32 Comments

Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Barei (Spain)


BareiSpain – Spanish Broadcaster TVE went for another National Selection to choose their representative and the victor was Barei who will be representing the nation with her song “Say Yay!”. Proving a fan favourite could Spain be looking at their 3rd Eurovision Win?

Song: “Say Yay!”
Music By: Barei, Ruben Villanueva & Victor Pua
Lyrics By: Barei, Ruben Villanueva & Victor Pua

About Barei:
Bárbara Reyzábal González-Aller was born in Madrid in 1982 to an Entrepreneurial family. She has studied singing, guitar, musical language, and piano.
She started singing for real at the age of sixteen performing at music festivals as duo Dos Puntos who she founded with fellow singer Gonzalo Nuche.
She moved to Miami in 2001 where she recorded music demo’s of the Latino Pop style. Back in Madrid Barei started singing in music halls before releasing her debut album “Billete para no volver” in 2011. In 2015 her second album “Throw the Dice” was released and she is now signed to Universal Spain

Barei

Barei took part in the Spanish Selection Objetivo Eurovision along with Electric Nana, María Isabel, Maverick, Salvador Beltrán and favourite Xuso Jones. Barei managed to beat them all after winning the public and Spanish jury vote (The international Jury gave the win to Salvador). Barei is one of this years fan favourites and the bookies have them as 12th favourites to win

Lyrics:
(Taken from Eurovision.tv)

Hello hello Mr. fighter
Look! there we go again…
Go-getters don´t forsake!
They never wallow in their fate



More than a thousand miles until the end
We´re never gonna know what lies ahead.
We only got today
to learn from our yesterday!



I feel alive bringing into play
my whole life going all the way.
I´m still alive and I turn away
from broken mirrors.
I feel alive when I dare to say
I wanna fight!
Won´t fix by running…

Say yay yay yay!
Come on and raise your battle cry!
You are the one who never dies!
Hurray! Sing it lalalala!
Go on singing lalalala!
You keep on climbing over hills!
Right now you´re following your dreams!
Hurray! Sing it lalalala! Hurray!

Say Yay Yay Yay!
Hurray!

Hello Hello Mr. Danger
No need to be afraid!
I know by heart my shades
I got the light between my breaks

More than a thousand
wounds upon my hands
of every time I fought them face to face!
We go through our mistakes
to find the way to go back straight.



I feel alive bringing into play
my whole life going all the way.
I´m still alive and I turn away
from broken mirrors
I feel alive when I dare to say
I wanna fight!
Won´t fix by running!
No won´t fix by running!

Come on and raise your battle cry!
You are the one who never dies!
Hurray! Sing it lalalala!
Go on singing lalalala!
You keep on climbing over hills!
Right now you´re following your dreams!
Hurray! Sing it lalalala! Hurray!

Barei on Social Media:
Facebook: Barei Barei
Twitter: @Barei_Music
Instagram: @bareimusic
Website: http://www.bareimusic.com/

Previously and to Come
Belgium Iceland Netherlands
Ireland Greece Slovenia
Czech Republic Lithuania Bulgaria
Latvia United Kingdom Norway
Australia San Marino Romania
Finland Denmark Armenia
Croatia Switzerland Israel
Cyprus Azerbaijan Hungary
Poland FYI Macedonia Russia
Malta Spain Belarus
Austria Montenegro Sweden
Germany Moldova Serbia
Estonia Italy Bosnia & Herzigovina
Ukraine Albania
France Georgia

32 comments on “Eurovision 2016: Spotlight on Barei (Spain)

  1. Dami Im’s top-5:
    Spain
    Sweden
    Russia
    Ireland
    Israel

  2. Wrong video in the article :P

  3. I love Barei as a performer. She owns the stage and her vocals are robust. As the months passed I learned to like “Say yay!” as well. The song is kind of below her but it bursts with energy and that highlights Barei’s performing charisma a lot.

    I expect Spain to do well this year, somewhere around their 2012 and 2014 result.

    Good luck !

  4. I remember strongly disliking every single song of the Spanish NF this year the first time I listened to them. I soon changed my mind regarding Barei’s song though.
    Good luck.

  5. Jade, will we have the Spotlight article for Montenegro too later tonight? :)

  6. It’s a bit too fast, 2 or 3 bmp, is my guess.
    That’s why the overall impression is a bit hysterical and it feel that it’s trying too hard.
    Also tempos are going down at the moment in the clubs.
    I hope there will be a proper balearic remix of the song.

  7. Absolutely winner this year , Barei deserve , hope the most diferent and actual song win , and this is this year Spain , is no fast is energetic and positive , a bit histerical??????????? she is soooooo quiet and sweeeet , pleaseee, but ok hope she have good luck

  8. I really like this jolly and bouncy song. Buena suerte!

  9. Overrated song from Spain as always…

  10. Fun, fun and, in case I wan’t clear enough, fun.

  11. I actually like Barei. Not much of the song, but it is their best entry in years.

Leave a Reply

