16 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Douwe Bob (Netherlands)


Douwe BobNetherlands – The Dutch broadcaster AVROTROS was one of the first to announce who they would be sending to Stockholm. That person was Folk singer Douwe Bob who later revealed he would be singing his song “Slow Down” in Semi Final One

Song: “Slow Down”
Music By: Douwe Bob Posthuma, Jan-Peter Hoekstra, Jeroen Overman, Matthijs van Duijvenbode
Lyrics By: Douwe Bob Posthuma, Jan-Peter Hoekstra, Jeroen Overman

About Douwe Bob:
Douwe Bob Posthuma was born in Amsterdam and comes from a musical family. He found fame in 2012 when he took part and won the TV Talent Show De beste singer-songwriter van Nederland. Shortly after his win he released his debut album “Born in a Storm” which reached #7 in the Dutch charts. His follow up album “Pass it on” made it to the top of the album charts in 2015. This Friday Douwe Bob will be releasing his third album “Fool Bar” which features his Eurovision Song “Slow Down”.
In his spare time Douwe likes to go horse riding and has his own bar at home where he hosts his own small concerts for friends and (sometimes) fans.

Douwe Bob

Continuing the country’s run of sending folk musicians, Douwe Bob was internally selected to represent the Netherlands last year. His song “Slow Down” was co-written by himself , Jan-Peter Hoekstra, Jeroen Overman and Matthijs van Duijvenbode. The Netherlands are currently sit with the bookies 50/1 to win

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

I’m going nowhere and I’m going fast
I should find a place to go and rest
I should find a place to lay my head tonight

Every morning there’s another start
Every morning hits so hard
Guess I’m running scared guess I’m running on empty

Mister can you help me
‘Cause it seems I’ve been lead astray
I keep searching for an answer for a way
Won’t you help me

You gotta slow down brother
Slow down brother
Slow down if you can’t go on
Slow down brother
Slow down brother
Slow down if you can’t go on

Do you think I’ll ever learn
I used to be without concern
Now all I ever do don’t seem to free me

Mister can you help me
‘Cause it seems I’ve been lead astray
I keep searching for an answer today
Won’t you help me

You gotta slow down brother
Slow down brother
Slow down if you can’t go on
Slow down brother
Slow down brother
Slow down if you can’t go on

Dowe Bob on Social Media:
Facebook: Douwe Bob
Twitter: @douwe_bob
Instagram: @douwebob
Website: http://www.douwebobmusic.com/

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

16 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Douwe Bob (Netherlands)

  1. Netherlands 2016: when music can be simple AND great at the same time.
    Well done and good luck!

  2. If only he would have chosen a song like Hollywood

    Slow Down is too harmless for my taste.

  3. The Ducth entry convinced me form the very start. It’s nothing new, but it sounds relaxing and fresh and he knows how to sing it live.

  4. He’s hot, regardless of what people say, especially the tatts, of which I am a rather big fan. But the song is too repetitious for me, and doesnt seem to have a point. An album filler, not an esc entry (and there’s a big difference). It’s somewhere outside my top 10 but inside my top 15 before rehearsals. The rehearsals showed potential of a simple, str8 forward performance, which, while appreciated, could sink it outside the esc final considering televoters pattern.

  5. I agree with Shevek. A definite qualifier in my books
    Enough with bombastic songs.
    #Go#Netherlands

  6. It’s the same kind of relaxing song as the Italian entry, but I think the Dutch have done a better job with the final product. And since we have a rather poor year, The Netherlands is actually my 5th. Go “Slouwe down”, lol!

  7. I’ve grown to really love this song actually. And he’s completely gorgeous too (tattoos <3).

  8. Given Douwe’s immense charisma (both in terms of musical talent and his personality) he could be a eurovision winner with a better song. “Slow Down” is nice enough, has a relaxed attitude and distinctive musical virtues. But it’s overall not a great song for its genre. While we are discussing a potential Q for the netherlands, I cant stop thinking how an artist like Douwe (opinionated, smart, devoted to his art, knows his music) deserves much more than a simple Q and he could achieve it with a better song. Today he had the best rehearsal imo and I hope he makes it.

    Good luck !

    P.S. On a non musical note : He is insanely cute and flirty.

Leave a Reply

