32 Comments

Iceland: 12 Finalists Revealed


Iceland.jpgIceland – National broadcaster, RUV ,has revealed the 12 finalists for this year’s Söngvakeppnin national selection process. Returning faces include Daði Freyr, and Páll Rósinkrans. There’s a shiny new website here, and you can listen to all 12 songs in both Icelandic and English.  

Here’s the 12 acts

  • Linda Hartmanns – ‘Ástfangin‘ (Obvious Love) 
  • Hildur – ‘Bammbaramm
  • Svala Björgvinsdóttir – ‘Ég veit það‘ (Paper) 
  • Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson & Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir – ‘Heim til þín‘ (Get Back Home) 
  • Daði Freyr Pétursson – ‘Hvað með það?’ ( Is This Love?)
  • Rúnar Eff – ‘Mér við hlið‘  (Make your way back home)
  • Aron Hannes –  ‘Nótt‘ (Tonight) 
  • Sólveig Ásgeirsdóttir – ‘Treystu á mig‘ (Trust in me) 
  • Aron Brink – ‘Þú hefur dáleitt mig‘ (Hypnotised) 
  • Páll Rósinkranz og Kristina Bærendsen – ‘Þú og ég‘ (You and I)

iceland 2017.png


Semi-final 1 will take place on 25th February 2017 and semi-final 2 on 4th March 2017. Three songs chosen by the public from each semi-final will go through the Söngvakeppnin final on 11th March 2017. RUV can add an extra song to the final, indicating that they may send a wildcard.

32 comments on “Iceland: 12 Finalists Revealed

  1. I’ve gone through these 12 hopefuls again this morning, in my kitchen, listening to the English versions; the general level is above average and quite homogenous. These are my 5 favourite songs (this is my first attempt at a ranking, before the crucial live performances):

    1. Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir – Bammbaramm / Bammbaramm
    2. Daði Freyr Petúrsson – Hvað með það? / Is this love?
    3. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – Ég veit það / Paper
    4. Aron Brink –Þú hefur dáleitt mig / Hypnotised
    5. Sólveig Ásgeirsdóttir – Treystu á mig / Trust in me

    I much prefer the Icelandic versions, except, perhaps, when it comes to Aron’s song. Good luck, Iceland!

  2. My ranking :
    1. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – ‘Ég veit það‘ (Paper) – reminds me of Margaret Berger’s “Feed you my love ” – a slower version though – the best in the field
    2. Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir – Bammbaramm / Bammbaramm – a dull song but it’s so sweet – much preferred the icelandic version
    3. Linda Hartmanns – ‘Ástfangin‘ (Obvious Love)
    4. Aron Brink – ‘Þú hefur dáleitt mig‘ (Hypnotised) – winner alert
    5. Erna Mist Pétursdóttir – Skuggamynd
    6. Páll Rósinkranz og Kristina Bærendsen – ‘Þú og ég‘ (You and I)

    mediocre and generic songs, ..
    Don’t forget to mention: Go Demy :)

    • I have to disagree on the mediocre and generic songs bit; maybe my standards are less high this year when too much blandness exists, but I think that this bunch is above average without reaching the quite good level. I am using the Icelandic versions as a starting point. Just think about the Spanish NF and that will do the trick. lol

      It’s time for coffee outside in the blazing winter sun. See you later for A Dal 17.

    • Ι like “Paper” and “Bammbaramm” too. On the other hand I hope they are not going to choose “Hypmotised”. Did not bother with the icelandic versions, since we all know they are not going to send them to ESC.

      And of course go go Demy :)

  3. I went through the english versions, it made more sense as one of those will be going to esc most likely.

    It is an ok bunch of songs, nothing bad per se. There were better years though for Iceland.

    My favourites are
    “Get Back Home”
    “Hypnotised”
    “I ll be gone”
    “Is This Love ?” (“I didnt know this feeling was a feeling I was capable of feeling” is quite the line btw)
    “Get Back Home”

    I kinda like “Tonight” as well but it’s so-so.
    The other 6 did little to nothing to me.

    IMO at this stage Aron Brink seems like an obvious favourite.

