20 Comments

Iceland: Second Semi-final Results!


iceland logoIceland – RUV, the Icelandic broadcaster, resumed tonight Söngvakeppnin 2016, the national final for Eurovision 2016. Six songs competed and only three made it to the final with 100% televote deciding. Check out the results now!

The show was hosted by Ragnhildur Steinunn Jónsdóttir and Guðrún Dís Emilsdóttir.

Tonight’s line -up was as follows:

  1. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson – Spring yfir heiminn
  2. Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius – Ótöluð orð
  3. Helgi Valur Ásgeirsson – Óvær
  4. Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný
  5. Pálmi Gunnarsson – Ég leiði þig heim
  6. Alda Dís Arnardóttir – Augnablik

All songs are still available here. The interval acts featured performances by Högni Egilsson, Eythor Ingi and Pollapönk. Then the results were announced.

The three songs that qualify to the final are:

  • Alda Dís Arnardóttir – Augnablik
  • Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný
  • Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson – Spring yfir heiminn

For the other three songs it’s not over yet since the jury will save one of the six songs that didn’t make it in the two semi-finals!

20 comments on “Iceland: Second Semi-final Results!

  1. When is the wildcard revealed?

  2. Wow! My favourite actually qualified (Spring yfir heiminn)

  3. I am very happy that Á ný qualified but I am very sad that Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius were left behind.

  4. As I expected .. great results ! I can’t wait for next Saturday’s final! Tbh i slightly prefer Augnablik to Raddirnar ! So, Alda FTW ! :)

  5. So the four female favorites all qualified but I have a feeling none of them will win lol. My favorites are Greta and Elisabet but I also kinda like Spring yfir heiminn.

  6. Alda Dís Arnardóttir – Augnablik: Relaxed but average song, lovely voice, awful dress. 6/12

  7. Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný: Sophistication. Bliss. This one got both my heart and my brains. 12/12

  8. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson – Spring yfir heiminn: It is so sweet to see her trying to act the tough chick. Much better live than I expected it to be. 8/12

  9. Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius – Ótöluð orð: And here come the Common Linnets Junior Edition. They are incredibly sweet and fine singers. I really like the song too. It makes good me think of pleasant things. Summery. This one should be in the final instead of Alda. 9/12

  10. And here comes lovely Söngvakeppnin which tops my list when it comes to National Preselections this year.
    What can I say? I loved 2 songs from tonight’s semi. Á ný and Ótöluð orð. They both scored 9/10.
    Along with Kreisí and Raddirnar from semi 1 they form a pretty solid top 4 for Söngvakeppnin 2016. I really wish either Kreisi or Ótöluð orð gets the wild card.
    Óstöðvandi and Spring yfir heiminn follow at 6/10.
    I m not a big fan of Augnablik or Hugur minn er but that doesn’t mean they are bad songs.
    Nice to see Icelanders voting out the few bad entries (Óvær and Fátækur námsmaður)

  11. I have no idea what’s going on in Iceland, Hungary and Finland. I’ll just comment on today’s finalists here.

    Alda Dís Arnardóttir – Augnablik : I like the guitar parts of the orchestration here. It’s nice, breezy and has good vibes but it may be a tad too anonymous.

    Elísabet Ormslev – Á ný : Very classy and sensual. Not sure about the change of pace towards the end but overall this is a well thought and well made entry.

    órdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson – Spring yfir heiminn : Will listen to it tomorrow sorry too tired

  12. Greta came to win and win she will.

Leave a Reply

