174 Comments

Eurovision 2015 Rehearsals: Day 1


vienna eurovision 2015Eurovision 2015 – With two weeks to go to the contest, daily rehearsals start and of course the Eurovision Times will do its best to cover them; here’s for the first rehearsals to the first half of semifinal 1: pics and vids will be officially released and we get to discuss, debate, analyze, predict…

So this is how it’ll work for the next 10 days or so: the girls are in Vienna and it’s all down to me to finally use my webmaster status and help around by publishing the official articles and newsfeed. The girls will regularly make articles on whichever fun activities they get to witness and share with us.

Every morning, I’ll put up the day’s schedule for rehearsals (and red carpet or whichever other event is due on that day) and as soon as I can, I’ll get working on a recap article with links to pictures, videos, etc. However, I do work and have busy weeks at work ahead of me so I’ll do that at the latest in the evening, sooner if possible, depending.

So we’re all counting on you guys to post in the comment section all the links you find and discuss all material out there. Hope it works out great for everyone, and already a big cheers to all the sites who will post their own made materials (Esckaz, Escxtra, Escinsight and the infamous Esctoday come to mind).

Here’s tomorrow’s schedule:

There will therefore be 8 countries getting their first taste of the stage and first impression from it. As usual, in first go, countries rarely reveal everything from their staging, definitely not the clothes. But the fans get an idea of what direction the performance is heading towards. Usually, the official site publishes photo sets from rehearsals and a short clip (around 90 seconds) about the artist’s impressions around 40 minutes later. Last year it was not possible for any fan sites to record anything else, so you’ll have to just read what everyone there thought about it without seeing more with your own eyes (and of course hear with your own ears).

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

174 comments on “Eurovision 2015 Rehearsals: Day 1

  1. In the Queue to Interview Loïc and his head of press said Roberto is coming next week. #FangirlAttack

  2. Estonia… Really stunning to look at. Very black and white whilst being in colour. Stig wearing a black suit and tie looking very dapper. Elina in a black dress.

    It starts with Stig alone, his shadow behind him on the ground with a birds eye view. Then Elina comes in and a female shadow appears behind her. Then at the end Stig leaves and his shadow gone and it goes black. He’s walked and closed the door behind him leaving Elina alone

    I can’t explain it very well but it was very good. Vocals could be better though

    I can’t see it winning but it will do well

  3. Out of the 5 rehearsals i’ve seen,Belgium and Armenia were the best and Moldova looked and sounded the worst just like Finland.

  4. The EscKaz team loved the Greek rehearsal.I just can’ty really trust them.

    • I thought Greece was very good, very classy and strong. She looked good, silver shiny dress with plunging neckline, serious wind machine, great vocals, some pretty use of the lights. It was very solid and much better on stage visually than I expected.

      • Thanks for the update.I knew it would look much better than the Greek final.

      • Prinz Blog found Greece lame but they seem to have a strong anti-Maria Elena bias anyway … :(

        • Thanks to Bild’s propaganda, is ther any German left who doesn’t hate Greece on principle anyway? I just don’t like Greece in Eurovision and Maria Elena as a singer, but the rest is uncalled for.

          • I still love Greece … and I am Germany! :) I even still hope that some change in the EU’s approach to social issues might come from the developments in Greece. Yes, I know that I am a hopeless idealist sometimes. That’s where you end if you have read too much Hegel. ;)
            Prinz Blog totally adored Greece last year. If I remember correctly, it was the only song the bloggers gave a top score to. Unfortunately, not all Germans read BILD … In fact, one of the first things my parents told me when I was a small boy is that there is no excuse for reading BILD.

