23 Comments

Poll: Who Should Represent Iceland?


IcelandIceland – This weekend will see two more National Finals and Iceland is the country who will be selecting on Saturday. Six will compete in the ultimate show of Söngvakeppnin and today it has been revealed which language the six have chosen to sing their song in. Who would you like to see win?

The semi final performances of the songs can be heard below however if you want to hear the songs in English, you can hear them here

Greta Salóme “Hear Them Calling”
(Formerly “Raddirnar”)

Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir & Hjörtur Traustason “I Promised You Then”
(Formerly “Hugur minn er”)

Karlotta Sigurðardóttir “Eye of the Storm”
(Formerly “Óstöðvandi”)

Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson “Ready to Break Free”
(formerly “Spring yfir heiminn”)

Elísabet Ormslev “Á ný”

Alda Dís Arnardóttir “Now”
(Formerly “Augnablik”)

What do you think of the language changes? Do you think singing in English may ruin anyone’s chances? Or maybe Elísabet staying in Icelandic may have ruined hers? Who would you like to see win? Vote below

23 comments on “Poll: Who Should Represent Iceland?

  1. It’s definitely between the 2 songs written by Greta for me!They both have a distinctive sound and are beautiful.the rest are ok or even boring and dated(Erna & Hjörtur).My Nordic gloominess says “Á ný” but i feel that Greta will be going to Stockholm which will be great news.

  2. If Greta kept it in Icelandic I’d say her, but now I’m Team Elísabet. As long as the duet (not the rap one) doesn’t win I’ll be satisfied though.

  3. Here are the final eurovision versions of the icelandic songs: http://www.ruv.is/frett/songvakeppnin-fimm-af-sex-logum-flutt-a-ensku

  4. Needless to say I voted for Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson

    Out of all the countries taking part Iceland is the one I’d expect rap from the very least

    I love rap in Eurovision – Who See, Trackshittaz, PeR…. I loved all those. Love City Groove is my fave ever UK song and was also the earliest memory of Eurovision I have so it was always meant to be

  5. My two fave songs beforehand were “A ny” and “Augblanik”, glad both went to the final and since “A ny” is a slightly better song, with a better live and is the oly one staying in Icelandic… By the way, let me remind where I stand on national language: I’m not for them at all, and believe a good song can be written in whatever as long as it works, a song like “Siren” couldn’t work in anything but English I reckon, while “Suus” in English would be a disaster (my winners in 2010 and 2012 respectively). So, I’m open minded to all languages and we’ve got French in Cyprus, Sweden or thsi year Austria and I love it. But I HATE when a song is written in ONE language and then switched AUTOMATICALLY to ENGLISH (always) just for the Eurovision. A song is written in one language, it’s dumb. So “A ny” is definitely the one to support.

    • “But I HATE when a song is written in ONE language and then switched”

      Couldn’t agree more :/

  6. Elísabet to Stockholm!

    Everyone but Alda and Erna & Hjörtur would make a decent entry though. :)

    <3

  7. It seems that language change has become sort of a trend in Iceland over the last years which actually pisses me off. I’m starting to strongly dislike their attitude.

  8. I voted for A ny.

  9. Since Erna and Magnus didn’t make it I have little interest in Iceland. They have still some nice entries though, however nothing is great.

  10. I’d say Greta singing in Icelandic

  11. Well, Greta loses points for singing in English but I guess I should wait to hear it… I would still be happy with her or Elisabet winning.

  12. Ms. Ormslev got my vote.

  13. Very satisfied by the line up ! I like them all ! I think that the two hot favourites to win the ticket to Stockholm are Greta and Alda while Þórdís & Guðmundur are the dark horse ! My ranking:
    1. Alda Dís Arnardóttir “Now”
    2. Greta Salóme “Hear Them Calling”
    3. Elísabet Ormslev “Á ný”
    4. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir “Eye of the Storm”
    5. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson “Ready to Break Free”
    6. Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir & Hjörtur Traustason “I Promised You Then” (the underdog)

  14. I fail to understand why Iceland insists on awkwardly translating the majority of their NF entries to English every year. It rarely works.

    • Most of the songs are written both in English and in Icelandic since there’s a rule stating that they should be singing in their native language during the semis.It’s not that they decide halfway through to change the language of the song.

  15. Á ný got my vote. Greta’s song would be my 2nd choice but I believe a copycat of Man’s show and Litte Talks wouldn’t excite me that much in esc!

  16. “The lyrics are about losing someone or something and how the loss haunts you”.
    Elisabet Ormslev talking about “Á ný”. <3

  17. Oh Greta! I don’t want to hear them or you calling, I just want you to sing in icelandic.
    Still Greta all the way. Just love the borferline tacky 70’s Laterna Magic feel in the staging.

Leave a Reply

