24 Comments

Estonia: All Eesti Laul 2016 Songs Out!


logoEstonia – The 20 songs that will take part in Estonia’s national final for the upcoming edition of the Eurovision Song Contest, Eesti Laul 2016, have been released on the contest’s home page online. Check them out!

All songs are available on this page here. Moreover, the official participating channel ERR has released a new logo for the 2016 edition, inspired from the old ones but with stylized birds (see above). Finally, the running order has been revealed as follow:

First Semi-final (February 13th)

  1. Love a Little Bit – The Jingles (Jonathan Flack, Hain Hoppe, Rauno Vaher, Tanel Liiberg)
  2. I’m Facing North – Würffel (Kaspar Kalluste, Rosanna Lints)
  3. Seis – Mick Pedaja (Mick Pedaja)
  4. Hispaania Tüdruk – Indrek Ventmann (Allan Kasuk)
  5. Immortality – Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid (Ago Teppand, Hugo Martin Maasikas, Joosep Järvesaar, Kerli Kõiv, Iiris Vesik, Kristel Aaslaid)
  6. Lonely Boy – Kéa (Egert Milder, Robert Stanley Montes, Ian Karell)
  7. Kaugel Sinust – Kati Laev & Noorkuu (Urmas Kõiv, Anneli Kõiv)
  8. How Many Times – Zebra Island  (Rasmus Lill, Helina Risti)
  9. Supersonic – Laura (Sven Lõhmus)
  10. Salty Wounds – Windy Beach (Priit Uustulnd, Tuuli Rand, Mari Tamm)

Second Semi-final (February 20th)

  1. Sally – Go Away Bird (Stanislav Bulganin)
  2. Play – Jüri Pootsmann (Fred Krieger, Stig Rästa)
  3. Parmupillihullus – Meisterjaan (Jaan Tätte Juunior)
  4. Patience – I Wear* Experiment (Hando Jaksi, Mikk Simson, Johanna Eenmaa)
  5. Meet Halfway – Púr Múdd (Oliver Rõõmus, Joonas Alvre)
  6. Stories Untold – Grete Paia (Sven Lõhmus)
  7. Eiolemulolla – Põhja-Tallinn & Jaagup Kreem (Jaanus Saks, Kristjan Soomre, Mark Eric Kammiste, Hannes Agur Vellend, Herlend-Kaspar Raudkivi)
  8. Strong – Anett Kulbin (Anett Kulbin)
  9. Miljon Korda – Gertu Pabbo (Priit Pajusaar, Maian-Anna Kärmas)
  10. Unikaalne – La La Ladies (Tatjana Mihhailova, Mihkel Mattisen, Timo Vendt, Inga Tislar)

There are two semi-finals of 10 songs each. Each night, five songs will qualify with a 50% jury and televote decision. In the semi-finals, the performances won’t be live. In the final however, all performances are live and another 50% jury and televote will qualify a top 3 for a superfinal where a winner will emerge from 100% televote. Every three years, Estonia has made it to the top 10, having finnished 6th in 2009 and 2012 and 7th in 2015. So can Estonia repeat the success this year? Tell us what you think!

24 comments on “Estonia: All Eesti Laul 2016 Songs Out!

  1. We’ve been discussing them for too long and I took the time to make a quick article!

    As for me, I adore “Play”, “Seis” and “Meet Halfway” equally, but I tend to prefer “Seis” (but Jüri is so damn perfect :p)… Maybe Púr Múdd is the compromise, great song, hot singers :p And I also really love Würffel’s song.

    Then there are many more I like and most notably: I Wear* Experiment, Go Away Bird, Anett Kulbin or Zebra Island.

    I have nothing per se against Laura, Grete or Cartoon but they sound too slick and too “written to win” no? Out of the three, Laura is my favorite, but I have a sneaky feeling than in a 3some superfinal, Jüri will win…

    The only ones I don’t like are: Põhja-Tallinn, Indrek Ventmann, Kati Laev and Gertu Pabbo. All the other ones I like or love!

  2. At the moment, I’m rooting for Laura or Juri. Most of the songs are quite good but ‘Supersonic’ and ‘Play’ are easily my favorites. I will admit I’m also just really happy that Laura is giving it another try and I’ve been waiting for her return for a while now.

  3. I rather like “Hispaania tüdruk”. Grete’s song is like a mixture of Beyonce’s “Halo” and -name-any-song- by Roxette from the early 90’s. I don’t dislike it though. Laura’s song doesn’t do it for me, and “Play” is hopefully a grower. Others are nice too :)

  4. GREAT:

    1. Mick Pedaja – “Seis”

    An wonderfully atmospheric ballad featuring some of the best production I’ve heard in any ESC or NF affiliated song. If he nails the vocal and they keep the staging muted this will be the masterpiece of the season.

    2. Würffel – “I’m Facing North”

    A cool, punchy piece of electro-pop very much in the vein of Kate Boy. If I was going to nitpick I’d say that the final bridge doesn’t quite live up to the first half of the song, but then again that chorus is killer. DON’T BREAK ME DOWN!

    3. Zebra Island – “How Many Times”

    Okay, I know this song relies on vocal filters and effects that won’t translate into the live performance, but it’s such a fun, melodically slick piece of 80’s throwback-pop that I won’t rank it any lower for now.

