72 Comments

ET Awards 2016: Best Male vocals


fridas 2016Eurovision 2016 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we open up the polls with the two “best vocals” categories!

2016 will be the fourth year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here, the 2014’s ones here, and the 2015’s ones here). As with the past few years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The second award is in the “Technical” category and it’s “Best Male Vocals”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 13 Latvia
  • 9 Netherlands
  • 6 Israel
  • 6 Russia
  • 4 Hungary
  • 4 Lithuania
  • 1 Estonia
  • 1 France
  • 1 Montenegro
  • 1 Poland

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which song had the best female vocals this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

  • Hungary‘s Freddie at the Grand Final

 

 

 

  • Israel‘s Hovi Star at the Grand Final

 

 

 

  • Latvia‘s Justs Sirmais at the Grand Final

 

 

 

  • Lithuania‘s Donny Montell at the Grand Final

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to listen very careful to the vocal performances before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

72 comments on “ET Awards 2016: Best Male vocals

  1. For fairness, I won’t say for which I have voted! However, I can say there are THREE really GREAT male vocalists this year, and the other two I nominated because they were a bit better than the rest…

  2. Where can I vote?

  3. You have Hovi, wobbly and shaky singer and you don’t have Sergey. A bit biased here, are we?
    Donny, of course.

  4. Hungary’s Freddie for me!The Netherlands and Lithuania both had good lives but the songs weren’t vocally demanding and the stand-out element of their overall performance wasn’t the vocal part.Latvia was strong but imo Justs should have controlled his vocals better.It was over the top at some point.Hovi was great too and my second favorite of the bunch.

  5. I won’t vote in this one bacause Russia had the best male vocals by a mile imo. (I don’t like the song at all though …) From the middling bunch we have here my vote would have gone to Lithuania but alas Donny’s vocals are always technically perfect but with 0 % personality.

  6. Latvia – without any doubt.

  7. Justs was fantastic, totally sold me on this song, so he gets my vote. I thought Hovi and Douwe were great, Freddie and Donny were pretty good.

  8. After 13 votes, everyone got at least one vote: 7+2+2+1+1

  9. And let the Latvian fanwank begin! He went way over the top in his vocals and it felt a bit uncontrolled at times :/ So I guess I will be dissapointed this year again in the vocal section (sigh) I went with Hungary myself. His performance in semi final 1 was simply breathtaking!

    • Hope you wont be disappointed because of me!

      • Haha no of course not lulz! :) It is just my point of veiw and clearly many like Latvia, so I respect that, but I still want to raise my veiws on the matter ;)
        It is kinda sad doh to see you get a lot of hate yet again in the comments above :/
        I mean I nominated Russia myself, but you dont see me getting all riled up.

  10. I don’t deny Freddie was handsome but wasn’t great vocally! I think Sergey should be here insted (just for justice)! Taking into account my very limited knoledge about the leve of the dificulty of the songs performed I voted for Hovi (though I wanted to vote for the Netherlands soooo much) !

  11. Russia was fine but nothing memorable. He does deserve praise for performing with that choreography, though. However, it did hamper his vocals and they knew that going in, so they won’t be getting any sympathy from me. I’m a bit disappointed to see Poland miss a nomination, but oh well.

    1) Justs (Latvia)
    2) Douwe Bob (the Netherlands)
    3) Donny Montell (Lithuania)
    4) Hovi Star (Israel)
    5) Freddie (Hungary)

    Hopefully a Frida will be on its way to Riga with a nice bow on it in a few weeks. Justs got right on the edge of over the top but toed the line wonderfully and it resulted in the best vocals of the year. Douwe Bob was also notably strong in the vocal department, although “Slow Down” wasn’t really a song that relied on vocal delivery. Donny Montell turned his pretty boring song into one of, if not the, best performance of the year, so he deserves props. Hovi backed out of the big note toward the end of his song, so he lost some points for that with me. Finally, Freddie failed to do what Justs did and came off as shouty more than I would’ve liked. It didn’t help that I also hated “Pioneer.” :P

  12. Had to go for Hovi.

  13. I don’t like Hovi, but admittedly he was vocally marvelous. So hi got my vote.

  14. I loved Sergey, one of my favourite entries ever for many reasons, but I certainly wouldn’t have nominated him for best vocals. He did brilliantly to hold the notes with everything he was doing but it wasn’t stunning enough to warrant this award imo, and I am a bit surprised at some of the reactions on the thread tbh.

    I voted Hovi, he constantly improved and performed beautifully on the night.

    Justs a close second for the passion he put into his vocals.

  15. I voted for Freddie, one of those very rare raw gems that comes along once in a blue moon. I agree that Sergey should have been in the line-up – it was even more impressive that he could deliver like he did while going through a very demanding performance. You don’t get many showmen like him who can also sing like he does. Poland probably also deserved a nod instead of Holland or Israel (why on earth are those two here?)

    As for Justs his whole performance was an overkill, including his singing which should have been toned down – a lot. As it was, I don’t see any difference between him and Dami’s “quality screaming”. To my ears they both sounded equally cold and unfeeling.

    As I read somewhere, Justs screams and shouts “Feeling your heartbeat” like the most grating cardiologist you have ever met :)

  16. I wanted to vote for Douwe but the comments convinced me to vote for Justs.

    And no Russia has no place in this category. I know we are close to a point where whatever the holy cow televoting is likes will not be allowed to receive criticism but it would be an insult to great singers we had this year if he was nominated.

    Justs showcased robust and passionate yet controlled vocals – something admirable. Douwe showcased technique and pure proffesionalism. Hovi was a bit over the top but he is a great singer as well, same as Freddie.

  17. Glad to see Hovi nominated. I voted for him!

  18. I voted for the Netherlands, because Douwe also oozed class, prefessionalism and talent (having a not very strong song to sing to boot). Russia’s and Hungary’s presence surpised me a lot this time, because they both sounded flat as pancakes, due to a lack of singing voice (Hungary) and to a lack of a decent melody (Russia). Montenegro deserved a nod here, imo.

    Good luck!

    • Russia hasn’t been nominated.

      • You’re so right! I have so little time to read things through here atm. Hungary’s nomination was the only one that came as a surprise then.

        P.S. – I suppose I was reacting to all the commotion about Russia posted above.

  19. I would have voted for Poland, had they been nominated. However, I voted for Donny, as he had the best vocals, in my opinion, of the nominees.

    Justs also had pretty great vocals.

  20. The male vocalists really outperformed the female ones this year, didn’t they? Both Poland and Russia would have deserved a nomination here as well, though I get why they missed out – Poland being not as good as Israel in the diva category, and Russia being not as good as Lithuania in the europop category.

    I voted for Latvia. Did he flub a note in any performance since the NF?

  21. Can’t see the poll on this thread, has it been closed?

  22. If I go into the editing part the poll link is still there, but it’s not showing up on here, I’ve no idea why, wonder if polldaddy has issues?

  23. Well I dunno what it was, not sure what I did, but the poll is back on after I twitched it here and there. But it’s the same poll so no problem.

  24. I was between Douwe and Donny. In the end went for the latter because he had a more demanding performance!

  25. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 46 recommendations for 10 countries in the first round and 165 votes were cashed in an […]

Leave a Reply

