6 Comments

Lithuania: Meet Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila


Monika Linkytė and Vaidas BaumilaLithuania – In a National Final that made you think “What was the point?”, Lithuania decided to send the duo of  Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila to represent them in Vienna. They will be singing their entry “This Time” in the second Semi Final

Song: “This Time”
Composers: Vytautas Bikus and Monika Liubinaitė

About Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila:
Twenty-One year old Monika Linkytė was born in Gargždai, Lithuania and has tried to represent Lithuania a total of five times (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) and also tried to represent the country in the Junior contest back in 2007. Originally a dancer, once she started to play the piano she turned her attention to music.
Twenty-Eight year old Vaidas Jacob Baumila was born in Vilnius, Lithuania and started his career in the reality TV show Dangus. He tried to represent Lithuania in 2014 and got quite close reaching third place. He released his first album “What Do You Like” in 2006 and is releasing a third album later this year.

Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila

The Lithuania Selection saw 12 singers perform weekly in order to win the chance to represent Lithuania. At the end three remained in Vaidas, Monika and third singer Mia. The song “This Time” was chosen it a dedicated episode of the selection and the three finalists had to compete to get the change to sing it. Somehow it was decided both Monika and Vaidas would sing together. Lithuania are currently 29th to win.

Lyrics:
(Taken from eurovision.tv)

This time, I think I’m falling in love
This time, you’re sent from heaven above
Oh oh oh
My God, stop for a minute and think
How ‘bout we just go out for a drink
Oh oh oh
‘Cos every time I close my eyes
I feel you near

I’m feeling love, love, love
Round and round and round and round and round we go
I’m feeling love, love, love
Round and round and round and round and right in my heart

This time, I hope you don’t mind
I’ll help you put your troubles behind
Oh oh oh
I know there’s a reason for this
One kiss, and you will see what you’ve missed
Oh oh oh

I’m feeling love, love, love
Round and round and round and round and round we go
I’m feeling love, love, love
Round and round and round and round and right in my heart

Is this how it goes?
I don’t know…

Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila in Social Media:
Monika Twitter: @MonikaLinkyte
Monika Facebook: Link
Vaidas Twitter: @JacobMila
Vaidas Facebook: Link

Last: Belarus
Next: Ireland

6 comments on “Lithuania: Meet Monika Linkytė and Vaidas Baumila

  1. Greatest chemistry on stage from all duets !
    7/10
    #12/40
    #6/17
    Prediction : 2-5 in semi
    Good luck!

  2. Since,i followed the Lithuanian selection marathon i feel connected in a way with Monika and Vaidas.I like their song but even more i like those 2 together on stage.Such a positive vide.Good luck!

  3. The new song and video of Il Volo for “Canzone Per Te”.I really like it:

  4. Their whole selection was a farce let’s be honest. Was it a tie? No then why change rules last minute and send both? I hate countries who do selections and just change the results to fit what they want. Germany was the same deal.

    Just pick internally. Loads do

  5. “In a National Final that made you think “What was the point?”” 12 points to this comment. :)

    I really like the Lithuanian song this year and wish Monika and Vaidas all the best. Btw, Vilnius is home to some of Europe’s most stunning churches. :)

Leave a Reply

