7 Comments

Finland: UMK Submissions is Open


FinlandFinland – YLE, the Finnish broadcaster, has announced that  its national selection Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) will run again in 2016, and songs should be submitted by 8th September 2015. On January 12th 2016 UMK will announce which songs will go through to the live shows. A jury and the public will jointly vote in the heats for an eventual winner.

Interested singers and songwriters can read the rules (in Finnish) here.

Finland has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 49 times since its debut in 1961 and only ever won once,  in 2006 with Lordi‘s ‘Hard Rock Hallelujah‘.

UMK had produced mixed results with 2 acts in thefts 5 years not qualifying for the Grand Final and in the there three years finishing 21st, 24th and its highest finish with Softengine in 11th place.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-NSVFBKU-4]

7 comments on “Finland: UMK Submissions is Open

  1. Yes, let’s focus on 2014 and ignore the, uh, show that was the 2015 NF. :P Good luck, Finland!

  2. Good luck, Finland!

    “Something better” was a song that took a time for me to really like, but now it’s in my Top 5 of 2014. I also think that Finland has delivered good songs every second year: 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014… So now it’s time again. :)

    P.S. A fun song from Finnish NF in 1981.

    • I totally agree with you, and also dislike 2009, 2011 (but he was cute), 2013 (but they toned it down from UMK’s horror) or 2015 (but now have sympathy towards it).

      • Maybe I’m the little oddball here when it comes to 2011. I don’t think it’s that bad. It’s kinda cute in its naïve way and Mr. Paradise Oskar delivered an honest and ingenuous performance of it. Maybe the naïve framing is what it takes for me to buy the environmental save the planet message, which I often find quite annoying and nauseating (same goes for peace anthems).

        • I liked the live, I like the guy coz he’s genuine as you said, but those damn lyrics, ugh

        • I actually voted for Finland in 2011, but I remember it as a difficult decision. On one hand I though the lyrics were too naive and the save-the-world topic too clichéed. On the other hand I liked the melody a lot and his down to earth and unpretentious singing.

          (The giant globe backdrop was another issue though I tried to abstract from it – with the amount of electricity needed to produce such an image, it actually went against the message)

  3. I agree with Niclas and liked Finland 2011 (7/10) same as 2012 (8-/10)
    2014 comes no doubt first recently
    2013/2015 are extremely bad (especially the latter)
    2010 is so/so
    and 2009 is weak
    All their rockish stuff from 2006 to 2008 is likeable in my books.
    And one last thing : Their preselection last year was HORRIBLE!

Leave a Reply

