49 Comments

ET Awards 2015: Best Spokeperson!


Eurovision Times Awards 2015Eurovision 2015 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we resume the polls with the two categories focused on backings and backdrop!

2015 will be the second year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here and the 2014’s ones here). As with the past couple of years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The twelveth award is in the “Delegation” category and it’s “Best Spokeperson”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 7 Australia
  • 7 Russia
  • 4 Greece
  • 4 Sweden
  • 3 Austria
  • 3 Finland
  • 3 Norway
  • 3 San Marino
  • 3 United-Kingdom
  • 2 Netherlands
  • 1 Azerbaijan
  • 1 France
  • 1 Germany
  • 1 Poland

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which entry had the best spokeperson this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

  • Australia‘s Lee Lin Chin (voted #20)
  • Greece‘s Helena Paparizou (voted #4)
  • NetherlandsEdsilia Rombley (voted #29)
  • Russia‘s Dmitry Shepelev (voted #32)
  • United-Kingdom‘s Nigella Lawson (voted #27)

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to watch very carefully the votes before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

49 comments on “ET Awards 2015: Best Spokeperson!

  1. For fairness, I won’t say for which I have voted!

  2. Russia. They have to win something ! :P

    • I’m pretty sure Russia has a Frida in the bag

      • Except from overrated?

        • Well, no, but “most overrated” seems obviously theirs already, and that’s something already (a)

          • I would have preferred Sweden winning it…

            • Sigh, let’s not get into that. Every esc winner since Eimear Quinn were overrated imo, but many were not that much overrated and deserved at least top 10! On the other hand, other countries have done WAY better than they sould have…

            • True but if I had to follow ET members’ recommendations I wouldn’t exclude their runner up. Most people here nominated Russia and Sweden and they have their reasons to believe this way!

            • and so Italy as well in our top 5! but why should I just put almost all of the top 5 (with Australia as well)… that is NOT making nominations, that’s being lazy

            • I don’t suggest you should nominate the same 5, but if it was up to me I wouldn’t exclude at least the top 3. If Italy got the most nominations after Russia and Sweden I would put them in too!

  3. The only spokespersons I can remember from this year are Finland (ding dong Europe!), Russia and Australia. And since that Russian “and finally we give 12 points to ourselves” joke was old back already in 2004 when Peter Poles did it, I’m gonna vote for Australia. I loved her wit.

  4. I will give my vote to Russia.

  5. 11 votes, and everyone’s got a vote :)

  6. Do I even need to say who I voted for?

    I must say, I’m surprised by how many people actually think the Russian spokesperson was funny.

  7. I voted for Edsilia.

  8. Trying to think who my all time fav spokeperson is. Quite difficult. So many faces all these years to remember. But if I had to choose one that would probably Petar from Slovenia.

  9. I think I’ll skip this one as well.

  10. I’m watching again some of the performances from the final and i think that Stig looks Elina as if he wants to **@! her( :-o ) while she looks at him like she wants to slap him.Awkward.Plus,their vocal performance was really average.I’m surprised no one has mentioned it till now.

  11. Gosh, I have no idea what to vote here. The one that was most down-to-earth and up-poppy in his/her presentation should get my vote, I suppose: Lee-Lin Chin.

    On the other hand, I sometimes miss someone doing something absurd, like dressing up like a furniture or crawling down in a hole when giving the votes.

  12. Another favourite of mine is the one who used to read the Monegasque points in the 60’s. There is something about him…

  13. Go Helena, Go Greece ! Cyprus 10pts…

  14. Where’s Krista?? :( Well hope Russia does not win this, not funny at all and have been done before, so nothing original really… Voted for UK!

  15. Voted for Russia!! Dima made me LOL that night!

    Btw he is husband of very famous Russian Singer and sex-symbol of Russian pop Jana Friske:

    Just after their son was born Friske was hospitalized with late stage of cancer (brain)! Now they fight together for her life! I was shocked watching what happened to Jana after that.

  16. UK would be the obvious winner here no one else had such an amazing elegant spokesperson, who could do all the languages, made it fun, and has real star power, but I think anti UK bias will win the day as usual sadly. :(

  17. Btw! Armenian spokesperson is wearing jewelry “Pregomesh” designed by Sirusho! Btw like. commentators jock about her look :))

  18. Since again my first choice (San Marino) has not been nominated I am voting for Edsilia and The Netherlands for, well, Edsilia and the dress, a possible joke only hardcore fans watching every rehearsal would get :-P

  19. By the way,the Netherlands won the Barbara Dex award: http://esctoday.com/104620/the-netherlands-win-the-2015-barbara-dex-award/
    It had to come full circle for poor Trijntje.I feel her 2nd rehearsal outfit was the best but i wouldn’t had given her the award anyway.

  20. Voted for Russia. The collection of spokespersons this year was not the best. By default Dmitry got my vote only because he was memorable in a way.

    2011 and 2014, IMO, has the best group of spokespersons since I started watching in 2010. I will never forget that gorgeous spokesperson from Iceland last year. Benedict was his name, I believe?

  21. Russia and San Marino have my vote. Both enthusiastic and memorable. Many of the nominees were… not as good imo.

  22. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 43 recommendations for 14 countries in the first round and 151 votes were cashed in an […]

Leave a Reply

