201 Comments

Recap of Rehearsals Day 1


eurovision sweden 2016Eurovision 2016 – With two weeks to go to the contest, daily rehearsals start today and of course the Eurovision Times will do its best to cover them; here’s for the first rehearsals to the first half of semifinal 1: pics and vids have been officially released, so tell us what you think so far!

This is how it works: for each country, you can click on the picture to see a full photoset, or in the song’s title to watch the recap video (the artist’s name will redirect you to the participant’s official page on Eurovision.tv).

So that’s it for today’s rehearsals. Tomorrow, there’ll be 10 more (the last 9 from semi 1 and Sweden). So stay tune!

 

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

201 comments on “Recap of Rehearsals Day 1

  1. I think at this point it may be worth mentioning is that Sweden won the jury vote last year probably because “Heroes” was a well made CONTEMPORARY song, something Russia does not have this year, accompanied by a RELEVANT stage presentation, unlike the “throw everything on the wall and see what sticks” approach of russia 16. Naturally it should not fare as well as “Heroes” with juries and I am confident it wont.

    But then the same people will come around bashing them for anti russian bias. You cant win with the televoting lovers.

    Goodnight !

    • I’m with you. I think Russia will be massive in televote, especially Eastern European votes, but not that hihg in juries :o

    • You still think that only diaspora and neighbors will push armenia to final?

      • Probably. And Greece will qualify because ”it is just Greece”.

        • Let’s wait then :) Today Iveta shadowed the press, and yes unlike France she has biased votes in her arsenal. Since begining I used to say that this song is for ESC performance and not for Audio. .. And feedback proves that Iveta is going to be the one stealing points from Russia in postsoviet. .. btw I’m so happy that I followed the advise of dmitris being for Greece’ qualification …. Something I belleved since song was released

      • What does Armenia has to do with my comment ? Oh right nothing.

        Anyway my thoughts on the armenian rehearsal are on this thread you can read them. It was my No 5 out of 8 rehearsals yesterday.

  2. Finland : NQ
    Greece : ?
    Moldova : NQ
    Hungary : Q
    Croatia : ?
    Netherlands : Q
    Armenia : TOP 5
    San Marino : NQ
    Russia : TOP 5

  3. Fanwanking over Freddie who’s so lovely and eloquent,i realized i know him even before A Dal this year.I heard his fisrt single written by Andras last year while searching for an ETSC entry. :-o

  4. Just today I finally got to finish listening to the entries. Those afternoons I had off a few years ago are a thing of the past. I have to actually work in my new job. But I do love my new job.

    Haven’t watched any of the videos as I just got home.
    I got a skeleton of a top 5 finally. Austria and Switzerland will be 1-2.

    I just need to place the other 3, Finland making a return to the top 5, FYROM for the first time, and The Netherlands after a year absence. A male act in the top 5 is a rare occurrence. It sounds like a theme song from a 70’s. Not a bad thing at all.

    I’m probably going next year. Although Russia is better, it’s a bitch getting a visa to Russia with an American passport (and expensive too, around 250 euros). Plus I’ve never been to France and that would be a hell of a trip, even though it was a real dumb move making the song bilingual. The English part is no good at all.

    A lot of countries decided to go bilingual this year, and all of them failed.

  5. Where is the article announcing that The Angel gave birth to Lil Angel, Helin, yesterday? Congrats to her!

  6. Just catching up on yesterdays’ rehearsals (and ESC in general) after a bit of a break… :)

    Finland: No changes made from the national final as far I can tell. It’s enjoyable while it lasts, and I find it better than Spain in its genre, but it doesn’t leave much an impression at all. Combined with the draw, this is sadly doomed.

    Greece: The “come on everybody let’s clap and dance together” staging format once again. I’m surprised they didn’t put Corinthian columns in the backdrop. That being said, it’s a tried and tested recipe, and combined with the diaspora vote, it should see them into the televote top ten. Whether the juries will go for it is another matter. Borderline qualifier.

    Moldova: Even with the camp astronaut this feels limp and dull. Non-qualifier.

    Hungary: Again, nothing new to report. It’s all very slick and competent, but it feels a little boring. Still a likely qualifier, though if Freddie’s vocals act up (as they did in the NF) he could be a surprise miss.

    Croatia: I’m not sure how I feel about the dress. I kind of like how strange and disproportionate it looks (then I am a fan of David Byrne) but if it’s forcing her to stand completely still it could wreck the entire performance. Clever camerawork could solve this problem, but this is borderline for now.

    Netherlands: Damn, he’s pretty. The staging looks warm and simple, I just hope the sing-along doesn’t turn out as awkward as PeR’s stage-dive in 2013. Borderline qualifier, depending on just how high the juries push it.

    Armenia: The lighting looks nice and I’m glad they didn’t get dancers (or that dumb model from the video) involved, but her dress is tacky to say the least and her vocals, while on pitch, are unpleasantly shrill. I still fail to see a top five (let alone a winner) in this, and the comparisons to Aminata are mystifying to me. Nina Sublatti seems much more apt, and I expect a similar result for Iveta. Definite qualifier and borderline top ten.

    San Marino: The ill-advised remix turned a hugely funny Leonard Cohen pastiche into a more insipid version of the UK’s 2015 entry. If Serhat qualifies, I’ll eat my hat.

    Russia: No surprises here. The kitchen-sink staging is very desperate, but unless it scores a huge victory in the televote I can’t see the jurors being inclined to vote for “Heroes” 2.0 in big enough numbers to ensure an overall win. Definite qualifier and a shoe-in for top five in the final though.

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