    4. Go Away Bird – “Sally”

    This sounds a little bit like “Goodbye To Yesterday’s” more sophisticated, yet simultaneously less pretentious cousin. I enjoy the 80s indie vibes a lot.

    VERY GOOD:

    5. Laura – “Supersonic”

    While I get that this is essentially a somewhat tacky piece of euro-pop with pompous lyrics to boot, I’m a sucker for the t.A.T.u. vibes it gives off, and there are enough interesting production flourishes to keep the song sounding vaguely exciting.

    6. Jüri Pootsmann – “Play”

    I wish I hadn’t heard the acoustic version first. Jüri’s vocal is amazing, but the song plods slightly in this version. Still a likely candidate for the win, and top five in ESC though.

    7. Púr Múdd – “Meet Halfway”

    Tenfold Rabbit meets somewhat half-hearted drum n’ bass. I like it but I don’t love it for now.

    8. Anett Kulbin – “Strong”

    A pretty, quiet song with a fragile vocal. Is there much left to say about Anett/Wilhelm at this point?

    GOOD

    9. La La Ladies – “Unikaalne”

    Okay, I’ll admit I’d somewhat foolishly written this one off as soon as I saw who wrote it, and I now stand humbly corrected. This stands out in a good way amongst what is generally a rather serious and alternative bunch of songs and the Estonian lyric works surprisingly well with the retro sound.

    10. Cartoon & Kristel Aaslaid – “Immortality”

    A fairly standard, though professionally produced piece of dub-tinged euro-pop. Its success will depend on the live (and the juries).

    11. Kéa – “Lonely Boy”

    I find the bridge a little clunky, but otherwise this is a pleasant, likeable piece of radio pop.

    12. Windy Beach – “Salty Wounds”

    Having checked out her back catalogue, I was expecting something in line with Ace Wilder, so I was a little disappointed by this rather flat piece of house-flavoured pop.

    AVERAGE

    13. I Wear* Experiment – “Patience”

    Silly band name aside, I find this song a complete mess, and it brings out an unpleasant quality in the lead singers voice.

    14. Grete Paia – “Stories Untold”

    While this song initially stood out on first listen, it now bores me, and I can’t quite shake the feeling that it belongs in an early-10’s MGP semi-final. And the lyrics…

    15. Meisterjaan – “Parmupillihullus”

    I kind of love Jaan Tätte Jr. for his sheer insanity, and I do think his past two entries were genuinely good (even if I’m alone in that judgement). I can’t quite honestly get behind the song here though.

    BELOW AVERAGE

    16. Gertu Pabbo – “Miljon korda”

    A harmless but terminally bland piece of shopping mall R&B balladry.

    17. Kati Laev & Noorkuu – “Kaugel sinust”

    Not bad per se, but far too melodramatic for my taste.

    POOR

    18. The Jingles – “Love A Little”

    A pleasant enough filler song spoiled by some downright bad vocals.

    19. Põhja-Tallinn & Jaagup Kreem – “Ei ole mul olla”

    This brings back memories of the worst of the “Australian hip hop” crop. Ugh.

    20. Indrek Ventmann – “Hispaania tüdruk”

    I get that some people might find its naivety charming, but to me this song just sounds lame and dull, especially in between so many genuinely good songs.

  5. ^Sorry for the mammoth post, lol

    Thought I’d share my thoughts on the first songs to get me excited for this season.

  6. 1. Estonia is such a good selection. I wouldn’t mind half of these songs going to Eurovision. I can’t even pick a top 3. My faves: “Strong” “I’m Facing North” “Immortality” “Supersonic” “Seis” “Unikaalne” “Play” “Stories Untold”

    2. Georgia’s choice really excites me because it’ll bring some variety to the contest. Line from the article on eurovision.tv:
    The requested style is described as “melodic song structure of alternative and indie rock with electronic beats, synths and/or samples, and club orientation of post-disco dance music.”

    They will have a national final of 5 songs and it will be selected with televote and jury.

    3. Hungary has released names and 20 second snippets:
    http://www.mediaklikk.hu/a-dal-versenyzok/
    Standout names for me: IV, Kallay Saunders Band, Passed, one of the twins from last year working with Karmapolis

  7. Next on my to do-list. I was a bit let-down when it came to their latest line-up, that didn’t match the great editions of 2012, 2013 and 2014. So now I hope for a great edition again.

  8. Another A Dal song.It sort of reminds me of Romania 2013:

  9. Mick Pedaja or Laura!!

    These two are BRILLIANT!!!

  10. Oh boy… seems we got another Kedvesem in the running. Fortunately I don’t hate “Seis”, but it doesn’t do a whole lot to me to deserve the “savior of the season” title. I know this one is surefire to pass through the audience like a 3 minute break. There’s very little variation or staying power to keep interest, comes and goes.

    Standouts: Cartoon: Very well done EDM song. I can see this doing well

    Laura: Average vocals, but great instrumentals, this might grow slowly.

    Kati Laev & Noorkuu: DRAMA. Instrumentals are perfection, and the lyrics flow very nicely. My money on best live and staging so far is on this one.

    Pur Mudd: I want to like it, but so far is “fair”. Elaborate though.

Leave a Reply