    Good luck Iceland !

  4. well maybe I’m getting old and therefore nicer, but I genuinely liked the line-up. A lot of “charming” and “harmless” songs. True, none to go crazy for and maybe we expect more from Iceland, but there isn’t anything awful if you ask me! The production value is high, the promo work is of high standards, the diversity is also there.

    I LIKE
    01 Daði Freyr Petúrsson – Hvað með það?
    02 Svala Björgvinsdóttir – Ég veit það
    03 Aron Brink –Þú hefur dáleitt mig
    04 Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson & Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir – Heim til þín
    05 Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir – Bammbaramm
    06 Aron Hannes Emilsson – Nótt

    IT’S OK
    07 Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir – Til mín
    08 Erna Mist Pétursdóttir – Skuggamynd
    09 Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson – Mér við hlið
    10 Sólveig Ásgeirsdóttir – Treystu á mig
    11 Linda Hartmanns – Ástfangin

    I DIDN’T LIKE
    12 Pall Rósinkranz & Kristina Bærendsen – Þú og ég

    However, I listened to the English versions and they’re often tighter and you get the idea they were written for them… and yet most of the time some charm is gone and most lyrics are bad. Most importantly favorite Svala’s version is “Paper”, the lyrics are plain awful :/

    • I agree … but then I have been older for quite some time now. LOL
      It is a very even field imo, and almost all songs got a 7/12 from me. “Hvað með það?”, “Ég veit það” and “Bammbaramm” currently stand at 8/12 on my list, and “Nótt” hovers somewhere between 7 and 8. I expect the frolic “Þú hefur dáleitt mig” to win the ticket to Kiev, and with a happy and colourful performance (not over the top) it might actually do quite well imo.

  5. I listened to all of the Icelandic versions and I really liked Svala, Arnar & Rakel, Aron Hannes, and Linda. The only ones I didn’t really like were Pall & Kristina and Rúnar.

    The only English version I listened to was Svala’s. While I’m hearing a lot about the bad lyrics, they didn’t bother me at all. Obviously, they were no poetic masterpiece, but nothing that made me say “wow these are bad”.

  6. I have listened to all 24 songs, my faves are in this order:
    1. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – “Paper”
    2. Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson – “Make Your Way Back Home”
    3. Aron Brink – “Hypnotised”
    4. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – “Ég veit það”
    5. Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir – “Til mín”
    6. Linda Hartmanns – “Ástfangin”
    7. Linda Hartmanns – “Obvious love”
    8. Aron Brink – “Þú hefur dáleitt mig”
    9. Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir – “Agian”
    10. Aron Hannes Emilsson – “Tonight”
    11. Sólveig Ásgeirsdóttir – “Trust In Me”

  7. Very happy with this Nordic pop selection from Iceland:

    Hypnotised
    Paper
    Toinight

    Prefer them in English and I like them actually quite a lot, especially Hypnotised (even though it might be just the promise of summer and endless white nights in it) 😃

    Very glad about natural voice production in all of them, so they are doable live to begin with.

  8. Listening to Svala’s “Paper” over and over i’m confident now that with this song Iceland can really stand out in Kiev ! The song has great potential ! Svala’s voice is flawless and with a good -dark-atmospheric- staging a great result won’t be a surprise! Fingers crossed !

    • I think it’s over polished and misses any dark element to make a VAST impression. I will agree with Morgan here, that it’s another “Ice Breaker”
      Maybe I need more listenings (just 3 atm)

  9. A safe, harmless bunch of songs for Iceland. Listened mostly to the English versions. Can’t decide atm. I will probably need to listen to LIVE performances before deciding.
    Good luck Iceland !!!

  10. A very nice bunch of songs. I think Svala’s song is the strongest.

  11. For now I just listened to the English versions, nothing really stands out at the moment.
    So far I like “Get back home”, “Bammbaramm”,”Hypnotised”,”I’ll be gone”.

    Conflicted on “Paper”.

  12. I do agree with some people saying that Iceland has offered better NFs in the past. Yet, there is one strong song; ”Paper”.

Leave a Reply