            • * I am German … not Germany … LOL Might be a good idea though …

            • “Unfortunately, not all Germans read BILD …”

              I obviously meant “fortunately” … LOL … I shouldn’t comment while pretending to follow discussions in a boring meeting …

            • Well, it’s true not all Germans, but with 2,2 millions reading it daily, making it #1 in Europe, and everyone from SPD to CDU actually doing interviews there, it’s hard for it to not have some indirect influence… sadly, like the Sun in UK or TFI’s awfulness in France

            • The current Grek government is the worst we had in ages and there haven’t been any great administrations in the past to begin with.They are dangerous clowns and i really hope that the EU will force them to implement real reforms.There’s no other way.100 days in power and they managed to destroy the few good things that happened in this country the last 5 years.A communist-inspired reform in our education system,a dangerous defence minister of the independent greeks threatening to send jihadists to Berlin,being manipulated by Putin and they even believe that they boost Greece’s strategical role in Europe by approaching him.Their first measure was a 10% rise for the people working at the very priviliged public power electricity company.Not a word for the 1.5 million unemployed people of the private sector.Today the remaining ERT employees stormed and occupied the NERIT premises even though they have all gotten their jobs back and are on the state’s payroll since April 29.They won’t back down they say denying to change the retirement system.People that are 50 and 55 years old continue to retire 5 years in this crisis.And these are only few of their “reforms”.Sorry for the rant. :)

            • I feel sorry for Greece. I loved each trips I made there and thought the people were actually great. And in general it was a good expenrience both times (Athens and Thessaloniki). But each government, PASOK and right were bad, the Golden Dawn is scary as fuck and now you have yet another populist government in power (from left instead of right, but what’s the difference by then?) It’s on par to Greece in Eurovision to me, a great country that has let itself sinked to mediocrity. I generally love almost all Greece in esc from 74 to 98 and then suddenty completely out of interest to me. Not that Greece was great politically there, but there seems to be a huge problem since the 00s: is it just the Euro and European policies that troubled the aleady fragile Greek politics? Maybe so. But it’s just sad and when NERIT was closed (I mean in a current European Union country of today a public TV was just close and like no one seemed shocked in the rest of Europe!) and then Greece in Eurovision was threatened it felt like a VERY sensible symptom of all of that to me. All I can say is good luck and hold on tight, I swear I vote to the left here in France to help you out, that’s really all I can do :/

            • Thanks!I don’t know if voting for the left will be good for us,though.lol

            • better than voting Marine Le Pen or Nicolas Sarkozy, trust me!

            • Wow, you are really not a fan … I agree that the SYRIZA led administration has been a huge disappointment and they have done more damage than good so far. And I didn’t have high expectations to begin with. In fact, I always thought that the Greeks would be much worse off in case they voted SYRIZA into power. Still, thanks to Greece we have discussions on social issues and solidarity again, topics that had almost become extinct in Germany.

            • Maybe indirectly it’s good for Germany, but I really want Greeks to vote for a government that would help them. In general, as soon as you’re going populist in your rhetorics, the chances are you’ll be awful once in power. And Tsipras proved it a true maxim still in the 21st century.

            • “In general, as soon as you’re going populist in your rhetorics, the chances are you’ll be awful once in power.”

              Agreed and signed. Giving simplistic answers to complex questions and promising things you can’t deliver is stupid, self-centered and dangerous. People get frustrated and furious, and if they let their next vote be decided by those feelings, they will vote for even more extreme parties with even more we against them rhetorics and even more simple answers … :(

  5. MACEDONIA… Hip Hop dancing and some very R&B backing vocals – Like Boyz II Men are with him lol

    Stunning visuals with leaves falling down behind him. It has gone very soulful

  6. The 3D effects of the screens are just stunning, the leaves really do feel like they’re falling around them. The three black guys backing him, 2 have shades on, I’m not sure they and the nifty footwork goes with the song??

