46 Comments

ET Awards 2015: Most Underrated!


Eurovision Times Awards 2015Eurovision 2015 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we resume the polls with the two categories focused on unfair results!

2015 will be the second year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here and the 2014’s ones here). As with the past couple of years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The sixteenth award is in the “Result” category and it’s “Most Underrated”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 11 France
  • 10 Germany
  • 8 Austria
  • 4 Czech Republic
  • 4 Ireland
  • 3 Finland
  • 3 Switerland
  • 2 Belarus
  • 2 Slovenia
  • 1 Cyprus
  • 1 Lithuania
  • 1 Macedonia
  • 1 Montenegro
  • 1 Portugal

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which entry was the most underrated this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

  • Austria‘s The Makemakes (Officially 26th with nil point)

 

 

  • Czech Republic‘s Václav Noid Bárta & Marta Jandová (Failed to qualify because of juries)

 

 

  • France‘s Lisa Angell (25th with 4 points)

 

 

 

  • Germany‘s Ann Sophie (Officially 27th with nil point)

 

 

  • Switzerland‘s Mélanie René (Last in the second semifinal)

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to watch very carefully the videos before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

46 comments on “ET Awards 2015: Most Underrated!

  1. For fairness, I won’t say for which I have voted!

  2. France, Germany and Austria.

  3. France, Austria and Cyprus were the hugely underrated ones this year. I think I’ll go for France in the end, mostly because it’s so obvious it once again was ignored because it belonged to a music style people don’t care about in Europe anymore. Then it doesn’t matter whether you bring a hell of a performance with great vocals. And “N’oublisez pas” is also a really good song, with really good lyrics.

    On the other hand, I’ve never understood the hype around Germany here on ET. Surely, the song didn’t deserve nul points at all, but I still find it lame, anonymous and Ann Sophie’s stale performance left much to be desired.

    • It’s hard: I really wanted to nominate Cyprus, but it only got 1 recommendation and did get a few points and was in jury’s top 10. So in the end, the 5 nominees got it worse…

      • It’s hard (but I’ll pull thorugh) indeed. I’ve always tried to create some ranking via their final placings. So if a song finish, let’s say, 6th, but I had it 15th, it’s a +9 overrated case for me. Though I know this system is far from perfect, especially since it can be very tight between some countries, where only one or two points differ.

    • I do not particularly like the German song or Ann Sophie’s singing voice, but she was gutsy and stood her ground. I love her for that.

  4. Ok Ireland not nominated but Switzerland instead? To each his own I guess!
    Voted for Austria !

    • Ireland was unfairly out of the final I agree. But Switzerland deserved to qualify and got DEAD last with 4pts! That’s worse!

      • Performance-wise, Switzerland might have been better than Ireland I agree BUT u can’t believe that a song like “Time to Shine” with such lyrics and bland melody stood any chance to start with! On the other hand the maturity of the Isrish lyrics and ONLY, combined with a sweet even nostalgic ala 90’s melody should be enough to get them through but juries and televoting thought otherwise unfortunately!

      • Switzerland is a really unique case for me. While I found their rehearsals messy and lame. They were hugely improved in the semi.

  5. France, Germany, Ireland and Cyprus were robbed.
    But Austria’s case is really beyond me.
    The Makemakes are already ESC martyrs for me :)

  6. France,Germany(!) and Czech Rep. were underrated.Austria got quite a few pts from the juries but they failed to connect with the televoters and watching their final performance now i can honestly see why.Remember that rarely do the controversial or really bad entries end up in last place.It’s usually the average or even ok songs that fail totally to connect with the people at home.

    • Their final performance was more than fine.

      • For me it was just forgettable.The lead singer playing the piano then standing up and getting closer to the other 2 guys.It looked like they were doing a chore.While,i feel Germany was underrated because it was a very decent overall performance and Ann Sophie was gutsy i can totally understand why Austria ended up so low on the scoreboard.

  7. So hard to vote here, dont know why Germany is here doh, sure it deserved some points, but shouty vocals and the cheap ass provokation made her go straight to my 35 place. No It stands between Switzerland and France for me and in the end France gets my vote!

  8. I voted for Austria in the end, although France came very close to grabbing my vote as well.

  9. Czech Republic by far. Flawless simple yet powerful performance to not qualify? They are the underrated ones.

  10. I enjoyed Switzerland for the first time in the semi-final … but France, Cyprus, Germany and Austria were the most criminally underrated. As much as I love Marta and Václav, the Czech Rep. got a deserved result imo.
    The most frequent sentence at our party was: “Why doesn’t anyone give points to France?” So that’s where my vote went. :)

  11. Wow this is harder than I thought..
    Austria never evokes any kind of emotion to me, positive or negative. And that’s not a good sign in esc so I can see why it got a zero even if it did not deserve it..
    Germany : so unlucky poor Ann Sophie..I like the song and the performance but I guess it failed to connect with the audience especially in such a strong line up..
    Switzerland : deserved to qualify based on the performance the night of the semi. Last place in the semi, under San Marino even, is truly scandalous though. Melanie and her backings were great.
    Czech Republic : Excellent performance of a good song. Should have definately made it and its the main major error I point out to the jury vote this year.

    My vote though has to go to France. As I have said the whole performace visually and vocally moved me to tears and I rarely get emotional about anything really..A truly special moment for me in esc. It deserved a top 10 and nothing less imo.

