1,687 Comments

ETSC 3: Get to know the songs!


ETSC July 2015ETSC – Every year, the summer is the calm after the storm so it’s the perfect time to resume the highly anticipated the Eurovision Times Song Contest! 42 of you entered for the July 2015 edition and a random draw was made two days ago! Discover the songs live tonight!

Each summer, a good number of regular readers stay around for different reasons (they don’t get breaks from work or don’t go on holidays…) but there aren’t much news to keep us going. So the last few years we introduced all sort of games. The Eurovision Times Awards (Fridas) and the Douze Points Trivia Quiz kept us going in 2013 and Fridas have made come-backs the past two years. Last year, a lot of you asked for a fake Eurovision where each one of us would send songs and get to vote. And that wasit: the Eurovision Times Song Contest, from then on known as ETSC.

After a first round open for people to sign up with a country and send a song, we got 42 people in, with some newbies again. Hopefully, they’ll make appearances in comments. But also some people who returned from last summer. Songs will be revealed Friday night. In the meantime, to keep us busy, I made a random draw with my computer. I also made personal postcards for each entry which will be revealed along with the songs.

00

Here are a few facts about the 42 entries:

  • 17 female solo artists, 6 female groups / 4 male solo artists, 11 male groups / 4 duets
  • 22 national languages (including Ireland, United-Kingdom and Malta) / 19 songs in English / 1 song featuring Yoruba, a Nigerian dialect
  • Pop, folk, metal, rock, electro, zouk, country, and ballads are all present!
  • Only 4 artists did NF, but another 1 did participate as a backing artist in Eurovision!

Before the show starts, we get the live reprise of the winning song:

Can we beat last year’s editions in comments? ETSC 1 had 1090 comments and ETSC 2 broke our record with 1607 comments! We’ll see… Now to listen to the songs, you need to click on its official postcard when it’s uploaded, stay tune:

01 Moldova - Dan Balan - Lish do utra02 Denmark - Annika Aakjær - Det bedste for mig selv03 Spain - Natalia Jimenez - Creo en mi04 Norway - Flunk - Queen of the underground05 Albania - Elina Duni Quartet - Sytë06 Romania - Aylin - Chemistry07 Latvia - Laika Suns - Ir jau vels08 Belgium - Sx - Black video09 Lituania - Leon Somov & Jazzu - Ka tu su manim darai10 Georgia - Yvela - Gviani serenada11 Ireland - The Script - Hail, rain or sunshine12 Malta - Winter Moods - My neverland13 Slovenia - Laibach - Walk with me14 Sweden - Laleh - Some die young15 Poland - Sylwia Grzeszczak - Ksiezniczka16 Luxembourg - Seed to Tree - Take my hand17 France - Ibeyi - River18 Serbia - Jules Verne - Home19 Estonia - Marten Kuningas - Janu20 Turkey - Gülben Ergen feat. Oguzhan Koc - Askla Ayni Degil21 Israel - The Young Professionals feat. Anna F. - All of it but me22 Greece - Need - Lifeknot23 Croatia - Tonci Huljic & Madre Badessa Band - Ajvar24 Austria - Soap & Skin - Sugarbread25 Russia - Nyusha - Gde ti, tam ya26 Switzerland - Shem Thomas - We just need a little27 Andorra - Elena Gadel - Lluna plena28 Iceland - Kaleo - Vor í vaglaskógi29 Germany - Oonagh - Gaa30 Morocco - Asma Lmnawar - Hakawa31 United-Kingdom - Bat for Lashes - Laura32 Ukraine - Dakha Brakha - Karpatsky rap33 Italy - Ancient Bards - In my arms34 Netherlands - Thomas Azier - Ghostcity35 Armenia - Mariam Melik-Bakhshyan - Anspaseli36 Finland - Madcraft - Please return my heart37 Slovakia - Simona Martausová - V poulicných kaviarnach38 Bulgaria - Desy feat. bcap - Easy39 Czech Republic - Margeta Irglova - Without a map40 Tunisia - Myrath - Braving the seas41 Hungary - Linda Kiraly - Runaway42 Portugal - Sequin - Heart to feed

Rules: with the new Italian song, the voting is now open! You can vote until Wednesday 22nd at noon CET! Results will probably be on Friday 24th in the evening or night! Which will leave us only a week after that to prepare for the August edition. In the meantime, you can do promo for your entry in the comment section here (or not at all). So start voting now!

