79 Comments

ET Awards 2016: Most Underrated!


fridas 2016Eurovision 2016 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we resume the polls with the two categories focused on unfair results!

2016 will be the fourth year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here, the 2014’s ones here, and the 2015’s ones here). As with the past few years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The sixteenth award is in the “Result” category and it’s “Most Underrated”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 10 Latvia
  • 5 Estonia
  • 5 Germany
  • 5 Iceland
  • 3 Cyprus
  • 3 Georgia
  • 3 Hungary
  • 2 Croatia
  • 2 Italy
  • 2 Montenegro
  • 2 San Marino
  • 2 Serbia
  • 2 Spain
  • 2 United-Kingdom
  • 1 Albania
  • 1 Czech Republic
  • 1 Netherlands
  • 1 Norway
  • 1 Switzerland

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which entry was the most underrated this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

 

 

 

  • Estonia‘s last place in semifinal 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to watch very carefully the videos before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

 

79 comments on “ET Awards 2016: Most Underrated!

  1. This is actually difficult. I think they all deserved to do better (except perhaps the Croatian song which I find rather bland). I will rest on it and come up with a decision.

    • You know me, I also think Georgia was underrated but unlike these 5 no one expected it to actually even qualify so we’re LESS sad about its result than these 5…

      • Same here, I didn’t expect it to do better than that, and it was a big relief for me personally when they were announced as finalists. We are speaking of a genre which is mostly listened to by people who probably don’t watch Eurovision.

  2. Iceland !!!
    Estonia was creepy LIVE and Croatia/Germany opted for the WTF outfit.
    Latvia scored more or less ok provided the fact the song was not as strong as Love injected.
    On the other hand I do like both the Icelandic song AND performance but I know the copy cut approach hindered their chances!

    • and Greta ruins every song she performs

      • Only the outfit this time :P

        • nope, her facials were very offputting! and in 2012 without jonsi she would already have caused an upset! she’s a good songwriter, but an AWFUL performer! Like, one of the 5 worst of the year for instance! I wasnt surprised at all it failed. After seeing Estonia’s rehearsal, I wasnt surprised either, but it was a shocker compared to the Eesti Laul performance…

          • But her whole performance this time was not based on her facials like in 2012. She was clever enough to go for a darker performance, and larger shots PLUS a screen show to distract from her performing weaknesses. The overall result was more than good imo. But I can see why it failed.

  3. As much as I’d want to vote for Estonia here (though with that suit it was Jüri who should have been considering performing naked instead. Not to mention the did-we-learn-nothing-from-Getter-Jaani magic card trick), I go for Croatia, which was song wise lovely, vocally impressive but visually saddening.

  4. All five were underrated imo. Went for Estonia.

  5. Latvia. That song and performance deserved top ten at the very least.

    All the other failures made some sort of sense, even if some deserved at least a little more than they got.

  6. This is a tough one. Latvia should’ve been easily in top 5 imo while Estonia should’ve been in the final. I’ll go with Latvia because it actually did nothing wrong to deserve to be underrated in any way (on the contrary) while Estonia looked and sounded disappointing.

    I think Estonia is gonna win though with Iceland coming 2nd who also should’ve qualified as well.

    Germany definitely didn’t deserve that last place imo, but it was expected nevertheless. I’m surprised to see Croatia here though. For me it can be considered underrated only because it was one of the fan favourites before the contest, but as for what it deserved, imo its placing was spot on (considering how it looked and sounded in the final).

  7. Latvia. Still shocked how “professional” juries snubbed the only truly contemporary and up to date pop song in the competition.

    • Good point. I’m not usually a fan of contemporary chart music, but I did love Latvia and agree that it sounded modern to me and you’re right to question the juries’ judgement.

  8. This is one of the harder categories, but it’s kinda funny that we entertain ourselves by trying to assess what most disappointed us about the contest!

    Croatia never climbed out of the ‘meh’ bucket for me and, if anything, I would point in their direction when pining over more deserving entries that stalled at the semis.

    Estonia was my second favourite going into the start of the contest and I was astonished that it didn’t get through, but as documented here many times, the excellent song was undermined by unsettling mannerisms, creepy sneery face and unsavoury finger business. He also needs to refine his voice control, especially in the lower register. It still deserved a place in the final far more than Croatia and others.

    Germany coming last was an outrage! Jamie-Lee is adorable and she had a subtle, slow-burning song that was melodic, sad and catchy. When I look at what beat it, I am appalled. Yes, I’m still looking at you, Croatia!

    Iceland missing the final was a bit of a surprise. I wasn’t that keen on the song as it felt to me like a poor woman’s Emmelie De Forest, but it was more deserving than several songs that made it through the first semi and was enhanced by the staging and effects.

    Latvia was my second favourite going into the final, so 15th here is quite disappointing. At least it beat flippin’ Croatia!

