8 Comments

Azerbaijan: Meet Elnur Huseynov


Elnur HuseynovAzerbaijan – Last year Azerbaijan had their worst result in the seven years they have taken part but this year İctimai hope to go back to the Top 10 with Elnur Huseynov who will represent the land of fire with his entry “Hour of the Wolf” int he second semi final

Song: “Hour of the Wolf”
Composers: Sandra Bjurman, Nicolas Rebscher, Nicklas Lif, Lina Hansson

About Elnur Huseynov:
Twenty-Eight Year old Elnur was born in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan and has been singing from a young age thanks to his Mothers experience as a music theorist. At five he studied at an exclusive music school where he trained at Piano. In 1999 the family moved to Baku, Azerbaijan where Elnur went to medical school (Interesting fact: Elnur has a degree in Dentistry). He has studied at various schools such as the Azerbaijan State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre and the Asaf Zeynally Music College.
In 2008, Elnur was one half of Azerbaijan’s first ever entry into the Eurovision Song Contest. Elnur and rock singer Samir Javadzadeh finished 8th place with their song “Day After Day”. In 2014 Elnur participated in The Voice of Turkey which he won by the largest number of votes ever seen in the Turkish edition of the contest

Elnur Huseynov

Last year Azerbaijan came 22nd in the Grand final, a low for Azerbaijan who had never seen the outside of the Top 10 let alone the Top 20 since their debut. Elnur Huseynov was selected internally by İctimai and is currently joint 9th favourite to win

Lyrics:
(Taken from eurovision.tv)

I hold my breath, I´m on the edge
Storming hills, I´ve been lost and found
I hope they’re coming, I can hear them running

I once met peace, he said that he
Soon would have the answers to this hurt
And my mind was made up, I would never give up

No I won’t sleep tonight
If tomorrow comes I’ll lose my mind
I won’t give up my right, I know every heart deserves a fight

I will beat on the drum, rise above with me
I will go till I’m numb, rise above with me
No I won’t sleep tonight

They whine and roar, hungry for more
Yellow glowing eyes, I’m hypnotised
I feel brave yet scared, but I’ll stay prepared

Oh have my soul, it’s destined
It’s written in the sky
Let me not be blinded by this hurt
Set him loose I’m ready
For the stars to guide me

No I won’t sleep tonight
If tomorrow comes I’ll lose my mind

No I won’t sleep tonight
If tomorrow comes I’ll lose my mind
I won’t give up my right, I know every heart deserves a fight

I will beat on the drum, rise above with me
I will go till I’m numb, rise above with me
No I won’t sleep tonight

No I won’t sleep tonight
If tomorrow comes I’ll lose my mind
I won’t give up my right, I know every heart deserves a fight

Elnur Huseynov on Social Media:
Twitter: @lnrhsynv
Facebook: Link
Instagram: @helnur.huseynovofficial
Website: Link

Last: Estonia
Next: France

8 comments on “Azerbaijan: Meet Elnur Huseynov

  1. And this is Elnur today as a guest at a Belgian show: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU25Qv5ptJE

  2. Elnur is a great singer but the song is a bit too formulaic for my taste. Still a good effort.

  3. 7/10
    #11/40
    #5/17
    Prediction : 4-8 in semi
    Good luck!

  4. Loic and Elnur together.People believe they would make a nice couple.

  5. The lyrics are a bit suggestive in places. “I will go till I’m numb” Steady on, dear!

Leave a Reply

