151 Comments

San Marino: ‘I Didn’t Know’ Goes Disco


SanMarinoSan Marino – In  surprise last minute decision, San Marino has changed the version of it song. Their representative, Serhat,  will now sing the disco version of  ‘I Didn’t Know’ in the first semi-final on the 10th of May in Stockholm. Check out the final official version now… 

 The national Sammarinese broadcaster SMTV has also said that several versions of the song will be released in different languages.

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

151 comments on “San Marino: ‘I Didn’t Know’ Goes Disco

  1. Down below are the songs currently in my top10 (no ranking):

    ESTONIA
    SERBIA
    UKRAINE
    CYPRUS
    LATVIA
    CROATIA
    ITALY
    AZERBAIJAN
    HUNGARY
    GERMANY

    And then

    the CZECH REPUBLIC
    the NETHERLANDS
    AUSTRALIA
    BULGARIA

    As for top10 prediction. I believe the following are within a chance (no order):

    France, Italy, Germany, Estonia, Latvia, Russia, Ukraine, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Serbia, Croatia, Hungary, Cyprus and why not Bulgaria – if they get it right live. Also Spain, but I need to see that one live as well.

    Winner alert: Ukraine or Australia, while I am not ruling out Russia. Hungary will be up too but not among the top3 though.

    • I see people believe Australia is a huge favorite.I can see it doing very well with the juries but i don’t think it’s a winner.

      • Agreed. Checks all the boxes, and her live performances are all solid, but it’s missing something. My top prediction (not in order):
        AZERBAIJAN (with good vocals, wherever they come from, it’s a solid top-10 and return to former glory)
        ARMENIA (diaspora + definite huge staging = good result guaranteed)
        GERMANY (the kind of music my friends listen to [15-16 year old American teens] can get a big televote)
        UKRAINE, SWEDEN and THE NETHERLANDS (all different, but being understated will stand out in the sea of big shows and big voices)
        FRANCE (great overall package, up to the delegation to be smart and not mess it up like they often do)
        RUSSIA (need I say more?)
        CZECH REPUBLIC (making it into the final would be enough, but the strongest coventional ballad this year deserves a solid placing)
        AUSTRALIA (like dimitri, jury will boost her)

  2. Going up on my list: Serbia, Latvia, Croatia.
    Going down: Estonia, Albania, Australia.

    • BiH is also going down.

    • funny, Serbia is going down and Australia going up for me. Latvia, Croatia and Estonia are all in my top 4 already ;)

      • Latvia and Croatia really puzzle me. I like both songs. But I am convinced neither by Justs and especially nor by Nina. As for Estonia, the more I listen to Play more I realize what a crime Estonia has commited by sending this over Seis.

  3. It sounds as if this Leonard Cohen imitator has found an old Baccara disco track from the late 70’s and now tries to talk-sing to it with his wannabe-sensual voice. It sounds absolutely horrible, but also a bit entertaining, just because of it. :D

  4. I have just finished my shopping list for this season’s national finals. It has never been that short before. :(

    KEØMA – Protected (GER)
    Giovanni Caccamo & Deborah Iurato – Via da qui (ITA)
    Mick Pedaja – Seis (EST)
    Kati Laev & Noorkuu – Kaugel sinust (EST)
    Gergö Oláh – Gjöz a jó (HUN)
    Parno Graszt – Már nem szédülök (HUN)
    Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný (ISL)
    Laila Samuels – Afterglow (NOR)
    The Hardkiss – Helpless (UKR)
    Tonya Matviyenko – Tin Whistle (UKR)

    And for the first time ever I don’t have a single MF song on my shopping list …

  5. The acoustic bilingual version of Italy 16:

    • I like her english voice better !$ but this doesnt help us hear the esc version yet :/

      • You have to use your imagination and mix them in one. :P
        I read that the song will be released on Friday but i don’t know what this means exactly.

    • Thanks for the link. The acoustic version is very good. The English lyrics do nothing to make the song better, imo, but one undesrtands why she insisted on having them on board. Waiting for hte ESC version.

    • She completes the Stars Trilogy. First we’re made of stars (Israel), then “we are stars aligned together dancing through the sky, we are shining” (Italy), and finally we’re falling stars (Moldova).

  6. I hope that all our Belgian friends are alright, especially Guitar and his family.

    • He is in Sweden so no worries.

    • Two citizens of Serbia who are injured were our clients, we issued tickets for them! :( But they are all right now, but I have several hotel reservations in Brussels for next days and the strangest thing is that hotels in Brussels don’t want to allow cancelation without pennalities..it’s really unbeliavable, cause airport and metro are blocked completely, EU parliament is closed, all meetings are canceled so hotels react really strange..

  7. Hey everyone. I did not happen to mention it but I was unfortunate enough to have my planned trip to Brussels for a few days today. Arrived and left the airport shortly before the events – heard the noise and I first thought it was some construction site/demolition in progress before I found out. I am shaken but I am good thankfully.
    So yeah today’s and probably tomorrow’s edition of random nf memories is off. I need to get a grip and spent some time with family.

    • Really sorry to hear that.I hope time with your family will help you calm down.I believe everyone’s thoughts tonight is with people in Belgium.

    • Take good care of yourself. Your ET family’s here too ;)

    • Very glad you just missed it and are safe. Look after each other.

      As some people know I had friends in The Bataclan in Paris, I also had many friends in Brussels for the Sisters of Mercy shows there the last 2 days, so as soon as I saw the news it all just started again. That sinking feeling and the frantic monitoring of social media and refreshing and refreshing of Facebook and Twitter until they checked in to say they were OK. They’re all OK thankfully and staying there another night.

    • I am very glad to learn that you are safe. We all need to keep a cool head, stand together and tell those bastards “no pasarán” now.

    • Oh, so you were that close to the horrific event! But glad you’re alright. Hugs!

    • Glad to know you are safe.

  8. This is really sad :(

  9. My personal prediction for first and second semifinals ( I don’t like some songs ).
    FIRST SEMI
    RUSSIA
    CROATIA
    AZERBAIJAN
    CYPRUS
    ICELAND
    HUNGARY
    ESTONIA
    AUSTRIA
    CZECH REP
    BOSNIA
    .
    2 DARK HORSES : GREECE & MALTA
    .
    NO CHANGE TO QUALIFY: SAN MARINO & MONTENEGRO
    .
    SECOND SEMI
    AUSTRALIA
    LATVIA
    SERBIA
    BULGARIA
    DENMARK
    NORWAY
    ROMANIA
    UKRAINE
    POLAND
    SWITZERLAND
    .
    2 DARK HORSES: ALBANIA & IRELAND
    .
    NO CHANGE TO QUALIFY: SLOVENIA & GEORGIA

  10. The Italian version:

  11. I was drawn to the original even with the slightly creepy video because it sounded like a Turkish Leonard Cohen, which is no bad thing and a little different for ESC. I love the disco version too because it’s not just the same song grafted onto a generic disco beat, it sounds like it has been radically re-arranged by Chic circa 1979.

  12. Judging by your gravatar pic you do know thing and too about ESC disco too :-)

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

