33 Comments

ET Awards 2016: Best Male Style!


fridas 2016Eurovision 2016 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we resume the polls with the two categories focused on style!

2016 will be the fourth year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here, the 2014’s ones here, and the 2015’s ones here). As with the past few years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The eighth award is in the “Artistic” category and it’s “Best Male Style”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 7 Latvia
  • 7 Netherlands
  • 6 France
  • 4 Hungary
  • 3 Georgia
  • 3 Russia
  • 3 San Marino
  • 2 Denmark
  • 1 Cyprus
  • 1 Estonia
  • 1 Poland
  • 1 Sweden

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which entry had the best male style this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to watch very careful to the style before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

33 comments on “ET Awards 2016: Best Male Style!

  1. On the other hand, the males had much better style this year and even entries without any recommendations, or very few, were good: Uk, Russia, Belarus, Lithuania… and of course, France, Netherlands, Latvia, Georgia, Sweden or San Marino would all make good winners! In the end, I was torn between these 6 and you have no idea how much time I spent today deciding which of the 6 Id drop: in the end, all 6 felt of a very different style, even if some are close (france-nl-san marino / sweden-georgia-latvia) but I ended up deciding between France and San Marino, because they chose the same color of a suit. And I went with the slightly fresher and more modern look of France, that also secured top 10 in both juries and televote, whereas San Marino will later get a nomination in another category to try to make up for it.

  2. I only like Amir and Douwe Bob out of the 5 nominees.The one whose outfit flattered him the most and made him hotter was Amir so my vote goes to him.Russia could have been among the 5,too,imo.

  3. Because of the hippie inside of me, it should be quite obvious which one of them suits my personal taste the most…

  4. Latvia. His outfit made him (somehow) even hotter, and fitted with the song more than some of the other nominees.

  5. All 5 nominees are good, so have to go with my personal taste in Latvias entry, really like it! I love the edgy look of it and I also like when guys have really tight pants ehe ^_^ And you all know im not the biggest Latvian supporter this year, so I really mean it when I write this ^-^

  6. I’m like falling in love with Justs

  7. I came here totally prepared to vote for Hovi Star! I guess I should have recommended him in the first place (though I didn’t think I’d have to). Far and away the most fabulous male outfit, and totally in keeping with the song and the staging.

    As it stands, I opted for Douwe Bob. When Douwe Bob is an option, I’ll ALWAYS go in that direction…unless Freddie is also an option ;)

  8. I feel like this is the only place online where Georgia gets any sort of appreciation. <3

  9. I voted for Justs, but the only nominee that I don’t agree with is France. I hate any time somebody pairs a white t-shirt with a blazer. It just looks tacky to me.

  10. It is of course Georgia!

  11. Amir was easily the style king of this edition. Excellent constant styling from day one, it became him. Very natural and real look. If anyone happens to know the designer of the suits I would be happy to hear it.

  12. Apart from Georgia all 4 of those could win imo.

    I am having a hard time deciding among Amir, Douwe and Frans tbh – I kind of got tired of Justs obession with leather jackets by the end of the season.

    I voted for Amir – casual but classy.

  13. Tough decision here between Latvia and Georgia, I voted for Justs. I like the other nominees as well, but I didn’t like that much the colour of Amir’s suit.

  14. Again I am tired of seeing Latvia and Georgia in all these categories they don’t belong. Amir and Douwe Bob were certainly fine, but the best dressed men in this edition were Serhat and Freddie . So again I am skipping this.

    • Freddie? the half tucked was one of the worst “gimmicks” of the year, slap worthy, hands down one of the worst dressed singer of the year

      • Freddie managed to exude smoldering sexiness without looking in the slightest way cheap. A lot of contestants (Ivetta etc) could take valuable lessons from that. He also brought a casual look and managed to add some quirkiness to it, which is quite tough for a guy to pull off.

        The one who was slap wothy with his sloppiness and bored, rude nonchalance was Frans. He also needs a good face scrub product.

  15. Went for France this time, although I wish I could have voted for San Marino :(

  16. These are all good choices imo. I also voted for sophistication here – the Netherlands.

  17. I like them all but my vote went to France’s simplicity.

  18. In other news, this is Sergey’s boyfriend according to someone who spies on both guys’ social media accounts:

    • Well,i’m not surprised.I wish them all the best but i suppose going public with it would be rather difficult.By the way,Dmitry is friends with Ilias Kokotos who’s Sergey’s manager.He often commnets on Dmitry’s photos.

  19. I would have voted for Douwe but the poll is closed :(

Leave a Reply