    Overall, my heart goes out to the lovely Jamie-Lee. I just hope she is not too discouraged by this unjust result.

  9. I love Latvia but it was closer to the actual result it deserved than Estonia or Germany for sure.

    My vote has to go to Estonia though – and Switzerland which may not be nominated but it was equally underrated.
    Nothing explains the last place in the semi imo.

  10. Now in my opinion only one songs actually feels underrated and thats Iceland!
    I get why the creepy and awkward performance from Juri failed, but kinda shocked it didn’t score better with the jury, so this would have been my second choice.
    I have Latvia in my 33 place and I still felt ok that it came 15, hell it could even have gone one or two places higher, but underrated no, there were something off with that song being performed on stage.
    Croatia was not as strong as in the semi, but it should have deserved maybe a little more praise then it got.
    Germanys performance was simply awful, but her vocals was on point, last place no, somewhere close to last place yes.

  11. Off Topic: So I have created this spreadsheets thats gonna be called (for now) ETESC 2016 Top haha XD I have begun by giving my top ten of this season as a start, but hopefully enaugh of you guys will join and give me your top ten of the season as well :D! Now this is supposed to be a fun thing to see how we as a jury would have given our points this contest! All of the countries who performed are present, even the ones who failed to get to the final.

    This will just be an experiment at first to see how many of you guys are interested in this (imo awesome) idea! Now almost all of you guys and me included have a top ten of this season so I thaught why not use it for something exciting ;)
    This is my (after-the-contest) top 10:

    1. Ukraine
    2. Australia
    3. Bulgaria
    4. Hungary
    5. France
    6. Italy
    7. Cyprus
    8. Iceland
    9. Armenia
    10. Croatia

    If you’re interested in this please give your points as a reply to this comment or send an email with your points and avatar name/alias to schultze94@gmail.com.

    May the best ETESC 2016 song win! :D

    • 1 Latvia 2 Ukraine 3 Georgia 4 Sweden 5 Australia 6 Estonia 7 Croatia 8 Austria 9 France 10 Netherlands… and a little nod to Lithuania, Serbia, Italy and Montenegro, just outside my top 10

    • Sounds fun, Here’s my top 20 :
      1.Armenia
      2.Ukraine
      3.Georgia (++ after Live)
      4.Bulgaria (+ after live)
      5.Iceland
      6.Latvia (++ )
      7.Germany
      8.Montenegro
      9.Estonia (- -)
      10.Austria
      11.Netherlands
      12.Hungary
      13.Italy (-)
      14.Croatia
      15.Belgium
      16.Lithuania (+)
      17.Serbia (-)
      18.Norway (-)
      19.Australia
      20.Azerbaijan (- -)

    • 1.Ukraine
      2.Hungary
      3.Israel
      4..Bulgaria
      5.Iceland
      6.Italy
      7.France
      8.Armenia
      9.Australia
      10.Austria

    • It is a great idea indeed! Of course if we were juries we would rank all songs (I have my personal full ranking in my profile page).

      For now, this is my top-10 this year.

      #1Ukraine
      #2 Austria
      #3 France
      #4 Hungary
      #5 Italy
      #6 Russia
      #7 Croatia
      #8 Bulgaria
      #9 Australia
      #10 Lithuania

      • Of course! I just wanted to make an experiment first to see how many were interested and it seems a lot of you guys were ^-^ So I will think about any changes in (hopefully) future editions :D

    • Fantastic idea! Is top 10 enough?
      1. Russia
      2. Latvia
      3. Armenia
      4. Lithuania
      5. Italy
      6. Austria
      7. Bulgaria
      8. Croatia
      9. Serbia
      10. San Marino

      • Yes! Perfect, will think about if we want full rankings in the future, but for now the top ten will be enough ^^

    • I havent yet made my post contest ranking so I cannot participate as of now..! Hopefully soon enough !

    • Ah, fun idea, and required a bit of thought as I’d not revised my list since before the final, so now Estonia can go back in!

      After some careful deliberation, my Top 10 is:

      1. Ukraine
      2. Latvia
      3. Estonia
      4. Belgium
      5. Germany
      6. Russia
      7. Australia
      8. Bulgaria
      9. Netherlands
      10. Georgia

      …and the rest of my Top 20 is:

      11. Cyprus
      12. San Marino
      13. Spain
      14. France
      15. Armenia
      16. Montenegro
      17. Israel
      18. Azerbaijan
      19. Poland
      20. Sweden

      Off you fly, my pretties, into the Spreadsheet Of Amazecakes!

