22 Comments

Lithuania: Results of Show 2


lithuaniaLithuania – Tonight saw the second show of the Lithuanian National Selection Eurovizja. Eight acts performed in the pre-recorded show and with another six shows to go another five acts have qualified for the next round. Who will be joining last week’s qualifiers moving forward?

Presented by Andrius Rožickas and Gerūta Griniūtė, eight acts sang a song of their own choice tonight in front of a National and International Jury. You can see the performances below:

Jurgis Bruzga “Hold On”

Ugne Smile “You Don’t Know”

Lawreigna “Falling”

Ištvan Kvik & Elada “Please Don’t Cry”

Catrinah “Be Free”

Egle Jakštyte “Leisk dar buti”

Valdas Lacko “Stay Tonight”

Ruta Šciogolevaite “United”

The Lithuanian jury is made up of members Darius Užkuraitis, Donatas Ulvydas, Ramūnas Zilnys and Dalia Michelevičiūtė and the international jury is made up of Peter Freudenthaler (Germany), Denis Ingoldsby (UK) and Dave Holmes (UK).

The overall results of the second round were as follows

Ruta Šciogolevaite 12pts
Ištvan Kvik & Elada 10pts
Catrinah 8pts
Valdas Lacko 7pts
Egle Jakštyte 6pts
Jurgis Bruzga 5pts
Lawreigna 4pts
Ugne Smile 3pts

This means that Jurgis Bruzga, Ugne Smile and Lawreigna did not make the cut and the rest will make it through to the next round. Show three will be next week on Saturday 22nd.

22 comments on “Lithuania: Results of Show 2

  1. Pity for Jurgis who had the best song of the night. I liked the song from Ugne Smile too but her vocals were weak. Overall a quite underwhelming night. My scores :
    1.Jurgis Bruzga = 7/10 (Eliminated)
    2.Ruta Šciogolevaite = 6/10
    3.Egle Jakštyte = 6/10
    4.Ugne Smile = 5-/10 (Eliminated)
    5.Catrinah = 4/10
    6.Ištvan Kvik & Elada = 3/10
    7.Valdas Lacko = 2/10
    8.Lawreigna = 2/10 (Eliminated)

    I still don’t see who could challenge Donny. Maybe Ruta…but I can understand that “let’s change the world together” songs are not everyone’s cup of tea…

  2. I did not watch tonight’s show. I used the free time to teach my small nieces about the provinces, main cities and major sights in the Netherlands and Sweden. They liked the Dalarna Horse in Avesta best. :)

    • I would strongly advise you against watching tonight’s show. :P
      You can just watch the landslide winner Ruta and you”ll get the whole picture of the overall level of the songs and performances.

      • Oh my! I have watched Ruta and this was the winner? A dull, clichéd and dated “let’s make the world a better place” ditty? Well, everyone knows that I am not exactly Donny’s greatest fan but if I have to choose between this and Donny’s song, I say: GOOOO DONNY! LOL

        • Jurgis got my highest score and that was 6/12.An international jury member gave his douze points to Ruta saying this is a song that should win eurovision!These people are out of touch with anything remotely contemporary and relevant. :P

  3. Andrius Pojavis is the best Lithuania has ever sent. I doubt they’ll be sending a song as good as that any time soon

  4. I just skimmed through the line-up, and omg “United” is unbelievable. It’s either a brilliantly constructed parody (unlikely, I know) or the most camp and least self-aware song I’ve heard in quite a long time.

  5. The temperature just hit -20 degrees outside and I think the mercury in my thermometer turned to ice.

    Oh, and as for the talk above, “Strazdas” is epic. I adore it.

  6. ‘United’ was appalling. Eurovision By Numbers circa 1979. Ugh. Go Donny if this is the best of the rest.

  7. I was wise to let this heat go unwatched.

Leave a Reply

