23 Comments

Estonia: Meet Elina Born & Stig Rästa


Stig and ElinaEstonia – In what was an easy National selection win for Elina Born & Stig Rästa, Eesti Laul saw them being chosen to represent Estonia at the Eurovision Song Contest in May. They will be singing their entry “Goodbye to Yesterday” in the first semi final

Song: “Goodbye to Yesterday”
Composers: Stig Rästa

About Elina Born & Stig Rästa:
Twenty Year Old Elina Born was born in Lehtse, Estonia and started her career in 2012 when she took part in the Estonian TV show Eesti otsib superstaari where she finished 2nd place. In 2013 she attempted to represent Estonia with her song “Enough” but only finished eighth place in Eesti Laul.
Thirty-Five year old Stig Rästa was born in Tallinn, Estonia and is a well-known song writer in Estonia. He has tried to represent Estonia five times including this one. Stig saw Elina on YouTube and invited her to perform on this song with him which she accepted without hesitation.

Stig and Elina

“Goodbye to Yesterday” was chosen via Eesti Laul and won by a huge margin. They won 79% of the public vote in the superfinal where they beat off runner-up Daniel Levi and 3rd place Elisa Kolk. Estonia are currently one of the favourites to win the contest this year and are 4th in the odds

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWACbw3cqW0]

Lyrics:
(Taken from eurovision.tv)

I woke up at 6 a.m.
my eyes were closed but my mind was awake
pretended I was breathing in a deep sleep pace

got dressed so quietly
I was frozen by the jingle of my keys at the door
as I got outside I smiled to the dog

I didn’t wanna wake you up
my love was never gonna be enough
so I took my things and got out of your way now girl

why didn’t you wake me up
I’m pretty sure i would have told you to stop
lets try again and say goodbye
goodbye to yesterday

why would you think like that
yeah we fight a lot but in the end
you and I we’re a perfect match

I wouldn’t want it any other way
but now you’re gone and I’m all alone
lying here naked and staring at the phone

Elina Born & Stig Rästa on Social Media:
Elina Born Facebook: Link
Elina Born Youtube: BornElina
Stig Rästa Facebook: Link
Mutual Facebook: Link
Mutual Twitter: @ElinaStig

Last: San Marino
Next: Azerbaijan

23 comments on “Estonia: Meet Elina Born & Stig Rästa

  1. They are slightly sliding down my list. Still a very good song.

  2. <3<3<3
    Estonia, Norway and Ireland have the best songs this year for my taste.
    My main concern is some live issues all 3 have…
    Estonia 2015 :
    10/10
    #1/40
    #1/16
    Prediction : 1-4 in semi and a fate like Hungary 2014 in Final?

  3. They were 3rd before right? When I checked the odds I saw Australia had overtaken it

    I like the song – it’s in the bottom part of my Top 10 but I had always thought even when it was picked that they wouldn’t qualify and I still believe that

  4. Updated odds/The following 6 countries are predicted as non qualifiers from semi 1 atm:
    Greece,Denmark,Hungary,Netherlands,Serbia and Moldova.

    The following 7 countries are predicted as non qualifiers from semi 2:
    Israel,Switzerland,Ireland,Montenegro,Czech Republic,Portugal and San marino.

    • I expect a different outcome in semi-final 1 but the semi-final 2 predictio looks like a likely scenario. I expect Montenegro to make it instead of Malta though.

      • I believe Montenegro and probably Ireland will qualify.After watching Knez yesterday,i’m even more confident he’ll qualify.

        • Ireland is superior to Cyprus, so it should get the majority of the slow ballad vote and qualify, even if by 9th or 10th. I also agree with Dimitri in saying Montenegro will qualify; although not as good as “Moj Svet” IMO, he is a great live singer and the performance should be fine. Best of luck to both countries :)

    • Odd odds.

      • We usually get 1 or 2 surprise qualifiers so who knows.It’s still mostly speculation.In exactly 3 weeks from now things will start becoming clearer.

  5. Well, everyone knows that I love Estonia this year. Stik & Elina are one of 4 candidates for first place on my 2015 list. :)

  6. It’s a sort of song that I really ought not hear as anything special. When you cut it down to the bone and read ON the lines, not between them, it is just a song about a guy leaving his girlfriend in the early morning while she is still asleep, because they can’t get it together. It is certainly not the first pop song to deal with that topic.

    Of course, in a more broad sense, it can also be heard as a song about escaping from the uncertain and conflicted. But that isn’t particularily original either.

    However, there is something fascinating about the mood in the music, as well as in the interplay between the two. It is sad, but also contains hope. It is distanced and chilly, but there’s still emotion underneath. The musical language is simple and straight forward, but the layeredness makes it more than just 1-2-3-4.

    • With that in mind, it is kind of ironic that the broadcast from the Estonian final was in black and white. But maybe it was meant as a verfremdung effect?

  7. Unpopular opinion: I find it the weakest of the Baltics.

    Is it a bad song? No.It’s pretty damn good and strong. The arrangement is brilliant, and falling out of love is more interesting than falling in love. They took with with a great twist and made this song their own.

    Downside: Out of all duets, they are the ones that are giving me the “let’s copy the Common Linnets” vibe the most. It isn’t the style or song, but the staging they chose. That kind of distracted me of the song; hopefully they find a fresher style than “black n’ white intimate”

    Their chemistry seems not as strong as the Czech or Lithuania, but I scratch that as the topic of the song.

  8. I have a feeling this has lost a lot of momentum. A bit like Carl Espen last year.

  9. according to an interview on esckaz, they will be changing the presentation on the eurovision stage. and they will add color.

  10. Still love this; still my No 2 behind Latvia, although Slovenia is snapping at its heels. Trying not to listen to my favourites again before Eurovision week in case they wear thin. Wait a minute, Mr Postman, is that the album you have there for me? Not helping!

Leave a Reply