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

1,687 comments on “ETSC 3: Get to know the songs!

  1. This is my daring :p prediction!

    Winner: France
    Runner up: UK
    3rd and 4th: Ukraine or Belgium
    5th: Sweden
    6th to 10th: Spain, Moldova, Norway, Latvia and the Czech Republic
    11th to 18th: Albania, the Netherlands, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Serbia, Israel and Iceland. Followed by Estonia and Romania (both can trouble the 11th to 18th dptm).

    I have also a bottom 5 prediction but I will not post it as I don’t intend to make some people feel uncomfortable.

  2. It was a rather average edition,imo with no runway favorites at first listen.I had a clear top-3 and then many songs i think were nice.Eventually,i had to leave at least five of them out.
    Everyone is predicting a battle between the UK and France and i agree.As for the third one it could be Ukraine(it’s quirky and has a distinctive sound) or Slovakia.Other songs that could do well are Denmark,Lithuania,Poland,Belgium,the Netherlands,the Czech Republic,Latvia,Albania,Tunisia,Sweden,Estonia,Germany,Croatia,Israel,Morocco,Romania,Spain.

  3. Well, I think I’m rather lucky that Andorra is extremely unlikely to win, because there is no suitable venue in the Principality for ETSC 4 :P

    • Casa de la Vall? LOL

    • estic amb tu! on ets a Catalunya?, in English, no suitable venue in Andorra, no, but if I remember the first song in Andorra in 2004 was in connection with Catalan TV3, so maybe TV3 and Barcelona would host an Andorran win! tinc dubtes i sobre tot sobre després del 27/9 :-)

  4. I’m predicting Armenia somewhere in the top 42, anyone else agree? :P

  5. I want Norway to win cos I am Norwegian :D

  6. So, what are the bookers predicting?

  7. I hope there is no null-pointer :(

  8. Top 10 material: Spain, Norway, Albania, Georgia, Sweden, France, Israel, UK, Ukraine, Slovakia.

  9. @Morgan
    Is there a HoD that hasn’t voted for any of the top3 songs? ;) :)

  10. […] A logo has been made with the next host city, with a venue and hosts chosen! All will be revealed after the votes, so we can start oozing slowly into the ETSC 4 – August 2015 edition! Reminder, the winner gets to pick first, then I get to pick (because after all I do have all the hard work and who can beat me at… sending myself my choice for my own pick?) and then it’ll be whoever comes first on my boxmail. I didnt set up a date yet, we’ll see Friday night. Right now, I’m busy-ish tonight and tomorrow, but I sitll have to make 42 “vote” pictures to set up Friday fest! Meanwhile, you can predict all you want and relisten to the songs here! […]

  11. Hello there cupcakes :)
    I’m so impatient to see the votes :) I think Romania will be somewhere in the middle..Can anyone guess my 12 points? Dimitris? ;)
    Speaking of shake shakes,Turkish singer,Simge has recently made a cover of my previous ETSC artist Riff Cohen’s song…I think I like it…Normally I rarely love covers :D

    • That will be tough.I can’t see any song that would make me say it’s 100% mermaid.I’ll try to make some suggestions in a while.

      • Your answer sums up the situation pretty well..Well done again ;)There is no 12/12 song for me…My points were between 7 and 10 :/

  12. Listening to some of the songs again, I would still say this is the best ETSC/FdlC I have participated in. It was not easy to vote in it :-)

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

