34 Comments

ET Awards 2016: Best Female vocals


fridas 2016Eurovision 2016 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we open up the polls with the two “best vocals” categories!

2016 will be the fourth year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here, the 2014’s ones here, and the 2015’s ones here). As with the past few years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The first award is in the “Technical” category and it’s “Best Female Vocals”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 11 Ukraine
  • 9 Australia
  • 6 Czech Republic
  • 4 Serbia
  • 3 Armenia
  • 2 Albania
  • 2 FYR Macedonia
  • 1 Austria
  • 1 Bulgaria
  • 1 Croatia
  • 1 Malta

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which song had the best female vocals this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

 

 

 

  • Croatia‘s Nina Kraljić at the First Semifinal

 

 

 

 

 

  • Serbia‘s Sanja Vučić at the Grand Final

 

 

 

  • Ukraine‘s Jamala at the Grand Final

 

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to listen very careful to the vocal performances before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

34 comments on “ET Awards 2016: Best Female vocals

  1. For fairness, I won’t say for which I have voted! There are two above the rest imo, and the other three were quite distinct and interesting in their own merits… Only Austria really could have troubled this top 5 I reckon.

    PS: please note that Croatia and Czech Republic were nominated for their semifinal performances!

    • Quite right, both ladies dropped the baton in the final but their semi finals were almost flawless imo and deservedly clinched their places.

  2. Waiting for the nominees to be announced,i really like this new song from Dilara Kazimova!

  3. Ukraine’s jamala!Dami Im did her quality screaming but she was over the top at some points and it didn’t sound good.I never really warmed up to Serbia.On the other hand,i liked Gabriela.Nina was better in the semi but her performance at the final was not equally good.

  4. Except for Dami Im’s quality screaming (Hi Marko …) everyone was great. (add very happy emoji)

  5. Αustralia: more of screaming than singing.

    Croatia and Serbia: lack of consistency.

    Czech Republic and Ukraine: Both are great. Jamala though sang a more demanding song and therefore, my vote goes to Ukraine.

  6. What is Dami the wanna be diva of South Seas doing here? I thought this was about best vocals, silly me.
    Sanjha, of course.

  7. I’m surprised to see Croatia nominated, but yeah for the semifinal it makes sense.
    My vote goes to Ukraine.

  8. We were only two who wanted Kaliopi in here?

    My vote will go to Sanja Vučić. Dami Im is a good singer, but it was a bit too clean for my taste.

  9. After 19 votes, everyone got at least one vote: 7+6+3+2+1

  10. Australia hands down the best of the gals! It might not have been the best performance, but vocally it was flawless! I have a strong suspicion doh that this award season will be an anti Australian one which is kinda sad. Ukraine imo won on Jamalas amazing performance, but vocally it wasn’t really 100 %

  11. Voted for Nina.
    I think Dami shouldn’t be in this list! Her shouts were underwelming! Gabriela’s performence wasn’t that perfect. Jamala was amazing as artist and fine vocally! Missed Iveta in this list as for me LoveWave was among the hardest compositions to perform live and she did everything quite well!

  12. Despite enjoying the Armenian performance, I’m glad it didn’t make it into this top 5.

    1) Jamala (Ukraine)
    2) Gabriela Gunčiková (Czech Rep.)
    3) Sanja Vučić (Serbia)
    4) Nina Kraljić (Croatia)
    5) Dami Im (Australia)

    Jamala delivered two spellbinding performances and she should be a shoe-in here. Gabriela and Sanja were both good, but Gabriela did more to help her song (although it lacked the personality of “Goodbye,” so she did get the chance to shine more). Nina’s performance was good but the song just doesn’t fit well with her voice. Finally, there’s Dami Im, who gave the best vocal performance of the year for 90 seconds before riffing her song to death. Less is more.

  13. Sanja’s vocal in the finals resulted in me downgrading Serbia’s entry. Jamala, though I love her, was a little bit nasally/breathy. My vote goes to Dani, though I liked her semi vocals better.

  14. Imo Dami had the best vocals, even though I didn’t want Australia to win.

  15. There was no point nominating Dami for this award. The Aussie haters here will continue to call her a screaming plastic diva. We can be proud of the fact that she was 100 points in front of the others with the music professional juries.

  16. I disliked the song intensely but Dami’s vocals were impressive and in a different league to most of the others imo so she got my vote.

  17. I am not entirely sure why Croatia is nominated here tbh. Nina was good but Zoe for example was better.

    That said my vote here will go to Dami – I love Jamala but she will win this anyway so I ll support another great artist :-)

  18. I voted for Jamala of course, but I wish Zoe was in the line-up as well – she deserves it.

    As for Dami Im and Gabriella since the category is “best vocals” I guess they could be in. But if we are talking about “best interpretation” then I have serious doubts- they had the skills but failed to convince me emotionally. Note that the “interpretation” of a song is different than an artist’s “performance” which to me means charisma, the ability to convince the audience that your personality is one with what you are singing (and in that measure in my mind Austria, Bulgaria and Lithuania where head and shoulders above the rest).

  19. Jamala gave us a masterclass in range and voice control.

    She began the song softly, richly in low register, kicked it up an octave for the second verse, dropped it right down for the heart-breaking middle bit, gave it a load of welly for the climax, reached those dizzying high notes with astonishing control and restraint, then brought it back beautifully for the quiet ending.

    No screeching, no straining, no off notes. Textbook.

  20. I am not sure if I am going to be able to vote in all the categories, but I’ll do my very best to do so.

    Ukraine got my vote, because Jamala oozed class, professionalism and taelnt; she really nailed it vocally and visually. I understand why all the singers were nominated. Well, Croatia surprised me a bit; Albania and Austria were more effective vocally, imo.

    Good luck!

  21. Guys, you must keep voting in this! It’s only a 3pt difference!

  22. I didn’t find any of the female vocalists particularly strong this year. Nina was great in the semi-final, and I was far from a fan going into the contest, so I guess I’ll vote for her here.

  23. Ukraine, who else?!!!
    I miss Austria here :P

  24. Dami im had the best vocals and the most hardest to sing. Jamala was hopeless sorry.

  25. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 41 recommendations for 10 countries in the first round and 164 votes were cashed in an […]

Leave a Reply

