17 Comments

Best Male vocals 2015: and the Frida goes to…


FridaEurovision Times Awards 2015 – Every year, the summer is the calm after the storm so it’s the perfect time to resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes to the best in every category! After a week in this category, it’s time to announce the winner and hand out the Frida. So who will win?

~

Technical Awards

Best Male vocals

TheET Awards five entries nominated were:

 

And the Frida goes to…

ITALY

Grande Amore” was performed by Il Volo. Representing Italy in the Eurovision Song Contest 2015, it was written and composed by Ciro Esposito & Francesco Boccia. It finished 3rd with 292 points. Nominated four tims overall in ET Awards 2015, “Best Male vocals” is its first so far! Congratulations!

You can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 42 recommendations for 9 countries in the first round and 183 votes were cashed in an open poll, in exactly one week, among the 5 nominees. The complete detailed results will be announced once all polls are closed so in another week!

Now let’s watch the winning entry once more, for Il Volo’s vocals:

17 comments on “Best Male vocals 2015: and the Frida goes to…

  1. Congratulations to Piero, Ignazio and Gianluca.

  2. Expected. And they were great live, no doubt. But their voices were a bit too polished to me. I would have prefered both Australia and Belgium in front of them. But congrats anyway, I know you read ET! ;)

  3. LOL, what a surprise.

    I’m not a fan of Il Volo’s singing style at all (far too pompous and hysterical for me) but I guess there’s no denying that they did a good job at what they set out to do.

    It will be interesting to see if Italy win any other awards…

  4. I get it. But then I don’t. It was technically ok, but I didnt find it mesmerizing, as usual with “popera”, singing “opera-esque” but with microphones just don’t work for me (Cezar being the worst one in the genre)… I didnt even find it that great on the final live performance, but I still “get” what people would see in that.

    I voted for Loic, the only one with Guy with actual singing techniques that were evident on the night, but also the one with the most personality overall, regardless of it getting “quirky” at times.

  5. A fair result,imo.The guys made their song soar live.It was a very intense live performance.

  6. Congratulations. :)

    P.S. – both San Remo performances were better though.

  7. Even though I voted for Guy I am really glad Italy wins this award ! Congratulations!

  8. Understandable. I voted for Vaclav’s crazy velvety rock voice, but they deserve it.

  9. LOL!! The sympathy votes for not winning shines through completely this year AGAIN! Last year Netherlands and this year Italy. They were good, but the others were better! in my humble professional opinion this was clearly not the best choice! This is the one award that I actually know some things about and it kills me to see that the same thing happens this year again. Well I guess congratulations Italy you were not the worst, but you were not the best

  10. Technically good but devoid of life. Well … congratulations!

  11. Deserved. Congrats Il Volo.

  12. Understandable. Voted for Belgium, as I loved the color of his voice and he really elevated the song live, more so than anyone else in the contest, except maybe Aminata. Il Volo are worthy winners, though. The crowd went *crazy* after they finished, I think they actually might’ve gotten one of the biggest cheers of the night!

  13. Well done to Italy and Il Volo. I voted for Morland.

  14. I can understand why people think they were the best male vocalists due to the operatic image they portrayed, but seriously? Did anyone seriously listen to their live? It was one of the worst vocals of the night. Strained, shouty and shaky. And they didn’t even give us a booty dance.

    I loved it on the night for it for all the wrongs reasons. Mainly to laugh at my Italian’s housemate’s embarrassment at it.

    As much as I’m left completely cold by it, Guy Sebastian was beyond doubt the best voclist.

Leave a Reply

