96 Comments

Estonia: It’s Koit Toome & Laura to Kyiv!


EstoniaEstonia – The grand final of Eesti Laul 2017 took place today at the Saku Suurhall in Tallinn and 10 acts battled it out to represent the country in Kyiv. The decision was initially made with a mix of televote and jury.  Jury members included interval performers Poli Genova (Bulgaria 2016), Måns Zelmerlöw (Sweden 2015).

After adding the public vote to the jury vote this was the final order of the bottom 7 acts:

  1. Karl-Kristjan & Whogaux feat. Maian – ‘Have you now’
  2. Ivo Linna – ‘Suur lotteri’
  3. Ariadne – ‘Feel me now’
  4. Liis Lemsalu – ‘Keep running’
  5. Lenna Kuurmaa – ‘Slingshot’
  6. Daniel Levi – ‘All I need’
  7. Elina Born – ‘In or out’

It then went to the public vote only for 15 minutes for a super final and this was the result meaning Koit Toome & Laura won the ticket to Kyiv (although they had a scary moment when the hosts pretended to et the envelopes muddled up in an Oscars joke)

  1. Koit Toome & Laura – ‘Verona’ – with 55% of the vote
  2. Kerli – ‘Spirit animal’
  3. Rasmus Rändvee – ‘This love’

Koit Toome has previously represented Estonia in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1998 with the song ‘Mere Lapsed’, where he finished 12th.

Koit Toome & Laura will perform in the second half of the second semifinal of the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, on 11th May.

Well done to Eesti Laul for such an excellent bigger show this year.

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

96 comments on “Estonia: It’s Koit Toome & Laura to Kyiv!

  1. 1)Italy
    2)France
    3)Belarus
    4)Latvia
    5)Hungary
    6)Moldova
    7)Poland
    8)Ukraine
    9)Cyprus
    10)Austria
    11)Estonia
    12)Switzerland
    13)Finland
    14)UK
    15)Denmark
    16)The Netherlands
    17)Germany
    18)Malta
    19)Albania
    20)Slovenia
    21)Georgia
    22)Spain
    23)Croatia

  2. don’t know if that’s an interesting or a “fun” fact at all, but my bottom 3 is the last three songs picked! and Dk and Slovenia, who were recently picked, are next!

  3. My favourite won! Hurray !!!!!!!
    TOP 10
    1. Italy
    2. Estonia
    3. Denmark
    4. Hungary
    5. Finland
    6, Moldova
    7. Poland
    8. Uk
    9. Latvia
    10. Switzerland

  4. Not happy with this year’s Eurovision at all! :(
    Top 10 for now:
    1. United Kingdom 8/10
    2. Italy 7/10
    3. Moldova 7/10
    4. Georgia 7/10
    5. France 7/10
    6. Albania 7/10
    7. Poland 6/10
    8. Belarus 6/10
    9. Denmark 6/10
    10. The Netherlands 6/10
    At this stage I don’t even know what to expect from other countries. :/

    • I know I’m expecting the best from yours.. ;)

      • Hi. I am not excited for our representative tbh.. I already expect her to pull out a swedish ballad at its worst (Mello reject). I am sure ITV won’t let her to try something in her own style (hope I’m wrong tho).

        Btw, are you from Sweden? “Statements” was my favourite in this year’s MF. Pity she couldn’t even make it to the finals.

        • hehehhe, no I’m from Serbia! Belgrade! :) Where Azerbaijan begun it’s ESC history.. :)

          • Oh, that’s cool! I used to like Serbian entries in ESC. Sanja was my 4th last year. :$ What do you think about Tijana? Might it be Belgrade 2018? :p

            • Hmmm very hard, it’s a good singer, but she goes for foreign team of composers..some Swedish and Bulgarian one who composed for Poli Genova last year, we will see…glad you liked Sanja, it was such a great performance and quality composition IMO! :) I still have good feeling for DIHAJ! Sabina Babayeva’s entry in Baku was one of my all time ESC faves..Dilara Kazimova’s song is MAGNIFICENT too, I still listen to it in studio version, and the lyrics are among the best in ESC ever, but I don’t like her live performance in ESC :( it was weak live.. :(

          • Well, “When the music dies” is our best Eurovision entry ever IMO. I also agree with you about Dilara, I liked the song in studio version (very much), but live performance was really bad. I was actually afraid that she might end up in Top 5 lol. that would be awkward.

            Good luck to Tijana and Serbia! I look forward to hear the song (plz, be good lol).

  5. You should get lost in Kiev as well.

  6. Full breakdown of the results :

    http://esctoday.com/142179/estonia-eesti-laul-2017-voting-breakdown-released/

    Rasmus actually outvoted Kerli in televoting in the semi ! The final was kind of a landslide though for “Verona”.

    • Rasmus did beat Whogaux in the final, but Ivo was really close to Kerli in the final! And he won televote in the first semi! Though most televoters favorite (Verona, Kerli, Rasmus) were in the second semi, with only Ivo and Ariadne (who was second chance) from first semi.

  7. I have watched the live performance again but alas, I can’t really put my finger to what bugs me here. I just don’t enjoy watching them perform, in particular the many close-ups of their faces … and the reason is not that I think they are ugly. LOL It’s sth else … *clueless*

    • To me it seemed like they posed mostly for themselves and not for the song

      • Probably.

        I think I’ll comment on PB tonight … :(

        • We need every family member here :(

          • I would love to comment here but I do not understand the editing policies anymore. I don’t want to tell the whole story but perhaps you realised that I haven’t replied to a certain user’s replies for some time, even if I thought them offensive, because the editors asked me to do so. And now look what has happened today. This whole space seems to be designed to make one person feel comfortable these days.

  8. They really are great singers! Their song is quite nice. Best of luck to Estonia and Koit & Laura from your dear neighbour, Finland! :) http://jake.suntuubi.com/

  9. This song is currently one of my favourites, though live it could be different in Kiev, I really hope they bring a beautiful staging :-) Top 5 to me!

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

