49 Comments

ET Awards 2015: Best Male vocals!


Eurovision Times Awards 2015Eurovision 2015 – This year we resume the “Eurovision Times Awards” to give prizes (the Fridas) for the best in every category! And you get to vote! Today, we open up the polls with the two “best vocals” categories!

2015 will be the second year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest (you can check 2013’s results here and the 2014’s ones here). As with the past couple of years, our blog hosts now two contests: TEKO which takes place before the contest and the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest. The principle of the ET Awards is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners. The winners recieve an imaginary trophee, entitled the Fridas in hommage to Frida Boccara, the French Eurovision winner in 1969 with “Un jour, un enfant“.

The second award is in the “Technical” category and it’s “Best Male Vocals”. Here are the results of the recommendations made by the regular users of Eurovision Times in this category:

  • 11 Belgium
  • 8 Italy
  • 5 Australia
  • 5 Czech Republic
  • 5 Norway
  • 3 Cyprus
  • 2 Monenegro
  • 2 Sweden
  • 1 Austria

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees. But it’s up to you to vote in our poll below which song had the best male vocals this year! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

  • Australia‘s Guy Sebastian at the Grand Final

 

 

 

  • Belgium‘s Loïc Nottet at the Grand Final

 

 

 

 

 

  • Italy‘s Piero Barone, Ignazio Boschetto and Gianluca Ginoble at the Grand Final

 

 

  • Norway‘s Mørland at the Grand Final

 

 

 

Rules: the polls will be open for a week. At the end of the week, an article will announce the winner of the category but not the detailed results. The full results will however be given to you once all polls are closed so that you don’t get influenced (we never know) in your following votes. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to listen very careful to the vocal performances before voting and do not vote necessarly for your favorite song but vote regarding to the category. Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

49 comments on “ET Awards 2015: Best Male vocals!

  1. For fairness, I won’t say for which I have voted!

  2. I’m going to surprise myself and vote for Australia here! I love the warmth and the soul in his vocals.

  3. Italy!I also really liked Mørland and Vaclav.Knez gave a very good vocal performance too but i don’t like him on stage.Loic’s voice isn’t my cup of tea.

  4. How can I decide between Italy and Belgium. Not fair. I’m going Italy cos all 3 of them are fab I think. When I work out why the heck the poll isn’t showing for me…

  5. Well as Sweden wasn’t nominated I’ll have to cast my vote to Australia!

    Just curious, people like Shevek etc who didn’t want Australia in the contest and refused to vote for it in TEKO no matter who it was against, does this extend to Fridas?

  6. In 15 votes, everyone at least got a vote!

  7. I liked Loic’s vocals a lot but Vaclav has to get my vote here. He is a phenomenal live performer.
    Guy Sebastian and Il Volo are also good.
    Morland is not on the level of the other nominees imo.

    • It’s fair of you not to vote tactical, though based on recommendations, if it’s down to Italy v. Belgium you could be sad of the results ;)

      • Why would I ? Both Italy and Belgium would be deserved winners of this award.
        It may have come that way recently but I really like the italian entry, it is in my top 5 even after the contest. Vocals are one reason.
        My top recommendation was Vaclav a few days ago and I will stick with that :)

        • No, no it’s fine. I’m just saying: ET recommendations are one thing, and open poll mean, probably, that Italy will win every poll it’ll be nominated in *sigh*

          • Why would Italy win every open poll it’s nominated in?

            • because OGAE favorites do better in general in polls, and since this OGAE favorite has ALSO supporters among ET regulars (unlike “Undo” last year for instance), the two together imo will give it enough advantage! We’ll see if I’m right or not ;)

            • I see.I just felt that in your reply to guitar there was a hint to vote strategically in order to avoid Italy winning in various categories. :P

            • nah, people vote as they wish: they can vote tactically if they think they much prefer the runnerup to the favorite, or vote for their personal favorite: but it’s hard to know the “open poll” favorites in comparison to the ET regulars and the one popular in both can snatch most trophees as last year (Austria v. Netherlands)

            • and I wouldnt breach any hints at the current results, when I said my reply to Guitar all singers had equal votes, as usual early on… the gap is really only made during the night, as I cant follow regularly, I see 50 new votes and the favorite emerges only then (unless it’s very close)

  8. Torn between Loic, Vaclac and Mørland. Voted for the monster like him.

  9. Unfortunately, the best vocal performance hasn’t been nominated. I’ll abstain from voting in this category. If I was forced to vote, I’d choose Václav because he is great indeed. Alas I don’t like musical singing and thus he doesn’t do it for me either. The other 4 were good but nothing to write home about.

  10. Loïc Nottet, because of his distinct vocal sound. It sort of mystified the music in an interesting way.

  11. Where is Knez? :-P I voted for Belgium.

  12. What I often miss at the Eurovision, btw, is singers who are “good at not singing well”, that is, people who are not technically good, but who are able to create something artistically interesting out of their vocal limitations. There are quite a lot of them in rock music, whereas the tendency in ESC has often been towards a more clean vocal sound. That is a shame imo.

    There are exceptions of course. Lena f.e.

  13. Il Volo got my vote, they made an average song sound great live. :) (Not a very difficult choice)

  14. I voted for Guy Sebastian. He did a great job in making his very average, unremarkable song sound good.

    Mørland was okay but not exceptional, Loïc went a bit too over the top, and Václav and Il Volo just aren’t my thing.

  15. My vote goes to the Australian guy !
    Italy comes second and I think Knez should be nominated too!
    Norway is ok but Belgium was just shouty and hysterical imo…

  16. Voted for Vaclav. My first instinct was to vote for Belgium, but while I love Loic’s voice, I was never particularly impressed by Loic’s vocals, while I actively noted Vaclav’s voice when I was watching the show live.

  17. That Vaclav, but not Marta got nominated is beyond me, but oh well. After using the same method as before (just listening, but not watching) I came up with this:

    1. Australia: Awesome singer, with feeling and charisma, A real pro!
    2. Belgium: Hard to choose between Belgium and Australia, they are soo freaking good, but chose Belgium second, cause of his expressions actually. They can be a tad to much from time to time.
    3. Norway: Awesome singer, great feeling, but struggles a tiny little bit doh.
    4. Czech Republic: He is a very good singer, but the raspiness in his voice is a hinder for me.
    5. Italy: Sorry cant warm up to these guys, the vocals are good, but not perfect. Sometimes shouty and they got some problems when using their main voices. Also having problems in the line between the opera and the main voice.

    (Very strong year for the male vocal section imo. So the Italian guys are not bad, but the other guys are just better imo)

    • Simply because the competition was harder in female category this year!

      • Well imo Marta was better then Leonor for example. Yes she made an average song (which I always liked) better, but that was because of her performance, not her vocal capacity, which had its flaws.

  18. Voted for Kjetil. Unfortunately the performance in itself was rather underwhelming. A bit what happened to Dilara a year earlier.

  19. It was between Australia and Italy !! In the end voted for Italy!

  20. Naturalmente Italia. Signed, sealed and delivered.

  21. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 42 recommendations for 9 countries in the first round and 183 votes were cashed in an […]

Leave a Reply

