3 Comments

Switzerland: Meet Mélanie René


Melanie ReneSwitzerland – Switzerland found themselves back in the final last year and this year they hope to do so again with their entry Mélanie René. Mélanie was chosen by National Final to represent the Swiss nation with her entry “Time to Shine”. She will perform in the 2nd semi final

Song: “Time to Shine”
Composer: Mélanie René

About Mélanie René:
Twenty-Four Year old Mélanie was born in Geneva, Switzerland and has been singing since she was seven years old. She has studied music in her home country where she learnt creative song writing and playing the piano. She moved to the United Kingdom in 2010 where she studied at the Academy of Contemporary Music in Guildford. In 2012, she would also go to study at the Brighton Institute of Modern Music.
Mélanie has found small success in Romania as well after competing at two festivals over there. Le Cerf d’Or on 2008 and the Georges Gregoriu International Festival in 2009.

Melanie Rene

Mélanie won the right to represent Switzerland through the National Final Die Entscheidungsshow in January beating off five other contestants Gospel singer Licia Chery and runner-up Timebelle. “Time to Shine” was written by Mélanie herself and they are currently 37th favourite to win.

Lyrics:
(Taken from eurovision.tv)

I’ve been walking in the darkness
Always hiding from my true self
Afraid of letting go, of deception in their eyes
A wounded ego, unafraid to start a fight

I’ve been walking on a lonely road
So many stories I have once been told
No matter what they say I will follow my heart
I think it’s time for me to stand up and hold my ground

Refrain

‘Cause I’m living my dreams, I’ve never been so alive
The sky’s the limit now that I know I can fly
No more pulling me down, no more mucking around
I’m growing up, and it’s my time to shine
It doesn’t matter if I’m wrong or right
I’m getting stronger everytime I try
I’ve learnt to let it go, taking one step at a time
I’ve mend my ego, now it’s time for me to let it shine

Refrain

It’s my time to shine
I’ve been walking in the darkness
Always hiding from my true self
I’ve learnt to let it go, I’ve learnt to let it go, I’ve learnt to let it go
Now it’s my time to shine

Refrain

‘Cause I’m living my dreams, I’ve never been so alive
The sky’s the limit now that I know I can fly
No more pulling me down, no more mucking around
I’m growing up, and it’s my time to shine
it’s my time to shine, it’s my time to shine

Mélanie René on Social Media:
Twitter: @MelanieReneESC
Facebook: Link
Website: Link

Last: FYR Macedonia
Next: Israel

3 comments on “Switzerland: Meet Mélanie René

  1. 6/10
    #20/40
    #11/17 in second semi
    Prediction : 10-15 in semi
    Good luck!

  2. It’s not often you hear the phrase “mucking around” in a song.

    This one seems to have crept into my top 20 and is currently sitting at No 15, although the bottom end of my top 20 is a turbulent place.

    It’s not a great song, but it has its moments and just about keeps its head above the mire of blandness. I’m a sucker for some beefy drumming.

    Respect to her for writing her own song too. There’s an idea for a post – spotlight on self-penned songs.

Leave a Reply