      • Oops, I have cruelly overlooked the Nordics! I liked Iceland, Finland and Norway more than Sweden, although since Frans lived in Croydon, I think we in the UK can claim his fifth place as a national victory…

        Revised 11-20:
        11. Cyprus
        12. San Marino
        13. Spain
        14. France
        15. Armenia
        16. Montenegro
        17. Iceland
        18. Finland
        19. Norway
        20. Israel

    • Here’s my top 10:

      1. Latvia
      2. France
      3. Armenia
      4. Bulgaria
      5. Georgia
      6. Australia
      7. Austria
      8. Belgium
      9. Croatia
      10. Lithuania

    • Stuttgart calling:

      Thank you for the wonderful show. You were truly amazing. (add artificial grin)

      1 pt – CZE
      2 pts – HUN
      3 pts – FRA
      4 pts – NED
      5 pts – CYP
      6 pts – LAT
      7 pts – ITA
      8 pts – SRB
      10 pts – GEO
      12 pts – UKR

      And this completes the results of the Ba-Wü jury. Good night and good luck to everyone.
      *fireworks in the background*

    • This is my 2016 top 10:

      1 – Ukraine
      2 – Latvia
      3 – Serbia
      4 – The Netherlands
      5 – Belgium
      6 – Italy
      7 – Georgia
      8 – Montenegro
      9 – Armenia
      10 – Estonia

    • 1. Latvia
      2. Ukraine
      3. Georgia
      4. France
      5. Netherlands
      6. Australia
      7. Armenia
      8. Hungary
      9. Lithuania
      10. Belgium

      Honourable mentions: Italy, Sweden, Germany – they were kind of at the same level with my 8th, 9th and 10th places, but I enjoyed those a bit more.

    • My top 10:

      01 Armenia
      02 France
      03 Latvia
      04 Sweden
      05 Bulgaria
      06 Australia
      07 Ukraine
      08 Germany
      09 Serbia
      10 Italy

    • Some results from Gothenburg:

      1. Ukraine
      2. Georgia
      3. Latvia
      4. FYR Macedonia
      5. The Netherlands
      6. Estonia
      7. Sweden
      8. Austria
      9. Montenegro
      10. Australia

      Just outside: Belgium, Lithuania, Serbia, Armenia, Bulgaria

  12. Offtopic, Traffic and Stig doing their EL 2012 “Für Elise”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8-VWg3Qq3E

  13. All were underrated but I voted Estonia.

  14. All were underrated, and since I could not make up my mind, I decided to do Donnie and Dimitri a favour.

  15. Between my pre-show third place (Iceland), second place (Latvia), and my first place (Germany), Iceland actually did things to make it worse and, in a way, “earned” their NQ. Did they deserve the spot more than Malta or Hungary, for example? YES. But it’s understandable why what happened did. Latvia had a song that always deserved more, but when it came to the presentation (not the vocals only, the whole package), I was really underwhelmed. Knowing Aminata’s team from the Vienna sixth place also did this makes it confusing, but only as to why they directed it so poorly. And finally, there’s Germany, who improved from the NF, did no promo because of her school obligations, and didn’t deserve a second last place. Not by a long shot. Easy decision.

  16. Latvia got my vote here. The Latvian entry is excellent stuff at different levels and it should have been rewarded accordingly, imo. Iceland came second and Croatia third. I really like Estonia 16, but that stage presentation was appallingly off-putting. I also like the German entry, but one could see it would not go far in ESC; the Germans were not wise in their choice.

  17. Off topic: So I have now calculated all the first points in the first official ETESC 2016 top and the following top 10 emerged:

    1. Ukraine: 92
    2. Latvia: 65
    3. Bulgaria: 39
    4. Georgia: 37
    5. Armenia: 35
    6. Italy: 34
    7. France: 33
    8. Australia: 29
    9. Hungary: 26
    10. Austria: 24
    (11. Russia: 22)

    10 of you have already voted and we have a clear favorite and a clear second placer by the look of things, but other then that its wide open! Amazing guys! :D I will continue to add others tommorow around the same time!

    Spreadsheet can be found on my profile or here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1rTk18Y8n03vefI-UM5dkgGshiYl-DoXqJUTxSUr2wis/edit#gid=0

    Btw guys I have also updated the mean placement sheet with all the participating countries that can also be found on my profile page or here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1NbSlnDXr_dWAH1Jsv8BPYaraT98cQ_wP53vl9irrWcw/edit#gid=0

    mmm nerdelicious…

  18. Couldn’t find out which one was more upseting for me… Bottom result of Germany or Icelandic not qualifying …. I really liked both songs . Voted for Iceland!

  19. Romania seems to be on its way to work out its debts and participate in esc 2017 :

    http://esctoday.com/136479/romania-tvrs-budget-will-used-cover-debts-ebu

  20. Amir will be erforming during the Euro 2016 opening show:
    http://esctoday.com/136462/france-amir-perform-euro2016-opening-show

  21. The votes from the Randers jury (p.t. placed in Helsinki):

    1 point: Spain
    2 points: Sweden
    3 points: Italy
    4 points: Estonia
    5 points: Bulgaria
    6 points: Netherlands
    7 points: Serbia
    8 points: Latvia
    10 points: Ukraine
    12 points: Georgia

Leave a Reply