  7. NEWSFLASH!!!! Roberto Bellarosa is coming next week and the Head of Press is going to get us an interview – hopefully that goes to plan

  8. Myself and Glen from W12P have already mastered the Macedonian dance moves, we could be on there with them by next week I reckon there’s room for us. We just need some gold shoes. They’re no Teo…

  9. FYROM:

  10. Estonia:

  11. For the first 5 entries :

    YES : Armenia (everything on point), Belgium (I liked what I saw but I trust everyone saying it needs polishing), Finland (for what it is the presentation was good – that doesn’t say much)
    NO : Moldova (Sexism, tackyness, mediocre song and singer..I thought we were past these ages but they will be served to us first thing next Tuesday), Netherlands (I don’t know what she was thinking, this dress is absolutely horrendous)

  12. OMG I got home and on France’s #1 and most popular talk show (and I usually don’t like those, but this one is just hilarious and great and actually sensitive and smart sorta), the one that even got Conchita as a guest star and all LOVED her, are gonna guest star Lisa Angell tonight! I’ll keep you updated on how that goes. And then I’ll do the recap article!

  13. Greece:

  14. Re: today’s rehearsals, there were two pleasant surprises. One from Armenia (I love purple btw), the other from Greece. I still don’t like either song though.
    The biggest dissapoinment comes from the F.Y.R. of Macedonia. They just ruined a good song.
    Estonia and Belgium were good (but that was more or less expected).
    If Belgium wins the whole thing, it will be the most distinctive winner since 2007 imho.

    • re your previous comment about death before writing, don’t worry understand completely!, though my death before writing would be your worst 10 ESC songs of all times on a constant loop that you had to listen to for 3 days…
      agree with you about FYR..but it is always very hard to judge everything before the SF/final here

  15. Last 3 :

    YES : Estonia (We did not see much but it was impressive and I have been reading amazing things as well), Greece (Not a huge fan of the dress but she pulls through quite effectively – nice backdrop, good vocals, classy overall – she will qualify)
    NO : FYR Macedonia (Irrelevant backdrop and I am not sure what’s up with the total RnB mood..Neede something much simpler in order to work imo)

  16. Armenia, Belgium, Estonia and Greece are the stand out entrants for me today.

  17. The very last moment I erased a sheet-like comment of mine re: Greek politics in order not to make this site a warzone and get my profile banned :D

  18. Moldova: Not good vocals; there are some pretty false notes. Also too sexualized staging with dancers dressed as cops and such. However, I don’t think the song is that bad. For instance, the production is not without qualities, especially the beat (the drum leading up to the final 4th-beat in the 4/4 bar is particularily effective). The least good part of it is perhaps the “want want want want…” in the chorus.

    Armenia: Nice colour in the backdrop, but what is it with that tree? (2007, 2010, 2015). Musically a pros and cons entry with many interesting elements and some fine changes in time signature and such. Goes beyond the hit formula. Weak chorus, and six solo artists at the same time is not necessarily a good idea.

    Belgium: A very hard and cold visual expression that somehow seems a bit repellent to me. Not much cozyness here. Probably not artistically uninteresting, but I would like to see it in full length.

    Netherlands: It becomes too much with such strong colours, especially the red one. I have noticed a lot of talk about her outfit. I personally wouldn’t wear that, but I hope the viewers will be able to concentrate on the song first and foremost.

    Macedonia: Visually impressive backdrop, but it is in danger of taking too much focus. It also seems a bit random: some sky scrapes in the sides and some ancient pillars in the middle – and where is the connection to the song?

    Finland: Not so much to say about it.

    Estonia: It looks good, but what does New York have to do with the song?

    Greece: A very diva-like staging. Perhaps a bit too dramatized for my taste. Interesting with the eye-backdrop, but if the song is called “One Last Breath”, a mouth would be more fitting. But that is peanuts. In any case, it won’t affect my voting, nor will the visual aspects of the other entries (unless they go against my moral principles

  19. […] day of the rehearsals and articles and details about rehearsals outcomes will be available. – Eurovision 2015 Rehearsals: Day 1 – on The Eurovision Times (May 10, 2015 in […]

Comment navigation

Newer Comments →

Leave a Reply

