13 Comments

Best Performance 2016: and the Frida goes to…


FridaEurovision Times Awards 2016 – Every year, the summer is the calm after the storm so it’s the perfect time to resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes to the best in every category! After a week in this category, it’s time to announce the winner and hand out the Frida. So who will win?

~

Artistic Awards

Best Performance

TheET Awards five entries nominated were:

  • Armenia‘s Iveta Mukuchyan at the Grand Final
  • Bulgaria‘s Poli Genova at the Grand Final
  • Georgia‘s Young Georgian Lolitaz at the Grand Final
  • Latvia‘s Justs Sirmais at the Grand Final
  • Ukraine‘s Jamala at the Grand Final and Reprise

 

And the Frida goes to…

UKRAINE

1944” was performed by Jamala. Representing Ukraine in the Eurovision Song Contest 2016, it was written and composed by Jamala herself. It won with 534 points. Nominated a record of ten times overall in ET Awards 2016 (the same as the Common Linnets in 2014 and Loïc Nottet in 2015), “Best Composition” is its second so far! Congratulations!

You can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 51 recommendations for 15 countries in the first round and 154 votes were cashed in an open poll, in exactly one week, among the 5 nominees. The complete detailed results will be announced once all polls are closed so in another week!

Now let’s watch the winning entry once more, for Jamala’s performance:

13 comments on “Best Performance 2016: and the Frida goes to…

  1. Not my personal winner here. Like Marc P, I’m one of the rare cases who prefer the song to the performance…

    • I am also one of those people. When an artist pours too much pathos into a performance, they risk crossing the fine line into bathos. Even though I must admit her heavy-handed, take-no-prisoners approach might have worked in the end. My bf told me that the first time he really “got” the song was during the live performance, even though I tortured him incessantly with it for three months prior to the contest. So perhaps she really did need to spell it out to the audience in a way that was not quite that subtle for my taste.

      Speaking of bf, 2016 was the time I got my revenge after all! Last year he was #TeamMans, I was #TeamIlVolo and he completely dismissed my complaints about the juries overruling the televote.This year he was #TeamSergey, I was #TeamJamala and now he finally knows how the shoe feels on the other foot ; )

  2. A deserving winner.This was by far the best performance of the edition.

  3. The best performance by a mile this year.

  4. Well deserved! Actually started to like the song more when I saw the live version in the swedish pre eurovision program :P

  5. I believe it is a reasonable winner. Jamala gave an emotional performance and the musical bridge was simply spine-tingling. Hhowever my vote went to Armenia which delivered the most professional stage perfomance of this edition. Every single camera shot was brilliant and you can see how much effort they had put into this by paying attention to even the slightest detail. Lightning was impeccable too! (Beat, beat, beat ;))

  6. Well it wasn’t my favourite, but it was definitely one of the best performances of the year especially in that last minute, so congrats to Ukraine! :)

  7. My top 5 performances for 2016:

    1.Austria
    2.Russia
    3. Bulgaria
    4.Lithuania
    5. Australia

  8. I don’t even remember what I voted here…

  9. Excellent choice. Congrats!

  10. I just noticed (I’ll analyze it more when all results will be out in a week), that the “Best Performance” Frida has always gone either to the esc winner (Conchita in 2014, Jamala in 2016) or to the “Best Entry” winner in the end (Norway in 2013, Belgium in 2015) and both these years the esc winner came second (Denmark in 2013, Sweden in 2015)… So I guess it is clear, even for ET regulars, that a winner is first of all a great/good performance…

Leave a Reply