    • You get passionate (which is even more than emotional) quite easily imo, in particular if we discuss Sweden in ESC here. :)

      • That’s a different kind of passion related to my sense of right and wrong, fair and unfair, expressing an opinion or being offensive.
        I am quite “cynical” I would say when it comes to emotional stuff.
        I usually make light hearted fun of people who cry or get very emotional in general when they watch movies or listen to songs very easily.
        It has happened only twice in my life to me and Lisa’s performance was the 2nd one :)

        • I don’t dare to ask what the first instance was. ;)
          Nope, it’s got nothing to do with right or wrong … just with your love for all things Swedish in ESC.
          Good night!

          • I wouldn’t tell you even if asked since I consider it embarassing and I was quite young then :)

            Allow me to know myself and the reasons I say what I say better than you. My musical criteria never see flags.

            Good night !

            • We are never objective when it comes to ourselves or things we love … We need other people (in particular friends) to make us see sense … but I rest my case.
              Btw, I never said that your blind love for MF and Sweden in ESC was a bad thing. How could I? I uncompromisingly love the VfL Bochum although there isn’t a single objective reason to justify such a love. Silly love is what makes us special and unique, and we shouldn’t damage that love by coming up with fake rational arguments trying to explain why we love what we love. As wise Peter von Matt once said: “(S)He who loves is right.” :) We should simply consider our friends’ advice and say … “nevertheless!!!”. :)

            • I do not have a blind love for MF or Sweden, it’s definately unfortunate if you get that impression imo… If there is one contest I am harsh with when it goes out of its usual way its MF (and Eesti Laul as well) – I have high demands from national finals and countries that have consistently provided what I consider good music.

              Of course we should not come to rationalize what we love – although there are good reasons we love something that others may not see and consider it boils down to simply “I love what I love” criteria. But imo that should not have to do with nf brands or flags, it has to do with the musical context, which we may indeed love for no obvious reason.
              It’s like a brand of food or a good restaurant. I would no longer defend a favourite restaurant that has downgraded its quality just for the sake of the restaurant’s name :)
              Same with nfs and countries in esc : If you deliver musically according to my criteria I will praise you and defend you. If you don’t I won’t, regardless of the flag or the nf name.
              You only help something you like sustain its quality and as a direct result your suport through constructive, thoughtful but harsh at the same time criticism and suggestions. At least that’s my approach :)

          • “Btw, I never said that your blind love for MF and Sweden in ESC was a bad thing”

            How rude that’s very offensive, to suggests someones opinions are just a blind love. He doesn’t have a blind love of MF or Sweden, if anything its me that likes Sweden most on this board, and even then I was the first to say Sweden 2010 was a disaster and worst entry they’d sent while i was watching, (and then it flopped and didnt make the final)

            • It’s not rude because I also said that I have a blind love for certain things too … but I’ll rest my case with you forever … You’re hopeless and always only read what your prejudiced inner tyrant tells you to read. :(
              ET editors told me a long time ago to stop interacting with you (but the hoeless idealist in me who has read far too much Hegel kept going … what a fool I have been …), and that’s exactly what I will do from now on. All the best! :)

  12. Austria, there’s no way the best song of the year deserved nul.

    • It really just was a shit year for results, as all these songs deserved more than what they got. Switzerland totally deserved to qualify, and I say that after having spent months hating the song. Czech Republic should’ve gotten in over Azerbaijan’s overrated and underperformed ballad of a similar genre. France in no way deserved to be beaten by the United Kingdom and easily should’ve been top 15, at least. Finally, Germany is probably the most “deserved,” since they had some of the worst camerawork on the night, but still, the song was better than zero, especially in a final that had stuff like Spain in it.

  13. Germany of course, no way she deserved 0 deserved much more.

    Come on people who i proved wrong when you said Germany would beat Spain, now is your chance to redeem yourselves :D

  14. This is so much harder than it should be. In the end, while I believe that France and the Czech Republic were hugely underrated, I feel that Germany and Switzerland were criminally underrated. Both had good performances that showed their delegations’ efforts to improve the entry from what they originally were, and Germany stood its ground to stay 3rd on my ESC 2015 list, while Switzerland rose tremendously.

  15. I seriously think that the only reason people think “Hope Never Dies” was robbed is only because it was the Czech entry. For me although it was a decent song it was at best borderline in terms of being a deserved finalist.

  16. Although France was preformed brilliantly and in the end was kinda underrated I feel the song was doomed to be bottom 5 from the day it was selected ( let alone the day it was placed second in the running order) so like the UK I condemn the French broadcaster for selecting it. If its an internal selection then you chose something that is representative of modern day music and can get you a respectable finish at ESC.

  17. I find it laughable that Switzerland is even in the running yet ireland isn’t, I wasn’t one bit surprised it came last in the semi…it was a nothing song that was sent straight down the memory hole once after following Sweden.

  18. *sigh* Where do I even begin? A lot of good songs and performances ended up with terrible results! :-(

    Austria and Germany didn’t deserve nul points nor bottom 5. Neither did France, who I voted for by the way.

    Switzerland last? Really? Was Europe deaf during the songs Iceland and San Marino?

    And as for the Czech Republic I do like the song and vocals but the performance was badly staged. They should’ve went with the Estonia/Norway formula (close shots, sad faces, fantastic usage of lights, etc.) instead of the Lithuania/San Marino formula (awkward movements, terrible screen pictures, etc.).

    Many more were underrated: Cyprus, Montenegro, Slovenia, Portugal, Finland.

  19. Germany and Austria were certainly underrated, but completely understandable. The rest got what they gave… and ultimately deserved.

Leave a Reply

